Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 13, 2007, 08:41 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
faster_please_
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 75
faster_please_ is still being judged by the masses


Default ATI CCC 2D/3D Gamma, Brightness and contrast

Hi All,

I'm getting a bit peaved that with Cat 7.1 and every other release ever, the CCC 2D/3D Gamma, Brightness and contrast settings get reset once a 3D app or video is started. I have asked ATI/AMD to fix it a couple of times through the CAT feedback program but that started 7 months ago and it still does not work.

What's the point of having it in CCC if it doesn't work I ask.

If you guys want it fixed too, please submit a ticket to ATI/AMD's Cat feedback program

otherwise we'll just be moaning about it in these forums forever.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
Intel Q6600 @ 3GHz,
ATI 5870 with 10.3 Open GL4.0 Preview Driver 29th/March/2010
4GB DDRII800MHz
Soundblaster X-FI Fatality Champion edition.
6TB RAID 5 Array on ICH9R
Samsung 46" Series 6 LCD TV 1080P
Dvico Fusion HDTV Plus DVB-T
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel.
Logitech G19 Keyboard.
Saitek X52 Joystick.
Microsoft XBox 360 controller
faster_please_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2007, 10:46 AM   #2
Hardwood
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,743
Hardwood is still being judged by the masses


Default

The easy fix for now is to use ATI TRAY Tools, create a colour profile(s) and enable them in your game/3Dapp profile(s). Or use hotkeys to adjust on the fly. Too easy, no need for CCC.
__________________
<---Computer #1 in System Specs Button

Computer #2) MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 Ram (R938G2130U1K), Antec 750w True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, 1TB WD Black, Win 10pro x64
Computer#3) GA-MA790FX, AMD 955, Thermaltake 550w, ASUS HD5870, Win10pro x86
Hardwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2007, 08:41 PM   #3
faster_please_
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 75
faster_please_ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yes that's true but I would still like official support for it working rather than being forced to use ATI tray tools.

I just believe that it's sad that we can't trust in ATI to create a working CCC

ATI Tray Tools is mint however.

Thanks for the suggestion, I've only been using ATT it for 3D graphics settings and overclocking.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
Intel Q6600 @ 3GHz,
ATI 5870 with 10.3 Open GL4.0 Preview Driver 29th/March/2010
4GB DDRII800MHz
Soundblaster X-FI Fatality Champion edition.
6TB RAID 5 Array on ICH9R
Samsung 46" Series 6 LCD TV 1080P
Dvico Fusion HDTV Plus DVB-T
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel.
Logitech G19 Keyboard.
Saitek X52 Joystick.
Microsoft XBox 360 controller
faster_please_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 16, 2007, 07:28 AM   #4
Hardwood
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,743
Hardwood is still being judged by the masses


Default

I understand your frustration. I quit using CCC because it couldn't control Vsnyc defaults separately between Opengl and DX, whereas the old Control Panel could.
__________________
<---Computer #1 in System Specs Button

Computer #2) MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 Ram (R938G2130U1K), Antec 750w True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, 1TB WD Black, Win 10pro x64
Computer#3) GA-MA790FX, AMD 955, Thermaltake 550w, ASUS HD5870, Win10pro x86
Hardwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 04:02 AM   #5
The_KELRaTH
42
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom Outside looking in
Posts: 2,913
The_KELRaTH is still being judged by the masses


Default

I gave up using ATI menu's sometime back now as even the older menu is just too out of date with lots of features missing.
You'd think CCC would be gods gift to frontend menus with the amount of development time taken.

Gamma etc issues aren't new to ATI, when I purchased a 9800Pro in Sept '02 I couldn't play lots of games because the screen was virtually black. I finally found a partial solution via Rage3DTweak but really it should not have been necessary and was a disgrace - and 4 years later it's still not properly fixed.

ATI tray Tools is tiny being just 2.53mb installed, has all the features like per game profiles, triple buffering - even a screenshot util. All features are quick to access (and menu responses are instant).

If it weren't for Rage3DTweak and ATI Tray Tools I would have dumped ATI graphics cards a long time ago - colour, gamma, contrast and brightness are the basics - AA, AF etc are the extra features.
The_KELRaTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:09 AM   #6
Chiles4
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 316
Chiles4 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I use ATI Tray Tools. It's awesome but sometimes getting the gamma controls to work with a game doesn't go too well. With most games, I hit a hot key and get my custom gamma, brightness, contrast. Or even just using a color profile works just fine.

With BIA, the screen actually gets darker. And with some games, there's like no reaction at all to my hitting the key. My experience is that it doesn't work on all games. But hell yeah, it's much better than CCC.
__________________
Intel E8500 @ 4.2Ghz
DFI P35 "Blood Iron"
BFGTech GTX 260 (192)
WD 640GB (two)
4x1GB SuperTalent DDR2-800 @4-4-4-10
PCPower Silencer 750
Asus and Samsung Opticals
Chiles4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 07:07 PM   #7
faster_please_
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 75
faster_please_ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for your comments guy's.

I recently installed Vista on my PC (dual boot with XP) and found that the colour correction controls actually work for videos and some games. Not the AVIVO section (the Avivo section does nothing at all for media player or any other video player), the plain old colour section. The only problem is that sometimes CCC completely loses my profile settings.

Here we go again. I shall log a new ticket for this one.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
Intel Q6600 @ 3GHz,
ATI 5870 with 10.3 Open GL4.0 Preview Driver 29th/March/2010
4GB DDRII800MHz
Soundblaster X-FI Fatality Champion edition.
6TB RAID 5 Array on ICH9R
Samsung 46" Series 6 LCD TV 1080P
Dvico Fusion HDTV Plus DVB-T
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel.
Logitech G19 Keyboard.
Saitek X52 Joystick.
Microsoft XBox 360 controller
faster_please_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamma, Contrast & Brightness in STALKER DRG. AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 4 Apr 30, 2008 12:54 PM
Fullscreen3d GAMMA, brightness, contrast! faitde AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 11 Nov 24, 2004 09:13 PM
Rage3d Brightness /gamma/contrast not working w/ 4.2 ? Super llama Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 11 Mar 29, 2004 09:12 AM
any brightness, gamma contrast software for free out there? bounty_hunter General Software 2 Mar 6, 2004 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink