Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Operating Systems (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Installing Win11 now... (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34052840)

GSGRUNT Jun 29, 2021 06:30 AM

Installing Win11 now...
 
I don't care for Win10 GUI. Hoping Win11 will fix it. Videos make it look more like modern Linux, which I like.

[edit 1]
Install went well. All devices recognized. First and only game I tested(Control) runs great.

x-voodoo Jun 29, 2021 06:56 AM

Cool....I just found out my 6700k is not supported by Win11 :(

Seyiji Jun 29, 2021 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GSGRUNT (Post 1338293071)
I don't care for Win10 GUI. Hoping Win11 will fix it. Videos make it look more like modern Linux, which I like.

[edit 1]
Install went well. All devices recognized. First and only game I tested(Control) runs great.

:drool:

Post pix of things and stuff :D

GSGRUNT Jun 29, 2021 07:38 AM

WSL is much simpler!
Linux GUI apps run without third party 'xserver'.
WSL drives show up in Windows Explorer.

Haven't tried GPU acceleration in Linux apps yet.

[edit]
Some sound latency issues in Linux GUI apps

Munkus Jun 29, 2021 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seyiji (Post 1338293086)
:drool:

Post pix of things and stuff :D

.

Munkus Jun 29, 2021 10:16 AM

Downloading Win11 arm64 preview now. Gonna check it out in a VM on my Macbook. That way if anything goes tits-up I'll just redo the VM.

Hapatingjaky Jun 29, 2021 11:05 AM

You got a link for the public preview?

Munkus Jun 29, 2021 11:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hapatingjaky (Post 1338293173)
You got a link for the public preview?

No it showed up in Windows Update. I'm in the Insider Program so I can use the Arm64 version of Windows.

Hapatingjaky Jun 29, 2021 11:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338293174)
No it showed up in Windows Update. I'm in the Insider Program so I can use the Arm64 version of Windows.

I am member as well but I have no link even logging in to the developer site nets me nothing.

Munkus Jun 29, 2021 11:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hapatingjaky (Post 1338293176)
I am member as well but I have no link even logging in to the developer site nets me nothing.

Maybe it's just the ARM64 version? I dunno.

Obligatory screenies.






GSGRUNT Jun 29, 2021 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hapatingjaky (Post 1338293176)
I am member as well but I have no link even logging in to the developer site nets me nothing.

Up your "flight" to dev mode.
I was beta mode and it didn't show up. Switched to developer mode and it downloaded.

https://insider.windows.com/en-us/understand-flighting
[edit]
Also must have TPM2.0 and Secure Boot enabled.

Munkus Jun 29, 2021 11:23 AM

Installation went flawlessly and programs that were already installed, like MS Project 2019, work like a charm. Kinda impressed, actually.

GSGRUNT Jun 29, 2021 11:27 AM

A few hours in and I see no reason not to upgrade.

Lazy8s Jun 29, 2021 12:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338293177)
Maybe it's just the ARM64 version? I dunno.

Obligatory screenies.





I can't not see KDE lol.

You gents are tempting me, but I'm still going to wait it out a bit.

Munkus Jun 29, 2021 12:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lazy8s (Post 1338293189)
I can't not see KDE lol.

You gents are tempting me, but I'm still going to wait it out a bit.

Yeah it's definitely copying some Linux & MacOS look & feel. I can't say that I'm thrilled with the way many of the system setting pages look. It really does feel like a mobile UI. I'm sure it will continue to evolve as MS gets user feedback.

So far it's been pretty stable, though I did have Explorer crash on me and restart. Didn't lose any data, it just reloaded explorer.exe automatically. I wouldn't use this as my main and only OS right now. It's fun to play with though.

Nunz Jun 29, 2021 12:33 PM

I really like the center start menu. 38" Ultrawide means I have to make a lot of movement to get down to the corners.

Hapatingjaky Jun 29, 2021 01:32 PM

Installing on my notebook, do not expect good joojoo out of this since its an inplace upgrade :mad:

Would rather have a serparate ISO I could install to a USB drive and do a clean install.

acroig Jun 29, 2021 04:41 PM

https://www.pcgamer.com/windows-11-p...heck-app-gone/

Seyiji Jun 29, 2021 04:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by acroig (Post 1338293239)

RIP 2021 - 2021 !___!

Nagorak Jun 30, 2021 05:18 PM

Personally I'm not a fan of the Start Menu UI change at all. It's easy to whip your mouse to the corner, even if your motion is not precise it will slide along the edge of the screen and go right to the button. Center of screen doesn't benefit from that advantage.

With that being said, I am sure I can modify the UI back to my WinXP-esque preference.

Silent-Runner Jul 1, 2021 10:56 AM

for the desperate ones:



https://youtu.be/fk5B-a7vZ_w

Munkus Jul 1, 2021 12:30 PM

My Parallels VM that has Win 11 doesn't have TPM or secure boot, yet Win 11 installed without a hitch.

xCLAVEx Jul 1, 2021 01:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by x-voodoo (Post 1338293079)
Cool....I just found out my 6700k is not supported by Win11 :(

Wat.

Sasquach Jul 1, 2021 03:50 PM

Im'a skip out...
But maybe....cuz i heard they'll provide free upgrade to 11...

cuz you know....

Win 98 > Win Me > Win XP
Win XP > Win Vista > Win 7
Win7 > Win 8 > win 8.1
Win8.1 > 9 (yes i know it doesnt exist) > Win10
win10 > win11 > win12?

See the pattern? (except the 8.1 > 9 > 10. The cycle doesnt break going straight from 8 to 10...8.1 is still 8...although the good version of 8)

Hapatingjaky Jul 2, 2021 02:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xCLAVEx (Post 1338293617)
Wat.

NO TPM on 6th gen Intel.

Trunks0 Jul 2, 2021 05:31 PM

The TPM doesn't have to be built into the CPU. It was usually built into the mobo's before Intel and AMD started integrating it. Which just means buying the TPM module and plugging it into the mobo's header for it.

Example of Gigbytes
https://www.gigabyte.com/ca/Motherboard/TPM-Card

These used to be SUPER cheap. But now the prices have gone absolutely bonkers because of Win11's requirement announcement.

x-voodoo Jul 2, 2021 06:45 PM

I just tried entering tpm.msc in the "run" prompt and it specified I have 2.0!!!!!

Does that mean I'll be able to run Win11 with my 6700k when it is released???

Trunks0 Jul 2, 2021 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by x-voodoo (Post 1338293816)
I just tried entering tpm.msc in the "run" prompt and it specified I have 2.0!!!!!

Does that mean I'll be able to run Win11 with my 6700k when it is released???

It means you won't have an issue with the TPM check. So your probably good to go :up:

p.s. People are already starting to write guides on how to bypass the TPM bit. So no worries for those of us without a TPM module or a CPU without it integrated.

x-voodoo Jul 2, 2021 07:09 PM

That would be really cool if that's true. Other than it being older than the 8th gen CPU it literally meets ALL other requirements on their list!

Please note - I did not add any TPM module to my MSI motherboard...

pax Jul 2, 2021 10:54 PM

Checking update regularly but they are still blocking me on cpu alone. Its the only thing keeping me from trying it out...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com