Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

oasked Jun 16, 2011 01:39 PM

NICE!

Very sweet setup there. :)

mrk1283 Jun 16, 2011 02:09 PM

Thanks! It's taken time and sweat and tears of joy but it was worth it :p

Roxen Jun 16, 2011 03:29 PM

My computer looks like **** in comparison.




CurrentlyPissed Jun 16, 2011 07:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrk1283 (Post 1336615847)
Some new fans as the stock ones were resonating and I wanted more airflow but quieter operation at faster RPM so got some Noctua NF-P12s :D







Just got to replace the intake 140mm with a Noctua now too and I'm all set.

Nice case, almost went with the K63 version.

CurrentlyPissed Jun 16, 2011 07:39 PM

Heres pics of the new GFX card that I am installing now. Cant wait to get the second one in.



Ill post pics of the build complete.

Jokerzwild Jun 16, 2011 08:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CurrentlyPissed (Post 1336615718)
Replaced some parts already on the system. When the 570 GTX **** the bed already I went back and got a EVGA 560 Ti DS SuperClocked, was going to just SLi a set of those instead of the single 570 GTX, but then I got home and found out my P8P67 (while says it has dual PCI Express 16 and supports Quadfire) apparently does NOT support Sli or Crossfire, seriously only supports Quadfire, what kind of **** is that? So I returned it and went with the MSI P67A-GD65 instead after having to upgrade the Mobo though I will have to wait until next month to add the 2nd 560 GTX Ti DS. Will post pics up tommorow.

Actually that mobo does support CrossfireX, but not SLi. One slot runs in 16x and the other runs in 4x mode, but only if you specifically enable it in the BIOS, at the expense of both PCIe x1 slots and your front panel USB3 ports. I have an IP35 pro that has the 16x/4x config for Crossfire and it actually works really well. I've run a Crossfire setup in that board and the 4x slot doesn't really hold it back all that much. I guess that is the reason it doesn't support SLI though. They must require at least an 8x8x setup.

Here we can see one of the differences between the P8P67 Deluxe and the P8P67. The P8P67 only has two PCIe x16 expansion slots. The second of the PCIe x16 slots defaults to an x1 slot and must be adjusted to x4 in the BIOS to support AMD CrossfireX. Doing this does come at a cost, though, since the ASUS P8P67 doesn't have the added PCIe lanes that the PLX chip provides on the ASUS P8P67 Deluxe. Once the second PCIe x16 slot is enabled to x4 (default x1) both PCIe x1's and USB3 three and four (front panel USB3) will be disabled.


http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1500/4/

Glad you went and got a board with more features though, it'll do you well since you use nvidia cards right now.

CurrentlyPissed Jun 16, 2011 09:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jokerzwild (Post 1336616610)
Actually that mobo does support CrossfireX, but not SLi. One slot runs in 16x and the other runs in 4x mode, but only if you specifically enable it in the BIOS, at the expense of both PCIe x1 slots and your front panel USB3 ports. I have an IP35 pro that has the 16x/4x config for Crossfire and it actually works really well. I've run a Crossfire setup in that board and the 4x slot doesn't really hold it back all that much. I guess that is the reason it doesn't support SLI though. They must require at least an 8x8x setup.

Here we can see one of the differences between the P8P67 Deluxe and the P8P67. The P8P67 only has two PCIe x16 expansion slots. The second of the PCIe x16 slots defaults to an x1 slot and must be adjusted to x4 in the BIOS to support AMD CrossfireX. Doing this does come at a cost, though, since the ASUS P8P67 doesn't have the added PCIe lanes that the PLX chip provides on the ASUS P8P67 Deluxe. Once the second PCIe x16 slot is enabled to x4 (default x1) both PCIe x1's and USB3 three and four (front panel USB3) will be disabled.


http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1500/4/

Glad you went and got a board with more features though, it'll do you well since you use nvidia cards right now.

If I could ever get the **** to work. Ive had so many problems with this build it's ridiculous.

CurrentlyPissed Jun 21, 2011 02:10 AM

Beleive it or not, those issues I were having was a SECOND fail GPU. I had a 570 GTX Zotac fail on me in the first week, took it back and got a 560 TI EVGA and it also failed!

So I went back to ATi. Ended up just going with 2x HIS 6870 1GBs for Crossfire. Here are the pics.


Here is the package before opening..




First sight after opening them.



After removing the accessory box from up top of the cards.



Letting them out to breath for the first time on their own.




Them in the case powered up (sorry these were cell shots the camera is dead and the cell camera HATES bright lights they are actually white LEDs and not blue..




caveman-jim Jun 21, 2011 08:41 AM

sorry you're having such bad luck with GPU's, hope these work out better for you.

CurrentlyPissed Jun 21, 2011 09:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336620367)
sorry you're having such bad luck with GPU's, hope these work out better for you.

Lol its not your fault. On the positive side micro center took 20$ off each his for me. But then again I live about 25 miles from there so all the trips I'm sure I spent more in gas.

riho Jun 21, 2011 09:45 AM

Wow, nice clean and fancy rigs. When I'll get my parts ordered and put together I'll take pics of my rat mod setup :lol:

nycdarkness Jun 21, 2011 11:30 PM

IN GOES THE MAXIMUS Z
 
:evil:






Loving all the features. This board is crazyyyyyy. 4 usb 2 headers on the board and the led status lights, pcie switches. :eek::eek::eek: Turning the comp on with my iphone :heart::heart::heart:

Now to sell off the 5 week old GB P67-UD7-B3 :bleh:

CurrentlyPissed Jun 22, 2011 01:11 AM

That is a very sexy board!

