Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   -Post pics of your computer- (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33744307)

Deaderinred Apr 20, 2008 06:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RadeonBBQ (Post 1335430867)


yes i can play crysis on full settings, don't bother asking.

whats with the white cutouts? what are you hiding from us? :mad:

nycdarkness Apr 24, 2008 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deaderinred (Post 1335431124)
whats with the white cutouts? what are you hiding from us? :mad:

Boxes of kleenex for the moments of shame.

caveman-jim Apr 25, 2008 12:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1335418292)
Caveman's Ubuntu Box - Antec Tower / AsRock 939-DualSATAII / s939 Athlon64 3500+ / 4x1Gb DDR 400 / Quadro FX1300 PCIe (shown with AGP Rage128 :drool:) / LG DVD-RW / Seagate 7200.10 PATA 250Gb / Seagate 7200.9 SATA 250Gb x2 RAID 0 / 430W PSU / Ubuntu 8.04 x64 Desktop w/VMware Server


Just wanted to bump this, because of the Mobo - this is actually Vengeance's old motherboard. We traded a couple of years ago, I swapped a DDR-400 2Gb kit for it. It's found a new meaning, today.

caveman-jim Apr 27, 2008 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupine (Post 1335419970)
I expect the proc itself will be much cooler, but the mem & mobo components are going to miss the GeminII. I'm looking forward to hearing if it impacts your overclockability!

second response to this - it got me 3304mhz @ 1.385vCore (vDroop puts me at 1.325 in CPUz) with load temps 4C lower than the GeminiII. Both idled the same temps; this things disipates heat under load far better.

becco Apr 28, 2008 10:21 AM




sittal Apr 28, 2008 03:26 PM












I call it the Dusty McPwner.

ultimadrift Apr 28, 2008 04:21 PM

Your speakers both hooked up to the PS3 and the computer?

dreamwalker Apr 29, 2008 09:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by becco (Post 1335439626)


Initially when I looked at that pic, I didn't notice the case door, so the case looked like a futuristic high-rise.. I thought damn, that's different ;)

sittal Apr 29, 2008 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ultimadrift (Post 1335439995)
Your speakers both hooked up to the PS3 and the computer?

yes

Guybo May 2, 2008 11:00 PM

My Pc at rest:



My PC at play:



My PC at work:


Nunz May 3, 2008 07:32 AM

Thats an interesting chair you have :lol: :lol:


And wow sittal, that is a SWEET set up. Very neat too! :up: :up: :up:

Kraven May 3, 2008 09:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1335446116)
Thats an interesting chair you have :lol: :lol:


And wow sittal, that is a SWEET set up. Very neat too! :up: :up: :up:

I was gonna say that, hes got an alienware pc but then a camping chair. Whatevers comfortable i guess :P


Sittal what wallpaper is that you are using?

Guybo May 3, 2008 09:42 AM

RadeonBBQ is that rig running a quad core and a 9800? Looks like a hot rig :lol:


Sittal and Beco- can you guys come to my place and teach me how to be so neat? LOL, Every PC I have ever had has looked like a rat's nest! Becco- the lighting looks good.

The chair is a canvas outdoors chair. I have tried computer chairs of various types but for racing I need a stable chair, so I tried one of these patio chairs once and it was great. $7 for the chair and it works better than $100 chairs I have tried before. Plus, if my kids climb on it and break it, I am only out $7.

We keep the PC right next to the TV so we can watch movies over the TV (I watch a lot of d/l racing stuff) and I can watch DVDs we rent over the PC's DVD player so I can take advantage of the PC's 5.1 sound. You can see the 2 fronts in the pic, but you cannot see the center channel behind the monitor or the rears tucked in around the couch in back.

sittal May 4, 2008 02:39 AM

The only reason it's so clean is because I just moved in, lol. :D

It already looks terrible.

