Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

logical Feb 27, 2012 11:54 PM

Clean :up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sound_Card (Post 1336852818)
It kinda pisses me off that he makes those statements, like calling someone else's piece of hardware over priced. When you realize how old he is, and what kind of system he has, you know he did not buy. Probably got it for his birthday. Or took an advance on his weekly allowance.



Qb2k5 Feb 28, 2012 01:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 1336854203)
Final build shot:


Im not really a fan of blowing hot air in a case, but since its cooling just the cpu and you also have top fans to exhaust the heat I give it a KAC™ thumbs up.
:drool:

Roadhog Feb 28, 2012 02:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 1336854203)
Final build shot:

Looks nice and clean. I just noticed all the ssds... O_o

Xion X2 Feb 28, 2012 08:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qb2k5 (Post 1336854232)
Im not really a fan of blowing hot air in a case, but since its cooling just the cpu and you also have top fans to exhaust the heat I give it a KAC™ thumbs up.
:drool:

Thanks. Well, the radiator has a pull config with the fans and there are several vented intakes along the bottom front of the case. Both sides have vents, the bottom has vents, and the front panel of the case has vents on it to intake all the cool air through the radiator.

You really want the radiator on the bottom of your case as heat rises. Since the radiator cools the water then you want to keep it as cool as possible as the water temperature will have the biggest impact on your temps.

I've pushed as much as 1.475v through this chip and load temps under Prime blend or small FFTs is about 55c across all cores after 5 minutes. Normal desktop use is around 30-33c.

Xion X2 Feb 28, 2012 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog_ (Post 1336854243)
Looks nice and clean. I just noticed all the ssds... O_o

Thanks. This is my first Raid5 setup, and it's really fast. Windows boots in 10-12 seconds from the bios screen. That's all icons on the desktop and no hourglass (meaning all startup programs have loaded.)

nycdarkness Feb 28, 2012 10:43 AM

People told me it was pointless to run raid 0 on 3 vertex 3s. I personally like the speeds however, "unnoticeable" they may be to others.

RobertZ Feb 29, 2012 09:46 AM













Still planning to reroute some of the wires so its not yet complete but its getting there. My accelero cooler for my HD 7970 should be here thursday or friday too.

Xion X2 Feb 29, 2012 11:11 AM

Looks good, Rob. Nice monster card you have in there. :)

RobertZ Feb 29, 2012 11:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 1336855563)
Looks good, Rob. Nice monster card you have in there. :)


Thanks man, really enjoying it too, especially with modded skyrim. :)

Payne3d Feb 29, 2012 01:32 PM

How are you people so clean with the cables? I try to be as neat as I can and then I just give up and let the wires hang loose.

Greasy Feb 29, 2012 01:45 PM

@RobertZ and Xion - Very nice job on those builds. Wish my wiring was that clean.

RobertZ Feb 29, 2012 02:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Greasy (Post 1336855698)
@RobertZ and Xion - Very nice job on those builds. Wish my wiring was that clean.

Hey greasy whats up bro! im from Gastonia NC.

RobertZ Feb 29, 2012 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Payne3d (Post 1336855691)
How are you people so clean with the cables? I try to be as neat as I can and then I just give up and let the wires hang loose.


Well, lots and lots of patience and you need to have a Case that will let you hide the unused wires back behind the MB.

Meteor_of_War Feb 29, 2012 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobertZ (Post 1336855711)
and you need to have a Case that will let you hide the unused wires back behind the MB.

That's the kicker.:up:

The newest chassis' out now all have great cable management features.

Xion X2 Feb 29, 2012 11:03 PM

Thanks, Greasy.

The way I approach cable management is I'll find a neat way to hide the cables on one part before I move onto the next one. So it's a tedious, step-by-step approach. It took me about 2.5 full days to get everything in the case since I was doing it this way.

Although part of the reason it took me so long is this PSU I'm using isn't modular. That makes it a much bigger challenge.

RobertZ Mar 1, 2012 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 1336856193)

Although part of the reason it took me so long is this PSU I'm using isn't modular. That makes it a much bigger challenge.


No doubt about that, I might spring for a nice modular psu before to long anyway.

MangaSpawn64 Mar 1, 2012 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 1336856193)
Thanks, Greasy.

The way I approach cable management is I'll find a neat way to hide the cables on one part before I move onto the next one. So it's a tedious, step-by-step approach. It took me about 2.5 full days to get everything in the case since I was doing it this way.

Although part of the reason it took me so long is this PSU I'm using isn't modular. That makes it a much bigger challenge.

