Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

Dungeoncrawler Apr 28, 2010 04:21 AM

New case; love the modular design. All the components are separated and have their own fans. The sata devices are now plug-n-play :D. Kinda a crappy pic but I was still testing everything out.


Greasy Apr 28, 2010 06:14 AM

Awesome case dc. :drool:

fasedw Apr 28, 2010 02:48 PM

My Rig
 
Here's a pic of my 5870's on water, Just got done yesterday, I have Sapphire and want to clock them to 1000, on core, what modification do I use in the MSI Afterburner etc.?



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

caveman-jim Apr 28, 2010 02:51 PM

There is an advanced option to enable higher clocks and voltage control in the perferences.

Dungeoncrawler Apr 28, 2010 04:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fasedw (Post 1336237562)
Here's a pic of my 5870's on water, Just got done yesterday, I have Sapphire and want to clock them to 1000, on core, what modification do I use in the MSI Afterburner etc.?



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Wish I had the balls to go liquid :( . Very nice!

aviphysics Apr 28, 2010 10:03 PM

Just finished a new computer desk. My father was very nice and did most of the actual work . It's designed to hide as much of the cable clutter as possible. There is a channel in the back that allows cables to be routed wherever. The drawers are crazy deep and can have cables routed into them as well. The venting seems to be sufficient. CoreTemp did not pick up any notable rise in temperature. I am going to add a pair of fans to the back just to make sure.






traitoR Apr 28, 2010 10:36 PM

Cute looking little girl, nice looking desk but i personally like darker colors. :p

Soong Apr 28, 2010 10:42 PM

Is it dificult to open drawers with no handle?

aviphysics Apr 28, 2010 11:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by traitoR (Post 1336238061)
Cute looking little girl, nice looking desk but i personally like darker colors. :p

Thanks. That is my lovely daughter. In Ca there are very few hard woods that are grown locally. This makes it much more expensive to get the darker woods. I could have stained it but that would diminish the natural grain pattern and make my work environment darker. Besides this complements my speakers nicely :D .

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soong (Post 1336238067)
Is it dificult to open drawers with no handle?

The drawers are on spring loaded things with a magnetic latch so when you pressed the front it pops out. There is a depression cut into the top of the drawer to make it easier to pull out from there. I like the minimalist look and if it had handles it wouldn't fit through my door ways.

Dungeoncrawler Apr 29, 2010 03:54 AM

Couple more pics of my new case.



caveman-jim Apr 29, 2010 10:54 AM

@aviphysics - very nice!

@cd - :drool:

aviphysics Apr 29, 2010 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fasedw (Post 1336237562)
Here's a pic of my 5870's on water, Just got done yesterday, I have Sapphire and want to clock them to 1000, on core, what modification do I use in the MSI Afterburner etc.?
Uploaded with ImageShack.us

What your radiator look like? Just curious.

Dungeoncrawler Apr 29, 2010 08:01 PM

So I have an area on top of my case designed for a radiator. However, do I have any hardware options for this spot other than three individual 120mm fans? Any type of fan-pack that is one unit consisting of the 3 fans?

Greasy Apr 29, 2010 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler (Post 1336239043)
So I have an area on top of my case designed for a radiator. However, do I have any hardware options for this spot other than three individual 120mm fans? Any type of fan-pack that is one unit consisting of the 3 fans?

Just put a 3x120 rad up there, then add the rest of the water kit. You will then really see the beauty of that case. I want one really really bad, but I can't justify the cost considering how much I spent on this damn lian li.

aviphysics Apr 30, 2010 10:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336225496)
You get Diet Rite for the first year.

As far as the screen pic goes, I used it for promo shots for my review on the Eyefinity6, and it was the most convenient pic I had for a 5760x2160 desktop - 12.5MP wallpapers are hard to come by, and the promo pic AMD sent me only needed the canvas size extending horizontally a little to make it fit.

Hey Caveman,

I have a beautiful 12531x7519 picture of Burney Falls in CA I took a few years ago. Definetly one of my best works. Its made from about 50 8MP pictures stitched together. The CPU time alone took 2 days on my P4. I currently have a 4ft by 6ft poster of it in my office covering what used to be a window before they filled in the courtyard. I challenge anyone to find a seem in it. Let me know and I can send you a copy (not for redistribution pls). Consider it a thanks for being generaly helpful Edit: I found a copy. Here is a low res version.



caveman-jim Apr 30, 2010 01:30 PM

Wow, thats awesome! Yes, please send me a hi-res version and I'll post up pics of it as my Eyefinity 6 desktop :D

caveman-jim at rage3d dot com :wink3:

DiaperJe|\|i3 Apr 30, 2010 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336219987)
Got a new desk to hold my Eyefinity6 setup. $30 from local thrift store, no laminated particle board here - solid and sturdy. Some joints had sprung when we got it, so I replaced some screws and added some brackets to beef it up. 60" wide and 30" deep. The computer tower hutch isn't big enough for a HAF so I put my UPS there instead.

