Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge » Home Theaters and Photography
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Home Theaters and Photography Discussion forum for Home Theater enthusiasts and newbies. Also the place to discuss and post your photography ventures and queries.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 28, 2021, 04:39 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
JZL
Starship Trooper
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States The Vantasner Danger Meridian
Posts: 5,842
JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default Indoor AM antenna

Can I just use speaker wire to make a simple indoor AM antenna loop? It's just for baseball so the quality isn't super big deal. I don't seem to be able to tune any AM stations; the FM band, which has an antenna, is fine.

Denon AV 588 if that matters. It has inputs for each band.
__________________
When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.
JZL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 04:52 PM   #2
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 14,448
DaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

You can, but the required length for AM needs to be pretty long - as much as a hundred feet for full effectiveness, but you may be able to get away with like 10 feet or so, less is going to mean less sensitivity. There's even some value of using a longer wire and having the amount you can't extend fully in a coil at the base near the receiver (inductive loading).



That said, there are ways of getting around raw length by using more complex antenna designs, so there are compact commercial designs that aren't too expensive if the length of wire option isn't sufficient.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 7770k : 16GB EVGA DDR4 2400 : Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Windforce X2 : Gigabyte GA-H270-WIFI : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Samsung 1440p 32" Monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 10 Pro x64
Tablet: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 : Intel Core i5-6300U : 8GB DDR3 : Intel 520 Integrated : 256GB SSD : 12.3" 2736x1824 display : Windows 10 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600 : Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 06:41 PM   #3
JZL
Starship Trooper
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States The Vantasner Danger Meridian
Posts: 5,842
JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I think I should test with a smaller length.

This isn't gonna short anything is it?
__________________
When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.
JZL is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 28, 2021, 07:31 PM   #4
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 14,448
DaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Provided it's just an open ended wire only connected on one side to the receiver, should be fine. Just a long wire is a legit kind of antenna, and as long as you don't shove any power into it from something else (socket, powered device, lightning, etc.) you should be fine.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 7770k : 16GB EVGA DDR4 2400 : Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Windforce X2 : Gigabyte GA-H270-WIFI : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Samsung 1440p 32" Monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 10 Pro x64
Tablet: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 : Intel Core i5-6300U : 8GB DDR3 : Intel 520 Integrated : 256GB SSD : 12.3" 2736x1824 display : Windows 10 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600 : Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2021, 08:38 PM   #5
JZL
Starship Trooper
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States The Vantasner Danger Meridian
Posts: 5,842
JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I picked up an actual AM loop antenna but it didn't help. There's nothing, not even static, so I'm stumped.
__________________
When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.
JZL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2021, 08:49 PM   #6
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 14,448
DaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Hmmm, I wonder if there's something up with the AM input section? Are there any recommendations as to what to use in the manual for the receiver?




Maybe there's an auto noise removal setting that can be disabled? Even no antenna should at least produce static unless it's been auto-muted by hardware or something.




The AM receiver end is potentially a very simple device, though I'm sure there's some extra filtering and processing to clean it up in a modern receiver and maybe something's getting lost along the way. You could try running the receiver (or the antenna) outside on a nice day and see if it changes at all - would at least give you an idea if it was reception related.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 7770k : 16GB EVGA DDR4 2400 : Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Windforce X2 : Gigabyte GA-H270-WIFI : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Samsung 1440p 32" Monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 10 Pro x64
Tablet: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 : Intel Core i5-6300U : 8GB DDR3 : Intel 520 Integrated : 256GB SSD : 12.3" 2736x1824 display : Windows 10 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600 : Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good indoor antenna? Destroy Home Theaters and Photography 9 Nov 11, 2010 07:35 PM
Indoor Cycling - WOW! Poacan Off Topic Lounge 12 Aug 20, 2009 11:38 PM
Help me find a good indoor antenna Pr3tty F1y Home Theaters and Photography 10 Dec 5, 2007 09:47 AM
Big indoor tree/plant? monkeydust Off Topic Lounge 12 Dec 6, 2006 05:20 AM
Indoor antenna recommendation elguapo007 AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 1 Mar 10, 2004 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink