Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2002, 11:19 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
curio
𐐒ananaD
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Manches Pimp maestro de Manchesville
Posts: 49,191
curio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished roadcurio nears the end of the distinguished road


Thumbs up Electrical Interference/Performance Gains

Over the years I've accumulated a lot of hardware with power cords and other cables everywhere. I had most of my cords in one area with my old desk, mainly because there wasn't much room. I decided to get a new desk that has more room in the back for cables, and more space in general to spread my hardware around.

I've noticed a decent gain in performance since I did this. My cables and cords are much more spaced out and strung, and I think everything is flowing better now. Even my cable internet is faster.

Consider this when setting up your system. If you have a lot of cords and have them all in one area, try spreading the cords out and see if you don't notice a performance gain also. Keeping your power cables away from the device -> computer cords helps, and spacing your components away from each other helps also.
__________________
Love take me down to the streets - Wings
curio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2002, 05:31 AM   #2
Cartman
You killed Kenny! You bastard!
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pitea ,Sweden
Posts: 259
Cartman is still being judged by the masses


Default

hmmm....might just try that..
__________________

Abit Max3 ,[email protected] ,2*512mb Adata PC4000,Gainward 6800GT, Win XP pro

..................................................

Bleeh
Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2002, 10:53 AM   #3
cbsboyer
ATI EGA Wonder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada In the golden horseshoe
Posts: 7,678
cbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default Re: Electrical Interference/Performance Gains

Quote:
Originally posted by curiophile
Consider this when setting up your system. If you have a lot of cords and have them all in one area, try spreading the cords out and see if you don't notice a performance gain also. Keeping your power cables away from the device -> computer cords helps, and spacing your components away from each other helps also.
I've noticed that especially with dial-up modems (56k modems are really sensitive). I suppose one could try wrapping all your cords separately in aluminum foil and grounding that for more shielding, but most people who go to those lengths need it for their hats

Chris.
cbsboyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 16, 2002, 04:56 PM   #4
quanta!
Temporal AA Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 280
quanta! is still being judged by the masses


Default Cable interference?

If built to spec, power cords should be properly shielded and have no interference. I've heard of cheap power supplies, cables and speakers creating interference in dialup or DSL connections, but that's it.
__________________
C2D E8400 / Intel DG35EC / Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 (Cat 11.3) / 2GB DDR2-6400 / Win 7 Ultimate SP1
quanta! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2002, 10:34 PM   #5
cbsboyer
ATI EGA Wonder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada In the golden horseshoe
Posts: 7,678
cbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

A fan close to a modem is almost sure to cause problems as well. I had to play swap-tronics with mine until I could get it far enough away to work properly.

Chris.
cbsboyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac OS X 10.6 Brings Serious Performance Gains Android1 Front Page News 0 Aug 29, 2009 05:14 PM
Electrical Interference? whackjester General Hardware 19 Mar 6, 2004 11:47 AM
Question about new driver performance gains indio007 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 4 Mar 15, 2003 11:18 AM
CPU RAM OC PErformance Gains?? windmiller Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 4 Sep 22, 2002 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink