Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

caveman-jim Jan 18, 2007 03:23 PM

I know!!! I'm getting a definate bug for moving away from air cooling. Your setup is inspiring; how quiet is it? Do you get a blast of heat reflected from the wall?

Greasy Jan 18, 2007 03:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1334761541)
I know!!! I'm getting a definate bug for moving away from air cooling. Your setup is inspiring; how quiet is it? Do you get a blast of heat reflected from the wall?

This Rad does a great job of removing heat. I've got two yate loons on it, so it's almost silent. The only problem I have now is the loud ass fortron PSU.

I've got my E6600 running at 3.5 @ 1.4vcore and it never goes above 44C load. Not bad for silent running IMO. Well it would be silent if not for the stupid PSU. Not sure what I want to do about that yet.

I have to admit though... Water cooling is a pain in the ass, because you always end up trying to make it better... :lol:

The Pig Jan 18, 2007 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by adbusmc198 (Post 1334761923)
[IMG]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Aaron/Local%20Settings/Temporary%20Internet%20Files/Content.IE5/7H447898/100_4830[1].JPG[/IMG]
[IMG]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Aaron/Desktop/100_4834.JPG[/IMG]
[IMG]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Aaron/Desktop/100_4831.JPG[/IMG]

Oh, the silly mistakes of newbies. :lol: I especially love the copied link from your temporary internet folder. ;)

Try a image hosting site such as www.imageshack.us or www.photobucket.com for hosting images.

No one but you would be able to see those pictures.

VW_Factor Jan 18, 2007 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pig (Post 1334761978)
Oh, the silly mistakes of newbies. :lol: I especially love the copied link from your temporary internet folder. ;)

Try a image hosting site such as www.imageshack.us or www.photobucket.com for hosting images.

No one but you would be able to see those pictures.

He needs a few more posts as well, before he is able to link pics.

Greasy Jan 18, 2007 08:32 PM

post up the links as text, and one of us will post them for you.

after review of course. :)

Ristogod Jan 18, 2007 08:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by adbusmc198 (Post 1334761923)
1st time builder. Took about 2 months because of wrong/faulty parts. But finally done!

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
Intel DG965WH
SAPPHIRE Radeon X1950XT
Kingston ValueRAM 2GB DDR2 800 KVR800D2N5K2
ENERMAX Liberty 500W Power Supply
Thermaltake SOPRANO Computer Case
[IMG]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Aaron/Local%20Settings/Temporary%20Internet%20Files/Content.IE5/7H447898/100_4830[1].JPG[/IMG]
[IMG]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Aaron/Desktop/100_4834.JPG[/IMG]
[IMG]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Aaron/Desktop/100_4831.JPG[/IMG]

The internet must be broken, I can't see into your computer. :D

adbusmc198 Jan 18, 2007 08:50 PM

fixed i think.....

1st time builder. Took about 2 months because of wrong/faulty parts. But finally done!
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
Intel DG965WH
SAPPHIRE Radeon X1950XT
Kingston ValueRAM 2GB DDR2 800 KVR800D2N5K2
ENERMAX Liberty 500W Power Supply
Thermaltake SOPRANO Computer Case





CPU with stock heatsink & fan runs at 38 degrees celcius
GPU with stock fans runs at 44 degrees celcius


Greasy Jan 18, 2007 09:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by adbusmc198 (Post 1334762010)
fixed i think.....

You're as cable aesthetically challenged as I am. :p

VW_Factor Jan 18, 2007 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Greasy (Post 1334762024)
You're as cable aesthetically challenged as I am. :p

Buy yourself an assorted bag of zip ties, some tape.. Sit down and take your time.

For some more extreme jobs get the wire strippers, soldering iron, and electrical tape. :D

adbusmc198 Jan 18, 2007 09:11 PM

WOW!! I was so excited to finish my 1st build that I never even noticed how sloppy it looked...hhmmm zip ties sound like a great idea!

Greasy Jan 18, 2007 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VW_Factor (Post 1334762029)
Buy yourself an assorted bag of zip ties, some tape.. Sit down and take your time.

For some more extreme jobs get the wire strippers, soldering iron, and electrical tape. :D

I did... You should have seen it before. :lol:

Greasy Jan 18, 2007 09:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by adbusmc198 (Post 1334762040)
WOW!! I was so excited to finish my 1st build that I never even noticed how sloppy it looked...hhmmm zip ties sound like a great idea!

Don't sweat it man, that' a great job for a first build.

caveman-jim Jan 18, 2007 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by adbusmc198 (Post 1334762040)
WOW!! I was so excited to finish my 1st build that I never even noticed how sloppy it looked...hhmmm zip ties sound like a great idea!

Nothing wrong with the job you did there, don't let the case snobs make you work harder than you want to. ;)

Greasy Jan 18, 2007 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1334762076)
Nothing wrong with the job you did there, don't let the case snobs make you work harder than you want to. ;)

So true... windows on cases are evil.. :lol:

The Pig Jan 18, 2007 11:13 PM

If you can, try and tie the wires behind the peripherals. I find it looks best that way, though each case is different. Modular power supplies help A LOT with cable management.

Deaderinred Jan 19, 2007 07:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by adbusmc198 (Post 1334762040)
WOW!! I was so excited to finish my 1st build that I never even noticed how sloppy it looked...hhmmm zip ties sound like a great idea!

heh, its more tidy in there then my first build, and is still more tidy then how my rig looks now :bleh:

IndianScout Jan 22, 2007 02:04 PM

my work computer..

