Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

BababooeyHTJ Jul 25, 2012 04:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336991311)
Heh...All i do is wrap it around the power cord right after the wall socket, and it doesn't seem to have any issue giving me a reading in either amps or watts.

You won't have any inductance with the hot and neutral running right up against each other. Well, at least nothing that you would be able to read with an amp probe.

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336991348)
That was used as an example to show others what i'm talking about in general terms....The capabilites vary to a large degree, understand?

Do you know what AC inductance is and what it does?

mullet Jul 25, 2012 08:39 AM

New rig. I need a new camera.




Roadhog Jul 25, 2012 08:45 AM

very clean

demo Jul 25, 2012 08:47 AM

Nice build and case mullet. :up:

aviphysics Jul 25, 2012 08:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336991348)
That was used as an example to show others what i'm talking about in general terms....The capabilites vary to a large degree, understand?

So how are you getting a reading if the neutral and hot wire are running next to each other? They should cancel out each other's field unless you have a serious grounding problem with your case.

TRD Supra Jul 25, 2012 09:03 AM

Nice color scheme with the fans!

How are those Corsair's at moving air?

mullet Jul 25, 2012 09:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRD Supra (Post 1336991641)
Nice color scheme with the fans!

How are those Corsair's at moving air?


They move a lot of air and pretty quiet (fan controller). Temps are pretty good so far. I will push the OC soon.

Thanks for the comments. :)

Roadhog Jul 25, 2012 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336991633)
So how are you getting a reading if the neutral and hot wire are running next to each other? They should cancel out each other's field unless you have a serious grounding problem with your case.

He has a special top secret meter that is super expensive. :nuts:

demo Jul 25, 2012 09:21 AM

It meters aeroplanes apparently :bleh:



























conduit

slaWter Jul 25, 2012 09:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet (Post 1336991612)
New rig. I need a new camera.




Freaking amazing mullet! Doesn't get better than that! Killer color scheme and hardware! Enjoy it mate :D

shadow001 Jul 25, 2012 10:21 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXFkHLIyl5Y


You'll see the power readout in real time as the benchmarks are being run, and in his video, he's using this for mesuring the amount of power being used:


http://www.transcat.com/catalog/prod...itemnum=380803


The system plugs right into the device outlet

shadow001 Jul 25, 2012 10:33 AM

i used this in my particular case, wich isn't the average inductive ammeter to say the least, given the amount of current it can handle:


http://cdn.fluke-direct.com/shop/ite...rerItemNumber=

VW_Factor Jul 25, 2012 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336991754)
i used this in my particular case, wich isn't the average inductive ammeter to say the least, given the amount of current it can handle:


http://cdn.fluke-direct.com/shop/ite...rerItemNumber=

:lol:

Here, because you somehow think an expensive clamp meter is going to help.



Edit : You'll notice the extra tool he's using, which you can make yourself.. Otherwise given you didn't know hot/neutral/ground existed in AC circuits before now I doubt you have one of those either.

caveman-jim Jul 25, 2012 11:02 AM

just put him on ignore guys...

@mullet - very nice! :drool:

Redeemed Jul 25, 2012 11:12 AM

Mullet, I've over nighted my rig to your place. I want it to look all sexxeh like yours. :manches:

:p

BababooeyHTJ Jul 25, 2012 11:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demo (Post 1336991668)
conduit

You can clamp it around the "tubing". Works better that way. ;)

shadow001 Jul 25, 2012 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VW_Factor (Post 1336991792)
:lol:

Here, because you somehow think an expensive clamp meter is going to help.



Edit : You'll notice the extra tool he's using, which you can make yourself.. Otherwise given you didn't know hot/neutral/ground existed in AC circuits before now I doubt you have one of those either.


Actually no, what you will notice is that the one i linked can handle up to 2000 amp currents, wich can only be done using extremely thick gauge wiring that's a bear to strip the insulation to expose a single hot wire or make your magic tool for it....