:D Man I'm exactly like that ! Pass some cables in pass-through hole, tie-wrap, decide one cable would be less visible in another hole, cut tie-wrap, re-wire, re-tie-wrap, find out another cable would look better if passed under another one, cut tie-wrap, etc, etc :D

I have a modular PSU and it's like night and day vs what it was before (I build my Raven 2 Evolution with a "regular" PSU at first, then bought a Corsair AX850).

Meteor_of_War Mar 1, 2012 01:53 PM

Same here, I used a modular PSU for the first time in my new build. Made cable management sooo much easier.

Greasy Mar 1, 2012 02:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 1336856193)
Thanks, Greasy.

The way I approach cable management is I'll find a neat way to hide the cables on one part before I move onto the next one. So it's a tedious, step-by-step approach. It took me about 2.5 full days to get everything in the case since I was doing it this way.

Although part of the reason it took me so long is this PSU I'm using isn't modular. That makes it a much bigger challenge.

I think I'm going to take this approach in my next build. I typically just try to figure out wtf I'm gonna do with the mess after I'm finished. :lol:

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobertZ (Post 1336855710)
Hey greasy whats up bro! im from Gastonia NC.

Representing the Piedmont! :p

nycdarkness Mar 1, 2012 02:22 PM

More pics less circle jerk :p

Xion X2 Mar 2, 2012 10:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MangaSpawn64 (Post 1336856525)
:D Man I'm exactly like that ! Pass some cables in pass-through hole, tie-wrap, decide one cable would be less visible in another hole, cut tie-wrap, re-wire, re-tie-wrap, find out another cable would look better if passed under another one, cut tie-wrap, etc, etc :D

Exactly. :D

BababooeyHTJ Mar 3, 2012 01:47 PM

Just got everything set up in the new case. Excuse the wiring, I'll be swapping out a few of the fans soon enough.


demo Mar 3, 2012 01:54 PM

lol nice baba :D

Mangler Mar 3, 2012 01:57 PM

It sucks that you cannot do similar things with amd cards, since the memory/vrm heatsink is soldered to the main heatsink.

demo Mar 3, 2012 02:01 PM

I was thinking, you could put the shroud back on too and run the fan to cool the heatsink/plate for VRM's and memory.

Hrmm, might be easier and far cheaper than going all out water cooling for kepler lol.

TRD Supra Mar 3, 2012 02:01 PM

New: i5-2500k, ASRock Extreme3 Gen3, G.Skill Ares 2x4GB DDR3-1600 and two Apevia 120mm blue led fans

BababooeyHTJ Mar 3, 2012 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mangler (Post 1336858990)
It sucks that you cannot do similar things with amd cards, since the memory/vrm heatsink is soldered to the main heatsink.

Yeah, those vapor chamber coolers are nice but thats the major downside. I don't usually use stock cooling for long other than in the FT-02 where nothing would fit. ;)

I really wish that someone would build heatsinks like the iandh ones that petra's tech shop used to sell for the 4870. You would think that there would be a market for it. The memory is easy enough to sink but finding a good vrm cooling solution can be a pita.

Quote:

Originally Posted by demo (Post 1336858993)
I was thinking, you could put the shroud back on too and run the fan to cool the heatsink/plate for VRM's and memory.

Hrmm, might be easier and far cheaper than going all out water cooling for kepler lol.

I was thinking about that. I just need to do something to cover where the stock heatsink went. I really don't want to have to use cardboard. I may just use that little fan duct that comes with the case. I also plan on putting four 120mm fans in the side panel, mostly because I can.

VW_Factor Mar 3, 2012 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRD Supra (Post 1336858995)
New: i5-2500k, ASRock Extreme3 Gen3, G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 and two Apevia 120mm blue led fans

eewwwww.. stock heatsink.. eewwwww.. :bleh:

demo Mar 3, 2012 02:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ (Post 1336858996)
I was thinking about that. I just need to do something to cover where the stock heatsink went. I really don't want to have to use cardboard.

I dont know what you mean by that? :confused:

Cant you just put the plastic shroud back (over the top of 620 water block, with a slot cut out for the hoses) and turn the fan back on??

BababooeyHTJ Mar 3, 2012 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demo (Post 1336859008)
I dont know what you mean by that? :confused:

Cant you just put the plastic shroud back (over the top of 620 water block, with a slot cut out for the hoses) and turn the fan back on??

You know the metal part on the GTX480? thats actually the heatsink. So I would have that big hole to fill. I don't know why they decided to not do a normal shroud.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com