Ultra Xfinity 600 DR
Asus P5B Deluxe
Intel C2D 6600
4g OCZ PC800
ATI X1900XTX 512
XFI-Gamer - not installed yet Audigy 4 is in
Logitech 518
Saitek Eclipse
Asus Case
LG 18x dvd burner
2 x 250g SATA WD
Logitech 3D Pro
Turtle Beach 5.1 Headphones
Westinghouse 22" LCD LCM-22W2









VW_Factor Jan 22, 2007 02:11 PM

Yanno, Ive been lookin around for a new computer desk, one with a bit more room on it, since we've moved into a house. Seems like 90 percent of the computer desks you find these days are corner desks. I dont want a corner desk.

Then, a lot of desks I see around, have some tiny little keyboard tray. I need to have my keyboard and mouse at the same level and I NEED mousing room to be able to play my games. A little 6x6 square on a tiny keyboard tray aint gonna cut it.

becco Jan 23, 2007 12:39 AM

Think I'm late to join :D

..... ordinary

poor camera phone! :(
hey, any advice to solve that poor cabling? thx

.... night mode


-n7- Jan 29, 2007 01:18 AM

My current setup.

Left = Dell 3007WFP
Center = Samsung 204T
Both those run off my main PC. (far left bottom)

Right = Samsung 204B
Left front = Optoma EZPro 739 projector
204B & projector run off my HTPC (left bottom)

Far right = HP dv1440ca notebook







I know the wires down below are a huge mess...i don't really look down there too much though, so it doesn't bother me :p

IllestOne Jan 31, 2007 01:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by -n7- (Post 1334778108)

Doesn't that projector kinda blind you when you are on your comp!? I'd pic somewhere diff to mount it, IMHO... :)

-n7- Feb 1, 2007 12:36 AM

I don't use the main PC when using the projector.

It displays on the only free wall i have, which is opposite the PC desk.

I just throw a comfy chair in front of the PC for when i fire up the projector to watch a movie or TV shows.

caveman-jim Feb 2, 2007 09:06 AM

and make hand shadows.

caveman-jim Feb 4, 2007 11:13 PM

Antec Sonata with ASRock 939DualSATA2/AM2 CPU...
 
Alright, here's the latest version of the caverig 'blackmambo' :lol: I cleaned out all the dust bunnies and added a few components (pcie raid card, new fan controller, moved hd, added zip drive, added 2 hd's)

PSU - BFG 650W PSU
External Bay 1 - Sunbeam 20-in-1 combo fan controller (thanks t_ski!)
External Bay 2 - 5 1/4 to 3 1/2 drive bay adaptor (double railed!) holding my system drive (320gb 7200.9 seagate on onboard sata2 port)
External Bay 3 - nec dvd-rw, zip drive, floppy drive.
Mobo - ASrock 939-DualSATA-II with AM2CPU expansion board. AM2 X2 4000+ @ stock with stock heatsink and different fan on it, running at 3000rpm.
Case - Antec Sonata, stock rear fan, front/drive bay fan is a Delta 120mm B.A.F. that at full voltage is 7000rpm/160+ CFM/75db so I'm running it at 2K rpm... audible but not intrusive in my opinion.
PCIe x16 slot - currently inhabited by an Adaptec 1430SA raid card, with 2 7200.10 Seagate 250Gb drives. Benchies later.
PCIe x1 slot I am planning on modding the PCIe 1x slot to be open ended to free up the x16 slot for an x1900.
AGP slot - X800XT AIW, stock.
PCI slot 1 - left free for air flow, with an air gap backplane.
PCI slot 2 - hauppauge winpvr 500 card.
PCI slot 3 - creative x-fi.
Internal Drive Bay 1 - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA-2, connected to Adaptec RAID
Internal Drive Bay 2 - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA-2, connected to Adaptec RAID
Internal Drive Bay 3 - empty
Internal Drive Bay 4 - empty

Cabling is not neurotic, but airflow is unobstructed. and hey, caves are messy!
Temps at idle are 27C [Core 0], 33C [core 1], load 39/44. Ambient mobo temp is 33C. GPU idles at 45, with ambient 45. All as reported by Everest ultimate. Fan controller thermal diodes are on NB heatsink and CPU heatsink; NB shows 30C while everest shows 33, CPU shows 37C while everest reports 39/42.

As you can see in the pics, the B.A.F. blows directly across the cpu expansion board - something that wouldn't happen for a 939 cpu. I think a better HSF would really help with cooling, so I could try a few OC's, but space is limited - width and height. Suggestions welcomed!







Blackhawk Feb 7, 2007 06:41 AM

i don't have a digital camera, but here's as best as i can reproduce it:



yeah, that's right, lol m$ paint "skills"

Crag2804 Feb 7, 2007 07:05 AM

Is that a sit-up bench you've got running under your table :)

-n7- Feb 7, 2007 12:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blackhawk (Post 1334793193)
i don't have a digital camera, but here's as best as i can reproduce it:



yeah, that's right, lol m$ paint "skills"

Nice MS Paint skillz, y0! :lol:

The Pig Feb 7, 2007 11:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blackhawk (Post 1334793193)
i don't have a digital camera, but here's as best as i can reproduce it:



yeah, that's right, lol m$ paint "skills"

Nice pink pillow. ;)

Ristogod Feb 7, 2007 11:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blackhawk (Post 1334793193)
i don't have a digital camera, but here's as best as i can reproduce it:



yeah, that's right, lol m$ paint "skills"

:lol:

I would have bought a camera rather than take to time to produce that pic in paint. Nice job though. Especially if you really did use paint.

cjl64 Feb 7, 2007 11:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ristogod (Post 1334794550)
:lol:

I would have bought a camera rather than take to time to produce that pic in paint. Nice job though. Especially if you really did use paint.

i agree, but as long as he had fun making it then its all good. Add's a little humor to this thread also. Honestly though for using paint that is a real quality drawing:up:

EDIT: i have that same 1337 printer/scanner :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com