Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 27, 2010, 12:07 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
uzen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
uzen is still being judged by the masses


Default 4870 crossfire will not link

Hi, i just recently bought a 2nd radeon 4870 hd 1gb diamond for crossfire. I installed the 2nd card and it says the first card is enabled but the 2nd says disabled adapter instead of linked.... i have tried different drivers e.i. 9.12 8. something. 10.5 10.7 and same thing. I have tried different bridges. i have tried reversing the cards and same thing. I know both cards work for sure so the problem isnt there. My mobo drivers are up to date. Same goes for my mobo bios. And crossfire is enabled in ccc.

My rig is amd phenom 9600, msi k9a2 cf mobo. 4 gigs 800mhz dd2. cp-850 antec psu(850 crossfire/sli supported). so it shouldnt be a power issue.

I have looked in device manager it shows the card just like ccc, and hwmontior. In the device manager it doesnt show the card having any errors so im not sure what to do. i have post on desktopreview.com. but that led me here.

The only thing i can think of being the problem which i dont know how to fix is 1 of the gpus bios diver date is 2009/02/11 and the other is 2008/10/16. not sure if that would be causing it to be disabled.

Please help thanks a lot any input.

Also the screen looks shaky. when both cards are in.

Last edited by uzen : Aug 28, 2010 at 03:34 PM.
uzen is offline  
Old Aug 30, 2010, 10:18 AM   #2
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States where I stand
Posts: 32,684
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Post cleared from moderator queue. Looks like you edited the post, and the spam filter saw fit to return it to the queue! Sorry about the hassle - it will cease to be an issue as you continue posting.
Lupine is offline  
Old Sep 1, 2010, 12:04 AM   #3
uzen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
uzen is still being judged by the masses


Default

well i got it to link in windows 7. 64. but its still not using the 2nd gpu..... in 3dmarks or starcraft 2 what do i do ?

crossfire is enabled. ai is on standard. and i am playing in full screen.
uzen is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 11, 2010, 01:34 AM   #4
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

what if you flipped the slots the cards are in, so the current 2nd card is a 'master'
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline  
Old Sep 11, 2010, 03:33 PM   #5
uzen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
uzen is still being judged by the masses


Default

yea i did that and about a 1000 different things neways i have sold 1 of the cards and im just going to use 1 card. till the 67xx series comes out, then sell the other.
uzen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any diference between Crossfire 4870+4850 and 4850+4870? ragewars_sc AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Feb 13, 2009 11:15 AM
ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Vs. ATI Radeon HD 4870 CrossFire Review JesterOnYer6 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 17 Sep 22, 2008 08:37 AM
Can't get 4870 X2 to work in crossfire lewis_johnstone Radeon Technical Support 3 Sep 16, 2008 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink