Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Off Topic Lounge Discuss anything you want here folks. A place for computer junkies to boldly post Off Topic... Rant and rave if it is necessary, but just try to keep it clean!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2003, 10:35 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,496
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default DSL: Which provider should I go thorugh?

I'm gonna be getting DSL here in a few weeks, but I'm torn between providers. Where I live (Dallas/Ft. Worth TX) I can choose between either SBC or Earthlink. I use SBC for my phone service and I use Earthlink for my dialup. Both providers seem to offer the same package for the same price, but I wanna know in you guys opinions which seems to be the better service. I really don't wanna find out through trial and error because that's a huge hassle. Thanks!

-Brian
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2003, 10:42 PM   #2
Rayder
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United States Ohio
Posts: 2,387
Rayder is still being judged by the masses


Default

I believe that with Earthlink, you still need to have SBC turn on the DSL frequency in the phone line. I use SBC DSL and it all comes on one bill, phone AND net. Earthlink might be a way to keep the bill seperate.

If you can get a cable modem, that would be even faster than DSL. Otherwise, just go with SBC. I think ONE bill makes more sense.
Rayder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2003, 10:50 PM   #3
scottweil4nd
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada Smithfield, VA
Posts: 3,432
scottweil4nd is still being judged by the masses


Default

DSLreports.com offer consumers such as yourself in the same local area, they will let u know if it is bad or good.
__________________
You gotta make your forums replies quick like this right:
lol lol roflol noob *** lol
scottweil4nd is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 4, 2003, 10:51 PM   #4
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,496
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

I can't get cable internet in my area (and it's like just my neighborhood, I wasn't even able to get DSL until recently). I've been leaning towards SBC for a while now simply because I do already go through them as a phone company. Thanks!

-Brian
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK: Which new Broadband provider? Bladedog Off Topic Lounge 13 Mar 20, 2007 10:42 AM
Gamestop/EB: Wii & PS3 reservations only thorugh $50 worth of trade-in's Vorpal Console Gaming 23 Sep 18, 2006 12:21 PM
UK 1MB Broadband Provider Q WiseJoeyD Off Topic Lounge 22 May 25, 2004 02:44 PM
Which DSL provider in London ? shombre Off Topic Lounge 5 May 10, 2004 12:58 PM
Is your cable provider doing this? gtrz AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 7 May 13, 2003 04:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink