Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Radeon Technical Support (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   X1650 agp card (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33962533)

tfrost2002 Apr 26, 2010 08:02 AM

X1650 agp card
 
I recently purchased a new (? said it was) x1650 card on ebay and now have some problems. The current problems include receiving this meassge (didn't happen before installation), " A debugger has been detected. Unload the debugger and try again" when trying to load an old game (Freelancer). I have read posts from a number of people who have had this problem before with any number of suggestions on how to address the problem none that I have foun have solved my problem. The driver install is 6.14...... and so I attempted to download newer(? I think) drivers but was informed by ATI that I was attempting an illegal download. Can someone please suggest a solution?

Please leave out all the usual unnecessary discussion as I don't want to have to read useless commentary.

Actual suggestions for help would be greatly appreciated. I want to solve the "debugger problem and dl any new drivers if they will help.

Thank you for your help and consideration. I really appreciate those of you who have all the helpful knowledge to assist those of us who lack that knowledge.

kn00tcn Apr 27, 2010 02:28 AM

if you have opened processmonitor or a similar app during your windows session, that would trigger apps that dont like 'debuggers' to send that message until you restart
also possible for some antivirus to trigger that too

freelancer must have some kind of anti cracker/anti trainer (cheat) protection

i'd say get omega 7.12 drivers for that card if you're sticking with games before TF2 or UT3 or ETQW (i have an x800 that runs on omega7.12)
http://www.omegadrivers.net (Radeon Omega Drivers 4.8.442)

this is in XP 32bit?

Qualitier Apr 27, 2010 01:04 PM

About the Freelancer/debugger problem I cannot help, but I think I can in the AMD download problem (I'm not aware that you can d/l any kind of paid stuff from www.amd.com so I frankly doubt you got a message about illegal downloads, although some kind or error is possible).

I'm now at the main www.amd.com page. Near the upper right corner I'm seeing the drivers download box. In the "Component Category" list I select "Graphics". In "Operating System", "Windows XP Pro / Home". In "Product Line", "Radeon". In "Product Model", "Radeon X1xxx Series".

(comment: there're several choices for AGP products but for higher series, concretely "HD 2xxx AGP", "HD 3xxx AGP" and "HD 4xxx AGP". This is because these need specific drivers, but drivers for the X1xxx and lower series are irrespective of if the card is PCIe or AGP)

I click "View Results".

I get a page that explains that some ancient series "have been moved to the legacy software support structure". This basically means that they'll get less frequent driver updates (very rough summary!! please refer to the proper AMD page). I'm seeing links to two possible downloads:

Catalyst Software Suite (revision number 10.2, release date 2/24/2010)
WDM Integrated Driver (revision number 10.2, release date 2/24/2010)

The first one is the driver.

Link clicked and d/l successful!

These are the most modern drivers available, but I don't know if they're the more adequate ones for your problem. Good luck!

tfrost2002 Apr 29, 2010 07:25 AM

taken care of
 
Thank you for your help. I solved the problem with the game by installing a no cd patch and ATI/AMD reaponded to the dl problem.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com