Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Operating Systems (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Installing Win11 now... (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34052840)

Kain Nov 2, 2021 04:24 PM

Seems there are ways to upgrade an unsupported PC to Windows 11 from Windows 10. But how would you do a clean install of Windows 11 on an unsupported PC?

lmchv Nov 3, 2021 01:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kain (Post 1338312734)
Seems there are ways to upgrade an unsupported PC to Windows 11 from Windows 10. But how would you do a clean install of Windows 11 on an unsupported PC?

Just modify the installer, it's quite simple to do. Rufus offers some preset profiles to create installers with the registry hacks embedded. This is what I did to update my last computer, as the registry hacks I had didn't work (because it didnt have a TPM at all)

Megaman Nov 4, 2021 01:42 AM

I did a test to see if my PC will support Win 11 however it comes back saying Secure Boot is not enabled. Looking at system information I see secure boot is “not supported”. My motherboard does support Windows 11 and so does my 8700k.

In UEFI BIOS it says secure boot is enabled.

My BIOS was upgraded to the win11 release a few weeks back.

WTF is is the go?




EDIT: I think it is just the way Win10 was installed on this mission it was setup with LEgacy BIOS and the nice way to revert this to UEFI BIOS is to reinstall Win10 but if I just need a clean install with the Win11 media creation USB it will just sort itself out. I think I just need to ignore the msssage I'm seeing with the Win 11 compatibility verification tool.

acroig Nov 4, 2021 07:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Megaman (Post 1338312956)
EDIT: I think it is just the way Win10 was installed on this mission it was setup with LEgacy BIOS and the nice way to revert this to UEFI BIOS is to reinstall Win10 but if I just need a clean install with the Win11 media creation USB it will just sort itself out. I think I just need to ignore the msssage I'm seeing with the Win 11 compatibility verification tool.

No need to reinstall, UEFI can be converted from the command line.

I'd post a link on how to do it but I know you don't like that. :bleh:

LOL: https://www.maketecheasier.com/conve...efi-windows10/

Mangler Nov 4, 2021 02:08 PM

MS, plz bring auto-hdr to win10, win11 isn't looking that hot in those intel 12th gen reviews.

acroig Nov 4, 2021 02:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mangler (Post 1338313065)
MS, plz bring auto-hdr to win10, win11 isn't looking that hot in those intel 12th gen reviews.

No dice there, MS said Win 11 only. That's the only reason I switched.

Mangler Nov 4, 2021 02:47 PM

That blow, especially when they did the auto-hdr beta testing on win10.

Oh well, I guess win11 will eventually be on par with 10.

Megaman Nov 4, 2021 03:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by acroig (Post 1338312985)
No need to reinstall, UEFI can be converted from the command line.

I'd post a link on how to do it but I know you don't like that. :bleh:

LOL: https://www.maketecheasier.com/conve...efi-windows10/

Thanks bro.


EDIT: Done and now it ticks all the boxes :)

x-voodoo Nov 4, 2021 06:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kain (Post 1338312734)
Seems there are ways to upgrade an unsupported PC to Windows 11 from Windows 10. But how would you do a clean install of Windows 11 on an unsupported PC?

I tried on a spare machine at work, Optiplex 3020 with 4th gen i5. After enablng UEFI, secure boot, and TPM (1.2), I was able to do a clean install with the OFFICIAL iso from Microsoft's official MCT. No hacks, no tricks, it just worked.....

However I'm still not brave enough to upgrade my 6700k HTPC gaming computer....

lmchv Nov 4, 2021 08:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by x-voodoo (Post 1338313115)
I tried on a spare machine at work, Optiplex 3020 with 4th gen i5. After enablng UEFI, secure boot, and TPM (1.2), I was able to do a clean install with the OFFICIAL iso from Microsoft's official MCT. No hacks, no tricks, it just worked.....

However I'm still not brave enough to upgrade my 6700k HTPC gaming computer....

That's because MS "officialy" supports the installation on computers that comply with some of the requirements (ie TPM 1.2) but with disclaimers. You just have to check some acknowledgement checks before the instalation starts.

