Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

BababooeyHTJ Aug 3, 2012 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1337001573)
Place the drain port at the lowest point of the circuit as technically possible, with the reservoir at the highest point and open the fillport, though in my case i add a fitting at the top fillport and a bit of hose and blow on the hose to help force fluid out under pressure, and not just let gravity do it's thing.


It's the reason why my reservoirs are located on the top pair of 5 1/4 bays, and in my particular case, all the radiators i'm using have a built in drain port...


The shop vac idea works too, as long as you're sure there's no chance water ends up in the electric motor...:lol:


Do you just cut in a tee for the drain and use a stop at the end of the tube?

I'm thinking or running out to home depot and picking up a tee, cap, and some extra hose clamps.

shadow001 Aug 3, 2012 02:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ (Post 1337001637)
Do you just cut in a tee for the drain and use a stop at the end of the tube?

I'm thinking or running out to home depot and picking up a tee, cap, and some extra hose clamps.


Or this at the lowest point of the tube:


http://www.dazmode.com/store/index.p...&cPath=110_113


lots of different models to choose from, but the basic idea is that a male works with a female and you can disconnect the line without spilling anything.


Or a cheaper way:


http://www.dazmode.com/store/index.p...oducts_id=1685


Fitting on one end and the the other for the hoses, with a cap you can unscrew to drain the loop on the third exit.


Or the home depot way....There's plenty of options to choose from.

MangaSpawn64 Aug 3, 2012 06:27 PM

Updated my HTPC with a Silverstone GD-07 (b'day gift from my gf :drool: )



There is a nice space to put the "rat's nest" from the PSU (where you can put 2 5" 1/4 drives vertically). I'm semi-tempted to put the 2 2 TB Caviar Green drives I used in my file server as well in the case, there is plenty of space for hard drives.



I love the minimalist look, and you can block the power button, and lock the front door, so it's semi child-proof :D



Beautiful and silent case :up:

BababooeyHTJ Aug 3, 2012 08:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1337001750)
Or this at the lowest point of the tube:


http://www.dazmode.com/store/index.p...&cPath=110_113


lots of different models to choose from, but the basic idea is that a male works with a female and you can disconnect the line without spilling anything.


Or a cheaper way:


http://www.dazmode.com/store/index.p...oducts_id=1685


Fitting on one end and the the other for the hoses, with a cap you can unscrew to drain the loop on the third exit.


Or the home depot way....There's plenty of options to choose from.

I ended up going to home depot and picking up a nylon tee for the time being. Its a good thing that I did since I screwed up and picked up the wrong crossfire fitting. I guess that three slots means three slots inbetween dual slot cards. :nuts: So I'm going to need that drain port soon. The nylon tee does look a bit more restrictive than a normal 1/2 barb so I may pick up that bitspower tee that you linked. It also looks better imo. I just saw a nice enzotech fillport that'll work well for a drain.

What are you using for crossfire fittings? What do you think of those adjustable swiftech fittings? What size would I need for a normal spacing like on my sabertooth p67?

shadow001 Aug 3, 2012 09:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ (Post 1337002058)
I ended up going to home depot and picking up a nylon tee for the time being. Its a good thing that I did since I screwed up and picked up the wrong crossfire fitting. I guess that three slots means three slots inbetween dual slot cards. :nuts: So I'm going to need that drain port soon. The nylon tee does look a bit more restrictive than a normal 1/2 barb so I may pick up that bitspower tee that you linked. It also looks better imo. I just saw a nice enzotech fillport that'll work well for a drain.

What are you using for crossfire fittings? What do you think of those adjustable swiftech fittings? What size would I need for a normal spacing like on my sabertooth p67?


I'm using the koolance ones that are adjustable, wich in my case being that there's 4 cards and they're only one slot apart from eachother, means using these:

http://www.dazmode.com/store/index.p...oducts_id=1318

Or longer ones that are adjustable between 2 and 3 slot spacing between the cards:

http://www.dazmode.com/store/index.p...oducts_id=1317


Once the water blocks are installed on the cards, they become half as wide as they used to be with the air cooler, so it's basically only the number of slots you can see between the cards that matters...

