Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

DaJMasta Dec 27, 2009 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Perky McGiggles (Post 1336119309)
:lol:

I'm guessing those were taken pre-boot. :bleh:


Either that or he can charge for tech support :)

clerick Dec 27, 2009 04:32 PM

:lol: I'm still waiting on ram actually. Too bad dc sent it via UPS and it's gonna take forever.

31/12/2009
Shipped To:
OTTAWA, ON, CA
Shipped/Billed On:
22/12/2009
Type:
Package
Service:
STANDARD
Special Instructions:
SIGNATURE REQUIRED
Weight:
1.00 Lb

ScottDoom Dec 27, 2009 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaJMasta (Post 1336119296)
4GB of ram eh? :bleh:

It's that new wireless memory. You know.

DaJMasta Dec 30, 2009 01:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScottDoom (Post 1336119435)
It's that new wireless memory. You know.


Super premium!

ragingWS6 Dec 31, 2009 06:57 AM

My latest build. Went from a Lian-Li PC-V1200B to a Corsair Obsidian 800d. Wanted to go back to watercooling. So, my wife was with me at the local Micro Center and she saw this new case from Corsair. It was VERY big, with a lot of room to hide wires and had holes to run water throughout the case. So, she said she would get it for me for Christmas. So, I started stocking up. I bought the following:

Danger Den TDX LGA775 waterblock
Danger Den 780i NorthBridge waterblock
Danger Den RAD-Reservoir
Danger Den Black Ice Xtreme II radiator
Danger Den DDC-12V pump
NVidia 780i SouthBridge fan (had to do that because of the size of my GTX260s)

This all went with my current rig below:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 4.05GHZ
8GB ADATA RAM
2x XFX GeForce GTX260 XXX cards @ 660/2400
XFX nForce 780i MB
Creative X-FI Xtremegamer Fatal1ty sound card
Coolermaster 850W PSU
2x WD Raptor 74GB drives in RAID 0
2x WD Caviar16 500GB drives in RAID 0

My goal was to have a silent gaming rig that can handle at least a 1GHZ CPU overclock and run just as cool, if not cooler than before. With my last case, with tons of fans and a smaller radiator, I was at the same overclock but my CPU at idle was 41C. Here is the finished product:





So far, the case is QUIET! I can barely hear it, really only when gaming since the GTX260s spin up a bit higher when gaming. And the temps so far are 34C at idle and 44C at full load.

Gandalfthewhite Dec 31, 2009 08:45 PM

now just get the 260s on water :P then you will really not hear it.

Dave Dec 31, 2009 09:12 PM

awesome case raging. although i noticed the 260's are bending a little

ragingWS6 Dec 31, 2009 10:40 PM

Yeah, I didn't have enough budget to get blocks for the 260s. That will happen around tax time.:D

Lupine Jan 6, 2010 02:27 PM



:bleh2:

acroig Jan 6, 2010 02:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupine (Post 1336128681)


:bleh2:

Eeeewwww!! :bleh:

Treeckcold57 Jan 6, 2010 02:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupine (Post 1336128681)


:bleh2:

WTF!!!?? Seriously, Get the air compressor and get to outside then clean it as hell! :runaway:

GravY Jan 6, 2010 04:09 PM

I used to know a guy whose computer would get close to that in a matter of months .. was totally disgusting..

javiermq Jan 6, 2010 04:34 PM

my rig:


Lupine Jan 6, 2010 04:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GravY (Post 1336128779)
I used to know a guy whose computer would get close to that in a matter of months .. was totally disgusting..

Yeah, I worked for a window covering company for a few years, back in the 90s, doing their tech support. I was amazed at how quickly the workstations out in the factory clogged up ... heck, even the office workstations were terrible after a few months. Crazy.

And no, that's not one of my computers - just cracked me up. :p

Dungeoncrawler Jan 7, 2010 03:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupine (Post 1336128681)


:bleh2:

No way that's for real. The flat surface of the hdd should be covered as well. I call shenanigans :D.

SSXeon Jan 7, 2010 01:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupine (Post 1336128681)


:bleh2:

:lol: :lol: :lol: THATS AWSOME. Any bigger i want a new desktop, 1080p please.

Qb2k5 Jan 7, 2010 08:16 PM

It has arrived!



Before I get into the meat of this post, lets take a look at my old case shall we..

Note the cable routing was a mess!



Lets start with the outside.





















More Pics in next post...

Qb2k5 Jan 7, 2010 08:17 PM

As you can see when opening the front panel (for ex accessing the dvd drive) the top lights light up.(pretty cool stuff.)

Sorry for the dark pics. I just wanted to show you what the led lights look like.








This case has 4-120mm fans. There is one behind the HDDs (blowing air across them), one in the front for the intake, one in the rear and the other one is on the sidepanel thats been taken off. AlienIce is just a 120mm fan that sits slightly above the gpu cards to keep them cool.