I had a different experience on the 3 unsupported computers I upgraded:
  • My daughter's laptop (7th gen, 16GB RAM, TPM 1.2) -> update from Win10 to Win11 with disclaimers using unmodified ISO.
  • My old Surface Pro 3 (4th gen, 8GB RAM, TPM 1.2) -> clean install with disclaimers using unmodified ISO.
  • My wife's X99 desktop (5th gen, 32GB RAM, NO TPM) -> had to modifiy the installer to be able to do an in-place upgrade from Win10 to Win11 with disclaimers.

My other computers: Surface Pro 6 (8th gen, 8GB RAM, TPM 2.0), son's laptop (8th gen, 16GB RAM, TPM 2.0) and my main desktop (9th gen, 32GB RAM, TPM 2.0) upgraded directly from Windows Update

x-voodoo Nov 8, 2021 05:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmchv (Post 1338313128)
That's because MS "officialy" supports the installation on computers that comply with some of the requirements (ie TPM 1.2) but with disclaimers. You just have to check some acknowledgement checks before the instalation starts.

I had a different experience on the 3 unsupported computers I upgraded:
  • My daughter's laptop (7th gen, 16GB RAM, TPM 1.2) -> update from Win10 to Win11 with disclaimers using unmodified ISO.
  • My old Surface Pro 3 (4th gen, 8GB RAM, TPM 1.2) -> clean install with disclaimers using unmodified ISO.
  • My wife's X99 desktop (5th gen, 32GB RAM, NO TPM) -> had to modifiy the installer to be able to do an in-place upgrade from Win10 to Win11 with disclaimers.

My other computers: Surface Pro 6 (8th gen, 8GB RAM, TPM 2.0), son's laptop (8th gen, 16GB RAM, TPM 2.0) and my main desktop (9th gen, 32GB RAM, TPM 2.0) upgraded directly from Windows Update

Interesting....the Optiplex 3020 I tested didn't give me any disclaimers (which I know is not officially supported with the 4th gen i5).

acroig Nov 8, 2021 06:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Megaman (Post 1338313084)
Thanks bro.


EDIT: Done and now it ticks all the boxes :)

Awesome, glad it worked.

LordHawkwind Nov 9, 2021 04:36 PM

Upgraded my gaming PC no problem but my 2 year old Dell Laptop with a Ryzen 5 2500 fails because the CPU is unsupported. Total BS it has TPM 2.0 but the CPU doesn't cut it. Madness what are M$ thinking? Am I going t buy a new laptop just to run Win 11 :lol: Win 11 can disappear up it's own ar*e for all I care.

Lazy8s Nov 12, 2021 02:13 PM

So I didnít think I would really care for 11, but I was wrong. The install was fast and painless, laptop is even snappier than it was, and everything, literally everything is working flawlessly.

I donít think Iíll be rolling back to Win 10Ö.

Mangler Nov 12, 2021 05:00 PM

I'm impressed by auto hdr, it more or less looks like native hdr in some titles.

acroig Nov 12, 2021 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mangler (Post 1338313929)
I'm impressed by auto hdr, it more or less looks like native hdr in some titles.

This. I'm surprised it works this well.

lmchv Nov 13, 2021 03:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by x-voodoo (Post 1338313346)
Interesting....the Optiplex 3020 I tested didn't give me any disclaimers (which I know is not officially supported with the 4th gen i5).

are you sure?, the disclaimer is a waiver you need to accept halfway the install process, right before the copy of the files starts.

It's something like this: https://www.windowscentral.com/sites...-11-waiver.jpg

KAC Nov 19, 2021 09:44 PM

So they fixed the Ryzen issues now? Safe to install?

Megaman Nov 19, 2021 10:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KAC (Post 1338315166)
So they fixed the Ryzen issues now? Safe to install?

Yeah I think that was over a week ago. Pull the trigger.