[IG]http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/7930/eyefinity6desk.jpg[/IMG]

XFX x58i / Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz (4.2 Turbo) w/CoolIT Domino ALC / G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 @ 1200 8-8-8-24 1T @1.5v 3x2GB / Intel X25-E / Seagate 7200.12 1TB / AMD ATI Radeon HD 5870 2GB Eyefinity 6 / Corsair TX 850 / Cooler Master HAF 932 / Windows 7 Ultimate x64

I think my e-penis turned into a e-vagina :cry:

DiaperJe|\|i3 Apr 30, 2010 02:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336238040)
Just finished a new computer desk. My father was very nice and did most of the actual work . It's designed to hide as much of the cable clutter as possible. There is a channel in the back that allows cables to be routed wherever. The drawers are crazy deep and can have cables routed into them as well. The venting seems to be sufficient. CoreTemp did not pick up any notable rise in temperature. I am going to add a pair of fans to the back just to make sure.

[IG]http://lh4.ggpht.com/_gN77P_NrVf0/S9jz0Y9CqdI/AAAAAAAAdhY/LHgEv3CmSVU/IMG_8779.JPG[/IMG]

[IG]http://lh5.ggpht.com/_gN77P_NrVf0/S9jz1Oy4c3I/AAAAAAAAdhg/yzp15dHL7Zc/s800/IMG_8782.JPG[/IMG]

[IG]http://lh5.ggpht.com/_gN77P_NrVf0/S9jz14wxtBI/AAAAAAAAdho/awyza50zGsE/s800/IMG_8784.JPG[/IMG]

Thats perfect. I love it!

aviphysics May 1, 2010 10:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336219987)
Got a new desk to hold my Eyefinity6 setup. $30 from local thrift store, no laminated particle board here - solid and sturdy. Some joints had sprung when we got it, so I replaced some screws and added some brackets to beef it up. 60" wide and 30" deep. The computer tower hutch isn't big enough for a HAF so I put my UPS there instead.

http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/7...inity6desk.jpg

XFX x58i / Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz (4.2 Turbo) w/CoolIT Domino ALC / G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 @ 1200 8-8-8-24 1T @1.5v 3x2GB / Intel X25-E / Seagate 7200.12 1TB / AMD ATI Radeon HD 5870 2GB Eyefinity 6 / Corsair TX 850 / Cooler Master HAF 932 / Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Looks like you are going to need an even bigger desk soon if you want to stay on the cutting edge.


http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/30/p...esterdays-new/

ScottDoom May 1, 2010 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336240681)
Looks like you are going to need an even bigger desk soon if you want to stay on the cutting edge.


http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/30/p...esterdays-new/

OMGLOL

:lol:

That is ridiculous! I mean, it already was ridiculous. Now it's just unreal.

caveman-jim May 1, 2010 11:02 AM

Yeah, I'm trying to figure out what the point of that is - you can't make single Eyefinity groups larger than 8k pixels on any axis, and you can't currently do multi-GPU Eyefinity groups (groups spanning displays attached to multiple cards), so this hints at there being interesting announcements coming @ Computex in June, possibly.

Treeckcold57 May 1, 2010 01:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScottDoom (Post 1336240700)
OMGLOL

:lol:

That is ridiculous! I mean, it already was ridiculous. Now it's just unreal.

That isn't for gamers. It is more likely for business and professional users.

aviphysics May 1, 2010 04:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Treeckcold57 (Post 1336240814)
That isn't for gamers. It is more likely for business and professional users.

Joykill :rolleyes:

caveman-jim May 1, 2010 05:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Treeckcold57 (Post 1336240814)
That isn't for gamers. It is more likely for business and professional users.

If it were a Fire Pro then I'd agree with you. However, there are no dual-GPU Fire Pro cards. So it's a consumer card, and business and professional users don't buy consumer cards, they buy professional workstation cards. Fire Pro.

Dungeoncrawler May 2, 2010 01:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Greasy (Post 1336239066)
Just put a 3x120 rad up there, then add the rest of the water kit. You will then really see the beauty of that case. I want one really really bad, but I can't justify the cost considering how much I spent on this damn lian li.

So I can use a rad for air-cooling if I decide not to go liquid? Those things have fan's inside of them right? And, does the unit power itself? Again, I know nothing about this stuff.

caveman-jim May 2, 2010 08:57 PM

:confused: Use a water filled radiator for air cooling?

Treeckcold57 May 2, 2010 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336241803)
:confused: Use a water filled radiator for air cooling?

Uhh...I have no clue. But it doesn't make a sense. All I know is the heat pipe that has the fluid transfers heat.

Soong May 2, 2010 09:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler (Post 1336241200)
So I can use a rad for air-cooling if I decide not to go liquid? Those things have fan's inside of them right? And, does the unit power itself? Again, I know nothing about this stuff.

No. Water needs to be going through the radiator. It has to be going through the water block too (if you're wondering). You also need a pump, tubing, hose clamps, and even fans to move air through the radiator's fins.

Ristogod May 2, 2010 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336241000)
If it were a Fire Pro then I'd agree with you. However, there are no dual-GPU Fire Pro cards. So it's a consumer card, and business and professional users don't buy consumer cards, they buy professional workstation cards. Fire Pro.

Depends what the business is.

Dungeoncrawler May 3, 2010 12:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336241803)
:confused: Use a water filled radiator for air cooling?

It has fans in it right? Thought maybe you could leave the water out and just use the three fans as a mounted air cooling unit. However, never really seen one up-close (rad).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com