Lupine May 4, 2008 03:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1335438929)
second response to this - it got me 3304mhz @ 1.385vCore (vDroop puts me at 1.325 in CPUz) with load temps 4C lower than the GeminiII. Both idled the same temps; this things disipates heat under load far better.

Excellent!

jimmyboy May 10, 2008 11:24 PM

These are the not-yet-assembled parts. Still need the CPU, some cables, and the case.


Mobo: Asus P5WDG2-WS
CPU: Intel E4500 (not yet acquired)
CPU cooler: Zerotherm BTF90 butterfly all-copper
VIDEO: HIS X1950 Pro IceQ3 512MB
RAM: Patriot PSD21G8002 2x1GB PC2-6400
RAM sinks: Scythe Kama Wing, all copper
HD: 3 Fuji 15k rpm SCSI, one 36GB (boot), two 74GB (RAID 0)
RAID card: Adaptec U320 dual-channel
PSU: Seasonic SS650-HT 650W high-efficiency

LS-120 floppy/optical drive
copper braided cables

EDIT: sorry for B/W photo. Don't know what happened there... :confused:

traitoR May 11, 2008 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimmyboy (Post 1335455846)
These are the not-yet-assembled parts. Still need the CPU, some cables, and the case.

Mobo: Asus P5WDG2-WS
CPU: Intel E4500 (not yet acquired)
CPU cooler: Zerotherm BTF90 butterfly all-copper
VIDEO: HIS X1950 Pro IceQ3 512MB
RAM: Patriot PSD21G8002 2x1GB PC2-6400
RAM sinks: Scythe Kama Wing, all copper
HD: 3 Fuji 15k rpm SCSI, one 36GB (boot), two 74GB (RAID 0)
RAID card: Adaptec U320 dual-channel
PSU: Seasonic SS650-HT 650W high-efficiency

LS-120 floppy/optical drive
copper braided cables

EDIT: sorry for B/W photo. Don't know what happened there... :confused:

You need a better CPU :p besides the E4600 goes for the same price as the E4500 now, you can`t spend 300-400 bucks on a mobo and get a 120 dollar processor, i suggest the Q6600, if that board supports it. :bleh:

Make sure you post pics of your build. :)

jimmyboy May 11, 2008 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by traitoR (Post 1335456505)
You need a better CPU :p besides the E4600 goes for the same price as the E4500 now, you can`t spend 300-400 bucks on a mobo and get a 120 dollar processor, i suggest the Q6600, if that board supports it. :bleh:

Make sure you post pics of your build. :)

I know. :(

My plan all along was to get at least a Q6600, but preferably an X3220 Xeon. But in the last few weeks my family has decided that my brother needs to come live with me. We had been planning for it but it needs to happen a lot sooner than expected. Therefore, I need to move into another, much more expensive place a lot sooner than planned, so the money needs to go there instead.

But my computer has been in pieces for so long and I just need to get it going. Thus, I'm going for a much cheaper substitute in an E4xxx proc. But I anticipate moving up to a Quad-core in the near future. :up:

I'll be posting some good pics soon. :)

EDIT: the reason I chose the E4500 over any other E4xxx is because it has the highest multiplier. My thinking is that it'll give me better chances for a higher, more stable OC, considering FSB and RAM speed. But basically I'm going to go with whatever I can afford right now.

traitoR May 11, 2008 03:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimmyboy (Post 1335456520)
I know. :(

My plan all along was to get at least a Q6600, but preferably an X3220 Xeon. But in the last few weeks my family has decided that my brother needs to come live with me. We had been planning for it but it needs to happen a lot sooner than expected. Therefore, I need to move into another, much more expensive place a lot sooner than planned, so the money needs to go there instead.

But my computer has been in pieces for so long and I just need to get it going. Thus, I'm going for a much cheaper substitute in an E4xxx proc. But I anticipate moving up to a Quad-core in the near future. :up:

I'll be posting some good pics soon. :)

EDIT: the reason I chose the E4500 over any other E4xxx is because it has the highest multiplier. My thinking is that it'll give me better chances for a higher, more stable OC, considering FSB and RAM speed. But basically I'm going to go with whatever I can afford right now.