I tried my best to get the cable routing as clean as an Alienware pro. It took me 2 hours to try accomplish that feat. For the intake fan I replaced it from the Alienware fan to the Scythe Kaz 3000. Im planning to replace the out-take fan with my other Kaz 3000 fan later on.

-Notice in the front grill the AlienFX daughterboard (white pcb board) controls all front the lighting.



As you can see on the bottom that white pcb switch under the GTX285 is what powers the AlienIce fan and side case panel light.


(The pic above is not mine buts its in my case. You cant see it because its being blocked off by the bottom GTX285 board.) This pcb board is called the AlienFX light board. Its what controls all the lighting colors for all the LEDs in the case. There are two versions of the AlienFX: One is the standard board (which I have) and the other one is the active board. The differences is the standard board uses a 3-position dip switch to change the case's colors (up to 8), and the active board allows you to change colors with the click of a mouse.


With the active board the colors can change in different circumstances.

For example, if you get an email, if it goes to sleep, if your playing a certain game, etc, etc. Its all handled with AlienFX's software. I had AlienWare to install the standard board due to it being extremely expensive for the active version.



I had to modify (take off the fan holder and move it slightly to the right) the Alien Ice fan so that it wouldnt hit my cpu tower cooler. Thats why you see fastners as a temporary solution. Later on Im going to get the Corsair H50 to replace my HSF.


TRD Supra Jan 7, 2010 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupine (Post 1336128681)


:bleh2:

Looks like a sand storm hit it.:lol:

logical Jan 7, 2010 09:03 PM

Whatd u pay 3 grand? lol

GravY Jan 7, 2010 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler (Post 1336129265)
No way that's for real. The flat surface of the hdd should be covered as well. I call shenanigans :D.

no thats real.. it just sticks to different ****, its strange..

Dungeoncrawler Jan 8, 2010 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GravY (Post 1336130019)
no thats real.. it just sticks to different ****, its strange..

:hmm: :)

logical Jan 8, 2010 04:50 PM

Its cause there is no fan on the HD.

caveman-jim Jan 9, 2010 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by logical (Post 1336130808)
Its cause there is no fan on the HD.

Actually quite a good demonstration of where the airflow is in the case. Well, when it wasn't clogged up.

Lupine Jan 13, 2010 11:30 AM

Insanity won last night. What started as moving a phone turned into vidcard swapping, hdd rearranging, pulling the home server from the desk cubby and workstation from desk top, building a basic little platform to sit both systems on, and rearranging all the power. What a loon. :nuts:



Hopefully the neighbors will forgive me for playing w/ the chop saw & table saw in the shop after midnight. :eek:

edit: yes, though not quite as extreme as the other pic I posted, still have some dusting to do lol.

Soong Jan 14, 2010 12:29 AM


The full size pic is a lil blurry. It's a hand-held 1 second exposure. I couldn't find my tripod.

I'm getting close to achieving my vision. Just need to replace the monitor on the left and get some speaker stands so I can get them off the desk.

OverclockN' Jan 14, 2010 06:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soong (Post 1336135741)

The full size pic is a lil blurry. It's a hand-held 1 second exposure. I couldn't find my tripod.

I'm getting close to achieving my vision. Just need to replace the monitor on the left and get some speaker stands so I can get them off the desk.

Now that's quite the setup. Very, very nice. :drool:

Dungeoncrawler Jan 14, 2010 09:23 PM

I noticed some of the water-cooled units and was thinking of getting one since I'm in the middle of putting my new rig together. I was wondering if either of these are decent options? Thanks.



http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Produc...C=1160&ID=1615
http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Produc...C=1160&ID=1616

Soong Jan 14, 2010 11:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler (Post 1336136771)
I noticed some of the water-cooled units and was thinking of getting one since I'm in the middle of putting my new rig together. I was wondering if either of these are decent options? Thanks.



http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Produc...C=1160&ID=1615
http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Produc...C=1160&ID=1616

While I can't offer an opinion on the items linked, I would recommend you keep in mind the possibility of piecing together your own water cooling system. I built my first water cooling system from scratch and it wasn't difficult at all. Just pick the size tubing you'd like to use (3/8" or 1/2", maybe 1/4" if you won't be cooling multiple components and overclocking isn't a high priority) and make sure the parts you order all have the correct size fittings.

Dungeoncrawler Jan 15, 2010 03:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soong (Post 1336136853)
While I can't offer an opinion on the items linked, I would recommend you keep in mind the possibility of piecing together your own water cooling system. I built my first water cooling system from scratch and it wasn't difficult at all. Just pick the size tubing you'd like to use (3/8" or 1/2", maybe 1/4" if you won't be cooling multiple components and overclocking isn't a high priority) and make sure the parts you order all have the correct size fittings.

Thanks for the info; after some further consideration I guess I'll just go air for now. The reviews on those two links where not real good. Basically just a couple of degree's lower than air. Everyone is basically agreeing with your assessment and suggest piecing one together. Guess I'll take it up in the hardware forum on the appropriate level I can OC the cpu on air. Anyhoo...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com