Evileh Nov 29, 2021 03:40 PM

yeah no issues same frame rates as 10

KAC Dec 1, 2021 03:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Evileh (Post 1338316625)
yeah no issues same frame rates as 10

That’s coz you on a shitty processor. It’s a 5000 series issue. :bleh:

Riptide Dec 22, 2021 04:00 PM

The windows 10 install on my desktop is older than the hills at this point and is set with legacy (non UEFI) too.

I'd like to create some install media on a thumbdrive and completely reinstall 11 from scratch and upgrade.

What about keys? I'm using OEM windows 10 key. How much is this gonna cost me to update?

x-voodoo Dec 22, 2021 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Riptide (Post 1338319980)
The windows 10 install on my desktop is older than the hills at this point and is set with legacy (non UEFI) too.

I'd like to create some install media on a thumbdrive and completely reinstall 11 from scratch and upgrade.

What about keys? I'm using OEM windows 10 key. How much is this gonna cost me to update?

Link to Windows 11 MCT to create or download your ISO.
https://www.microsoft.com/software-download/windows11

I think Win11 uses the same key as Win10 or should auto-activate when you reinstall Win11.

Riptide Dec 22, 2021 04:37 PM

Yah the issue is I'm using an OEM key for my 10 install. Google doesn't seem real clear on my search results for that issue.

If I buy a windows 10 oem key for example can it be used to activate windows 11 on a bare metal install? I am assuming no, and you'd have to buy a full pro license.

x-voodoo Dec 22, 2021 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Riptide (Post 1338319982)
Yah the issue is I'm using an OEM key for my 10 install. Google doesn't seem real clear on my search results for that issue.

If I buy a windows 10 oem key for example can it be used to activate windows 11 on a bare metal install? I am assuming no, and you'd have to buy a full pro license.

If you have a spare hard drive try installing Win11 on that. Then check the activation status and if it says "Windows is activated" you're good to go when you do the real install on your current hard drive.

Just make sure you install the same version you had with Win10 (if you had Win10 home, install Win11 Home.....or if you had Win10 Pro, then Win11 Pro, etc)

Riptide Dec 22, 2021 09:03 PM

If this information is accurate it looks like I cannot activate Windows 11 with a Windows 10 key.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/ans...indows-11.html

The workaround for this would be to do a fresh Windows 10 installation, activate it with an OEM key, and then perform the upgrade.

Not a huge deal just not exactly what I'd hoped for.. :bleh:

x-voodoo Dec 23, 2021 07:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Riptide (Post 1338320010)
If this information is accurate it looks like I cannot activate Windows 11 with a Windows 10 key.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/ans...indows-11.html

The workaround for this would be to do a fresh Windows 10 installation, activate it with an OEM key, and then perform the upgrade.

Not a huge deal just not exactly what I'd hoped for.. :bleh:

Found this in the link you provided.......

Can I use a Windows 10 product key to activate Windows 11?

Yes, users can activate Windows 11 using a Windows 10 product key. If your system already has an assigned digital license for Windows 10, it should automatically activate.

Riptide Dec 23, 2021 08:19 AM

Further down, discussing bare metal (clean) installs:
Quote:

No, this scenario is applicable only if you already installed Windows 10 and it has been activated.
You won't be able to use Windows 10 product key to activate Windows 11 this way and it is only possible if Windows 10 already been installed and activated.
As a workaround, you may install Windows 10 and activate it and then upgrade to Windows 11.
Looks like you would still need to use a workaround for it.

In the end I found a Windows 11 pro OEM key for $15 and picked one up. Same place I bought my last Windows 10 pro OEM key from.

Have got most items backed up and am getting ready, will probably start the process next week while I'm off work and after the holiday. There will need to be some changes in the BIOS for this to install, enabling UEFI and secure boot I'm assuming. Will need to research a bit more.

Some of my apps (logitech ghub, corsair icue, nzxt cam, etc.) don't have explicit windows 11 support so this should be interesting.. There may be some issues with those.

Silent-Runner Dec 23, 2021 08:50 AM

the real question is: why bother with it right now?

Megaman Dec 23, 2021 05:43 PM

I'm stuck at 8% download :rolleyes: Should only be a 20 minute upgrade.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com