BababooeyHTJ Aug 3, 2012 09:31 PM

Thanks, I'll pick one up.

gzunk Aug 4, 2012 07:21 PM

The beast...
 
Not as neat as others


BababooeyHTJ Aug 4, 2012 07:25 PM

I'm actually going to try and return the xspc blocks. I just ordered a pair of Kooliance blocks. They should do a much better job with the vrms.

Here is the way that my pc looks now.




demo Aug 5, 2012 01:23 AM

Good stuff baba :up:

mullet Aug 5, 2012 01:17 PM

Nice rigs guys!!!! We need more pics!!

shadow001 Aug 7, 2012 01:40 PM

System is now fully bled and no leaks to report, so the only thing left is to finalise the modding of the second power supply wich isn't hard, and check to see if all fans operate correctly before installing the side and top panels.


It was surprisingly easy to bleed, even though there's a lot of hardware that the water needs to go thru, and it took nearly an entire gallon of water between both loops.....I am not taking this thing to lan parties as it definitely weighs far too much to carry around...:lol:

shadow001 Aug 7, 2012 03:21 PM

Everything checks out except for 3 of the 20 fans that either turn too slowly compared to the others at the same setting( one does it, and they're all the same model), or don't turn at all( 2 fans).


Could be one of the fan controlers being flaky too, so i'll switch the fan connections around to see if different fans start behaving that way and if they do, then it's the controler that's the issue...

BababooeyHTJ Aug 7, 2012 03:25 PM

Which fans are you using?

shadow001 Aug 7, 2012 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ (Post 1337005149)
Which fans are you using?


Yate loons....Usually pretty good, but i guess there can be some bad apples every now and then, anyhow the problem is fixed since i had spare fans laying around, and now some pics:















VW_Factor Aug 7, 2012 08:17 PM


_TiTaNiuM Aug 8, 2012 12:02 PM

tidy.


still love this case



Redeemed Aug 8, 2012 12:58 PM

That is a very tidy rig, Titanium. :)

Though I'm curious- do you play games at 2560 x 1440 with just that one 5870? I'm rocking two but only play at 1680 x 1050. In games like Crysis 2 with DX11 and high-res textures these cards are definitely insufficient. I'd imagine at that high of a resolution you must be GPU limited in a lot of modern games... no?

Just trying to gauge how that card performs at higher resolutions. I'm hoping to get a new monitor down the road, 24" or 27" so I'll be rocking at least 1920 x 1080, higher if possible. Just curious how your sing 5870 fares. :)

_TiTaNiuM Aug 8, 2012 01:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 1337006315)
That is a very tidy rig, Titanium. :)

Though I'm curious- do you play games at 2560 x 1440 with just that one 5870? I'm rocking two but only play at 1680 x 1050. In games like Crysis 2 with DX11 and high-res textures these cards are definitely insufficient. I'd imagine at that high of a resolution you must be GPU limited in a lot of modern games... no?

Just trying to gauge how that card performs at higher resolutions. I'm hoping to get a new monitor down the road, 24" or 27" so I'll be rocking at least 1920 x 1080, higher if possible. Just curious how your sing 5870 fares. :)

I was using dual 5870's. The one died and gigabyte replaced it with a 7870. It handles it pretty well.

I was surprised to see how much better skyrim runs on this single 7870 than it did on two 5870's in CFX.
Arma2 runs considerably better with all the details cranked way up as well (except post processing, which I hate)

If you are interested the other card is sitting here on my desk, i'd be willing to part with it. It's a gigabyte 5870 Super Overclock 1gb, they were a limited production run card. 950/1200 factory clocks iirc.

Redeemed Aug 8, 2012 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by _TiTaNiuM (Post 1337006365)
I was using dual 5870's. The one died and gigabyte replaced it with a 7870. It handles it pretty well.