Redeemed Jul 25, 2012 11:42 AM

Guys last I checked this was a thread about posting pics of your computers. Not getting in a pissing match over who is the more educated regarding all things electrical and how certain tools work or do not.

Shadow- your rig is awesome. However I don't care about the tools your using or whether or not you know how to use them.

Pics of rigs or GTFO!

Jussayin'. :p

slaWter Jul 25, 2012 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 1336991850)
Guys last I checked this was a thread about posting pics of your computers. Not getting in a pissing match over who is the more educated regarding all things electrical and how certain tools work or do not.

Shadow- your rig is awesome. However I don't care about the tools your using or whether or not you know how to use them.

Pics of rigs or GTFO!

Jussayin'. :p

+1

He's just as annoying here as we was over at nV News...

Roadhog Jul 25, 2012 12:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 1336991850)
Guys last I checked this was a thread about posting pics of your computers. Not getting in a pissing match over who is the more educated regarding all things electrical and how certain tools work or do not.

Shadow- your rig is awesome. However I don't care about the tools your using or whether or not you know how to use them.

Pics of rigs or GTFO!

Jussayin'. :p

Lol. You haven't seen anything. Just ask about the great conduit war.

BababooeyHTJ Jul 25, 2012 12:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336991841)
Actually no, what you will notice is that the one i linked can handle up to 2000 amp currents, wich can only be done using extremely thick gauge wiring that's a bear to strip the insulation to expose a single hot wire or make your magic tool for it....

:lol:


Dude you have no clue what you're talking about.

Redeemed Jul 25, 2012 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog_ (Post 1336991897)
Lol. You haven't seen anything. Just ask about the great conduit war.

:lol:

Oh wow- I won't ask.

aviphysics Jul 25, 2012 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 1336991850)
Guys last I checked this was a thread about posting pics of your computers. Not getting in a pissing match over who is the more educated regarding all things electrical and how certain tools work or do not.

Maybe shadow could just settle this once and for all with a video demonstrating his magic clamp meter. He obviously has a camera, an internet connection and the desire to educate us simpletons on the powers of really expensive clamp meters. He could even include his computer in the video to keep it OT.

BababooeyHTJ Jul 25, 2012 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336992010)
Maybe shadow could just settle this once and for all with a video demonstrating his magic clamp meter. He obviously has a camera, an internet connection and the desire to educate us simpletons on the powers of really expensive clamp meters. He could even include his computer in the video to keep it OT.

The fact that it measures voltage to boot is even more amazing. :bleh:

mullet Jul 25, 2012 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 1336991674)
Freaking amazing mullet! Doesn't get better than that! Killer color scheme and hardware! Enjoy it mate :D

Thanks dude, it was time to drop the LED fans.

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336991801)
@mullet - very nice! :drool:

Thanks Jim.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 1336991813)
Mullet, I've over nighted my rig to your place. I want it to look all sexxeh like yours. :manches:

:p

Roger that. LOL



Now lets get back to posting Rigs/PCs and not so much bickering. just sayin.

BababooeyHTJ Jul 25, 2012 02:31 PM

Mullet, what case is that? It looks really nice.

mullet Jul 25, 2012 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ (Post 1336992050)
Mullet, what case is that? It looks really nice.


LIAN-LI PC-A70B That I pretty much gutted.

mullet Jul 29, 2012 03:12 PM

My wife gets my hand me downs. :D




Dungeoncrawler Jul 29, 2012 05:56 PM

I did my first proc/gpu's watercooling a few months back. Tubing placement/length was okay for my first attempt but I want to clean it up and shorten the tubing some. So I'll be placing a couple of pics up later and would appreciate some feedback on an efficient/visually aesthetic rework. My main issue is tubing. Imo there is simply too much of it :embarrassed: . Thanks.

slaWter Jul 30, 2012 01:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet (Post 1336995850)
My wife gets my hand me downs. :D




Amazing as always! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com