Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Ryzen 5000 series overclocking guide (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34051952)

Riptide Dec 17, 2020 07:33 AM

Friend of mine needs some memory modules so I'm selling him the 2x8gb b-die kit I just bought and picking up these now.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...82E16820374090

2x16gb, supposedly it's also b-die, and should be dual rank. Even tighter timings too.

KAC Dec 17, 2020 07:49 AM

No RGB and it’s so expensive. Like almost 55-60% higher than my kit.

Riptide Dec 17, 2020 08:10 AM

RGB gonna cost even more. All these 32gb kits with cl14 timings and higher clocks are costly. No getting around it really unless you want to try something rated for less and overclock it.

KAC Dec 17, 2020 08:15 AM

Technically I already tried something rated for less and overclock. Didn’t quite work out as this GSkill ram is a bitch to do anything beyond increase MHz.

Will take it to town tomorrow and see if it improves. But thus far even little changes in timing just cause system to not boot at all. I hate GSkill and should’ve stuck with Corsair kits.

Nunz Dec 17, 2020 08:43 AM

3600c14 is pretty good binned. You have to keep in mind that it's running 1.45v stock, not 1.35v as the 3200CL14 kits do. This allows G.Skill to bin the chips towards higher speeds as they pushed the stock voltage up.

Either way 3600CL14 at 1.45v is good. You can probably do 3800CL15 or 4000CL16 with a slight voltage bump to 1.5-1.55v.

KAC you're just a noob bro :lol: it's not G.Skill's fault :lol:

Riptide Dec 17, 2020 08:46 AM

Possibly. However, when I tried running the current single rank b-die kit at DOCP (3800mhz 14-16-16-36 1.5v) the system would not tolerate the 1800mhz fclk. It rebooted with a whea error after about 12 hours of run time.

The new ripjaws stuff I'm getting, while expensive, should probably just drop in run DOCP and away we go.

Nunz Dec 17, 2020 08:49 AM

That's pretty bad if you're having issues at 1900FCLK. You should have been able to set DOCP, then change the speed manually to 3600 and either tightened timings further (probably 14-14-14-28 at 1.5v) or really tightened the secondary timings.

People are getting too focused on this dual-rank vs single-rank. The differences are not worth the money investment when you are already running decent RAM.

acroig Dec 17, 2020 08:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KAC (Post 1338253460)
Will going full water be a good idea? I have some parts from my predator AIO that I can use like the cpu block, the quick disconnect tubes and the rad. Only need a reservoir and pump. What do you gays think?

Sell your TUF and get:

https://www.evga.com/products/produc...10G-P5-3898-KR

Maybe?

Nunz Dec 17, 2020 08:52 AM

Single rad for a full system loop would be ****ing terrible with a heat monster Ryzen and a 3080. :lol:

Yes, you should do it. Lolol

acroig Dec 17, 2020 08:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338253535)
Single rad for a full system loop would be ****ing terrible with a heat monster Ryzen and a 3080. :lol:

My thinking exactly. Keep GPU on it's own loop, CPU is a furnace.

Riptide Dec 17, 2020 08:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by acroig (Post 1338253537)
My thinking exactly. Keep GPU on it's own loop, CPU is a furnace.

Well I guess that all depends on how powerful the pump and fans are. And how big that radiator is lol

I have a pretty big triple pass heat exchanger on my car, bet that would work beautifully for this application. Might be a bit on the noisy side though :lol:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338253533)
That's pretty bad if you're having issues at 1900FCLK. You should have been able to set DOCP, then change the speed manually to 3600 and either tightened timings further (probably 14-14-14-28 at 1.5v) or really tightened the secondary timings.

People are getting too focused on this dual-rank vs single-rank. The differences are not worth the money investment when you are already running decent RAM.

I ended up putting it back to 3600mhz and left the timings alone, because it's stable there. I could have attempted to tighten timings up at the lower clock speed. I decided to pass, and just get a kit rated for what I know the fclk is stable at and takes me back to 32gb.

I was disappointed that I could not push 1800mhz fclk with this motherboard, bios, and chip. Not really wanting to spend a bunch of time tweaking things honestly. The new kit should theoretically just drop right in and work.

acroig Dec 17, 2020 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Riptide (Post 1338253538)
Well I guess that all depends on how powerful the pump and fans are. And how big that radiator is lol

I have a pretty big triple pass heat exchanger on my car, bet that would work beautifully for this application. Might be a bit on the noisy side though :lol:

There's also his ambient temp in Dubai to contend with.

KAC Dec 17, 2020 09:21 AM

I never said a full system loop. Just a 360 rad for Ryzen 5900X alone but with a loop instead of AIO.

acroig Dec 17, 2020 09:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KAC (Post 1338253543)
I never said a full system loop. Just a 360 rad for Ryzen 5900X alone.

Ah, OK, go for it.