I was surprised to see how much better skyrim runs on this single 7870 than it did on two 5870's in CFX.
Arma2 runs considerably better with all the details cranked way up as well (except post processing, which I hate)

If you are interested the other card is sitting here on my desk, i'd be willing to part with it. It's a gigabyte 5870 Super Overclock 1gb, they were a limited production run card. 950/1200 factory clocks iirc.

Ah. Sorry. Saw under your system specs you listed a single 5870. With a single 7870 having twice the framebuffer it makes sense it'd run better at that high a resolution. This kinda' confirms my suspicion that I'll probably be framebuffer-limited before I'm actually GPU limited.

As to your 5870, well I've already got two that I'm running in CrossFire, and my mobo doesn't support tri-fire. However, I may still be able to find a use for it. Shoot me a PM (so we don't derail this thread) with what kinda' price you had in mind, and if you wouldn't mind, some pics as well. :)

Seek & Destroy Aug 8, 2012 06:49 PM

I put together a cute little secondary PC today.

Lian Li PC-Q02A mini ITX
i5 3570K
8GB Corsair Vengeance
ASRock Z77E-ITX
Intel 80GB X-25M G2

Fast little beast. :up:


mullet Aug 8, 2012 08:57 PM

^^^ Nice dude!!

slaWter Aug 9, 2012 04:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1337005305)

Is that the end result?! No offense but that looks not worthy of all that expensive hardware at all. Your old system looked much better.

shadow001 Aug 9, 2012 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 1337007225)
Is that the end result?! No offense but that looks not worthy of all that expensive hardware at all. Your old system looked much better.


It's not done yet, but i'll post a fresh set later today where all the wiring is cleaner still and the top radiator you see in that picture, is attached to the top panel, wich has it's own plexiglass window.


Trying to make the build look as good as possible takes time you know...:lol:

Sazar Aug 9, 2012 10:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slaWter (Post 1337007225)
Is that the end result?! No offense but that looks not worthy of all that expensive hardware at all. Your old system looked much better.

Fish eye lens and finger prints all of cloud your vision of what has gone into it :)

Personally I think it looks awesome.

BTW, whatever happened to the old slaWter who was actually cordial some of the time :cry:

Nunz Aug 9, 2012 10:46 AM

slaWter has competition for biggest e-peen, so he can't be nice.

shadow001 Aug 9, 2012 10:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sazar (Post 1337007488)
Fish eye lens and finger prints all of cloud your vision of what has gone into it :)

Personally I think it looks awesome.

BTW, whatever happened to the old slaWter who was actually cordial some of the time :cry:


True, the camera has a knack to pick up on what looks like finger print marks on the surface, but i can't see them when viewing the case directly....I might try cleaning the case everywhere, and not using the camera's flash for this next set of pictures, as it could be over exposed.

Sazar Aug 9, 2012 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1337007509)
True, the camera has a knack to pick up on what looks like finger print marks on the surface, but i can't see them when viewing the case directly....I might try cleaning the case everywhere, and not using the camera's flash for this next set of pictures, as it could be over exposed.

Have you tried peeing on it and then scrubbing?

I have no evidence to support the fact that it would in fact clean up better, but on the flip side, I have nothing to say it wouldn't :bleh:

Let me know how it works out. :evil:

mullet Aug 9, 2012 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sazar (Post 1337007488)

BTW, whatever happened to the old slaWter who was actually cordial some of the time :cry:


Why do you have to be the judge police on everyone's post.

Sazar Aug 9, 2012 11:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet (Post 1337007518)
Why do you have to be the judge police on everyone's post.

Irony :eek:

slaWter Aug 9, 2012 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1337007485)
It's not done yet, but i'll post a fresh set later today where all the wiring is cleaner still and the top radiator you see in that picture, is attached to the top panel, wich has it's own plexiglass window.


Trying to make the build look as good as possible takes time you know...:lol:

Glad to hear that :) I don't want to rain on your parade but currently it's quite a mess ;) Looking forward to the updated photos.

What are you going to do about the front of the case? All those different 5.25" front panels are really ugly. Does that case offer a front door or are you going to paint each cover?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com