Here is some better pics with the camera and not the cell.





Greasy Jun 23, 2011 12:28 PM

That is a tight setup NYCDarkness. :drool:

mrk1283 Jun 23, 2011 06:13 PM

The 600T does indeed look nice but a shame for me as something that white would look so out of place at my workstation lol!

Mangler Jun 25, 2011 05:38 PM

Here's the latest revision of my rig, no more rv02 for me.


nycdarkness Jun 27, 2011 07:52 PM

Sleeved cables :drool:





Dungeoncrawler Jun 29, 2011 09:50 PM

Quote:

IN GOES THE MAXIMUS Z

Same board, tri-sli, and no room for my sound card :(

nycdarkness Jun 30, 2011 12:00 AM

I use a usb x-fi hooked to bose compaion 3s use to be ifi's till the amp in it died. While that's being fixed I picked up the compaion 3s for 170 on newegg shell shocker :D

Dungeoncrawler Jun 30, 2011 12:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nycdarkness (Post 1336628756)
I use a usb x-fi hooked to bose compaion 3s use to be ifi's till the amp in it died. While that's being fixed I picked up the compaion 3s for 170 on newegg shell shocker :D

Same here (usb x-fi); do you find that you loose sound randomly at times that requires a disconnect and then a reconnect of the usb?

nycdarkness Jun 30, 2011 11:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler (Post 1336628776)
Same here (usb x-fi); do you find that you loose sound randomly at times that requires a disconnect and then a reconnect of the usb?

Never. I do notice one thing though, it's not as good as my internal x-fi plat was. :bleh:

Greasy Jun 30, 2011 12:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nycdarkness (Post 1336626668)
Sleeved cables :drool:





Very nicely done. how long did that take you?

nycdarkness Jun 30, 2011 09:14 PM

Long enough lol considering first time around. Not something I would do again really unless I got really bored.

genci88 Jul 1, 2011 02:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CurrentlyPissed (Post 1336621303)
snip

Man, that case looks amazing. Like something you'd find on a space shuttle. :drool:

Dave Jul 6, 2011 05:25 PM

Rewired my pc also replaced the 2 180mm fans at the bottom with Silverstone Air Penetrator 180mm fans (SST-AP181).















:drool:

Here's how the penetrator fans work:


KAC Jul 11, 2011 08:42 AM

My new el-cheapo rig. Going to post some pics of running computer tonight.









It has 3 120 mm fans, a nice 9900 Max Zalman to cool it down, cables are also well managed. My temps are hovering around 26 C ambient (case reports that), 45 C idle, 73 C load VC, 38 C idle and 53 C load comp and about 40 C a pop for the 3 HDDs.

rtangwai Jul 15, 2011 09:05 PM

Desktop
 
Lots of interesting systems shown in this thread. My own rig (Q9550/ASUS P5E in a Lian-Li PC-201B) has relatively poor cable management so it's nothing to write about. For me, it's always been about the displays:



30" Gateway in the lower middle, 2x20" Dell 2001FP on the lower left and right, 3x20" widescreens (2x Dell 2001WP, 1 LG) on the upper row. I use a HD6950 to drive the four left monitors and a HD4650 to drive the two on the right.

Yes I am a Nicole Kidman fan :D

Dungeoncrawler Jul 16, 2011 12:51 AM

Nice pics gents. Finally got my gigabyte p67a-ud7-b3 mobo back. Apparently newegg refused the rma due to physical damage. Think I must have damaged the proc pins when I placed the plastic cover back onto it after looking it over (not a smart move, I know). Gigabyte didn't replace it, but apparently repaired it.

Ristogod Jul 16, 2011 01:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler (Post 1336642736)
Nice pics gents. Finally got my gigabyte p67a-ud7-b3 mobo back. Apparently newegg refused the rma due to physical damage. Think I must have damaged the proc pins when I placed the plastic cover back onto it after looking it over (not a smart move, I know). Gigabyte didn't replace it, but apparently repaired it.

Yeah, not a big fan of how easy you can damage the pins myself. I used to think you just had to be careful, which I am, but I managed to do it on my last return. Fortunately Newegg didn't catch it. The board's original issue wasn't the pins any how. So it was nice that they didn't come back on me and claim otherwise.

Good to hear that you ended up again with a working board. Hopefully it stays working well for you.

Dungeoncrawler Jul 16, 2011 02:21 AM

Quote:

The board's original issue wasn't the pins any how.
Speaking of, my original problem was that I had issues with my rimm slots. Slot 1 & 2 would not take modules, resulting in a reboot loop. Slots 3 & 4 were okay. Also, usb 3.0 would not work as well. Those were the two issues that prompted a rma. Just as likely of a culprit was the difficulty I had with my case and this mobo with the corsair h70. Might have forced the waterblock a little too much and caused the proc-pin issue? Guess I'll grab another 2600k and swap-out my x58 mobo on my amd system.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com