Nunz Dec 17, 2020 09:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KAC (Post 1338253543)
I never said a full system loop. Just a 360 rad for Ryzen 5900X alone.

Why bother? It'll be a large cost investment for minimal gains. Quick disconnect hoses are huge flow restrictions and will mean you have to run the pump at quite a high RPM to keep your flow-rate up. You're never going to run the water at a cool temperature because your ambient is so high. Even the best watercooling setup cannot go below ambient without external cooling such as a water chiller.

Plus the fact that the 360rad, unless it's much thicker than what you have now, won't be much better. I also would not use a block that was made pre-Ryzen.

Nunz Dec 17, 2020 09:31 AM

If you want cooler temps, set the Pump to max on the AIO if you haven't already, and bump the fans a little higher. At the end of the day it's a 24thread monster on a chip that is known to run hot.

acroig Dec 17, 2020 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338253546)
Why bother? It'll be a large cost investment for minimal gains.

Have you met KAC? This is a way of life for him? ;) :p

Nunz Dec 17, 2020 12:11 PM

"This is the way.."

It's okay. I just found out I made Staff Sgt, so considering buying that LG CX48 and giving the 38" to my dad for half..

As much **** as I give KAC for burning cash, I'm only slightly better :lol:

Seyiji Dec 17, 2020 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338253604)
"This is the way.."

It's okay. I just found out I made Staff Sgt, so considering buying that LG CX48 and giving the 38" to my dad for half..

As much **** as I give KAC for burning cash, I'm only slightly better :lol:

Congrats gai ^_^

OverclockN' Dec 17, 2020 01:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338253604)
"This is the way.."

It's okay. I just found out I made Staff Sgt, so considering buying that LG CX48 and giving the 38" to my dad for half..

As much **** as I give KAC for burning cash, I'm only slightly better :lol:

Congrats! :)

Let me know what you think of the CX 48 if you do go that route.

acroig Dec 17, 2020 01:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338253604)
"This is the way.."

It's okay. I just found out I made Staff Sgt, so considering buying that LG CX48 and giving the 38" to my dad for half..

As much **** as I give KAC for burning cash, I'm only slightly better :lol:

Congrats!!! Salute.

Nunz Dec 17, 2020 03:16 PM

Thanks guys. Still reconsidering if it's a good idea or not. Super on the fence about it. If I see a single good deal on it, I'll do it. Not sure if I'll be in for it at MSRP.

demo Dec 18, 2020 12:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KAC (Post 1338253543)
I never said a full system loop. Just a 360 rad for Ryzen 5900X alone but with a loop instead of AIO.


If you're going that far you may as well do it properly and slap a GPU block on too. It's pretty easy if you use soft tube and you'll be happy with the results.

demo Dec 18, 2020 12:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338253604)
"This is the way.."

It's okay. I just found out I made Staff Sgt, so considering buying that LG CX48 and giving the 38" to my dad for half..

As much **** as I give KAC for burning cash, I'm only slightly better :lol:


Nice one Nunz. Personally I think monitors have their place though, I'm not sold on using a TV exlusively. Wish they made smaller variants.

Congrats on making rank btw *salute*.

KAC Dec 18, 2020 12:51 AM

So I did a push/pull setup on the 360 rad but still not seeing the low temps. Even pushed fans to run at bitch ass 1250 RPM and pump is pushing 2150 RPM. Maybe there is 2 C here or there but difficult to make out.

I don't think full water will work in my environment as my ambient temps are still high.

However, I do get to say that I did push/pull setup. :bleh: Also cleaned out some cables that were bothering me. Here is what the disco looks like. Waiting on demo to ship me those lian li cables so I can go full re.. ga.. RGB stuff. :bleh:




demo Dec 18, 2020 01:01 AM

I'll dig them out this weekend m8.

Push pull generally only shaves off a couple degrees.

From highest to lowest temp in 2 or 3c increments it goes Pull>Push>PushPull

KAC Dec 18, 2020 01:29 AM

Well in that case I am seeing 2-3C improvement. In COD BOCW I was hitting 84 C but this time I only hit 81 C. Also in other games I was around 74 C mark but am around 71 C.

I already fixed the idle temps by uninstalling all RGB softwares and now last night my idle was as low as 36 C and usually hovering around 41-45 C when stupid Epic isn’t running and I am browsing.

badsykes Dec 18, 2020 03:16 AM

At minute 16.08 there is a tabel about temps and frequency. 71 C max at 4.35 g all cores at 1.238 V.

KAC Dec 18, 2020 03:24 AM

I finally figured out the setting in this stupid MSI board to add +200 and now my CPU is pushing 5.15 Gs.

Nascar24 Dec 18, 2020 07:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demo (Post 1338253767)
I'll dig them out this weekend m8.

Push pull generally only shaves off a couple degrees.

From highest to lowest temp in 2 or 3c increments it goes Pull>Push>PushPull

Not version 1 of the RGB cables I hope? I would agree with KAC if that were the case.:bleh:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com