Oh i see, it sucks when life gets in the way. :( Still you should be able to hit 3Ghz if the newer chips still o/c as well as my E4300 does. :)

I googled bronze case and came up with this..LOL it`s different. :lol:


jimmyboy May 11, 2008 04:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by traitoR (Post 1335456563)
Oh i see, it sucks when life gets in the way. :( Still you should be able to hit 3Ghz if the newer chips still o/c as well as my E4300 does. :)

Everything I've read on the 4500 indicates that it's a great OC-er. :up:
Quote:

I googled bronze case and came up with this..LOL it`s different. :lol:


I've seen that pic before. I actually considered doing that, and even got some copper pipes and some brazing/soldering stuff. But I abandoned that idea. My plan now is to take an existing case, use its frame and put copper skin around it. I'm considering using Lian Li's PC-A60C limited-edition copper case as a base, since it already has many very nicely done copper parts in it. I'd use the copper front bezels as the face plates for my DVD drives. But...that case is VERY expensive, so who knows. This part of the project is on indefinite hold (as it has been for two years now...)

Lian Li PC-A60C

traitoR May 11, 2008 04:21 PM

There`s this, not sure if this would turn out or look ok though.

http://www.eastwoodco.com/shopping/p...roductID=10346

Here`s some pictures of various colors.

http://www.eastwoodco.com/text/conte...altyColors.htm

jimmyboy May 11, 2008 04:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by traitoR (Post 1335456620)
There`s this, not sure if this would turn out or look ok though.

http://www.eastwoodco.com/shopping/p...roductID=10346

Here`s some pictures of various colors.

http://www.eastwoodco.com/text/conte...altyColors.htm

Thanks for the heads-up, but nothing replaces real copper. In my eyes only real copper looks like copper. My plan is to have it nicely polished, or maybe with a satin finish, then coated with some kind of clear lacquer so that it won't tarnish. :drool:

UmX27 May 14, 2008 03:07 PM

Here is a few pics of mine...more in my sig of the inside







Deaderinred May 14, 2008 04:38 PM

two posts? one for each sexay monitor? :drool:

moshpit May 14, 2008 08:05 PM





This is the badboy I got to build today at work. Dually Xeon 5410's, 4Gb of FBDIMMs, a pair of 250Gb SE's in a mirrored pair, and 4 500Gb SE.2's in RAID 5 along with 4 of our custom Salient Systems capture cards.

Qb2k5 May 14, 2008 08:53 PM

WOW, Wow, wow!

SSXeon May 14, 2008 11:33 PM

Very sick, tho i would have atleast 8GB. Anyways heres the last time they will be around each other.


UmXX May 15, 2008 08:24 AM

no i tried to delete 1 post but it wont let..

when i originaly posted it said it didnt go thru for some reason so i did it again. guess it doubled posted :(

so if a mod could delete be cool :)

moshpit May 15, 2008 10:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SSXeon (Post 1335460884)
Very sick, tho i would have atleast 8GB. Anyways heres the last time they will be around each other.

Nah, not for this server's job. 4Gb is actually overkill for this job, 2Gb would have more then sufficed since it uses Win2k3 server 32bit, but we wanted to ensure long term usability and future upgrade potential for the OS when we get Server 08 certified for our app. It's a video security camera monitoring server. The only thing it does is serve our application to guard post client machines and store the incoming video for later retrieval or deletion depending on if anything happened or not.

This is actually the second one I've built since I started up here 2 weeks ago. The first one was identical except for having dual 3ware controllers and a pair of RAID 5's + mirror set instead of this one's single RAID 5 + mirror set.

Our lowest end video server we build is based on a sweet Dell T3400 workstation and comes decked out.

SSXeon May 15, 2008 02:37 PM

O ic, makes sence then. Thought it was going into a cluster of servers, cool man must be a f*cken awsome job!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com