Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

View Poll Results: 512MB(PC2700) in Dual Channel vs 1GB in Single Channel(PC2700)
512MB Dual Channel 9 25.71%
1GB Single Channel 26 74.29%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 9, 2005, 06:11 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default Whats better,512MB Dual Channel or 1GB single channel?

I have the choice of using 512mb in dual channel (2x256MB PC2700) or 1GB in Single Channel(1x512mb 2x256mb PC2700).Which choice do you guys think is better? PLEASE DO NOT RESPOND SAYING BUY SOME NEW RAM OR BUY ANYTHING OR ANYTHING OF THAT MATTER. 512MB IN DUAL CHANNEL OR 1GB IN SINGLE CHANNEL ARE MY ONLY Choices. Thanks in advance.IM on a MSI Neo2-LS motherboard with an Intel Pentium 4 2.4(533fsb) processor.
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly

Last edited by Myth : Feb 9, 2005 at 10:30 PM.
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 06:17 PM   #2
Bartletts
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 636
Bartletts is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'd go with the 1 gig.
Bartletts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 06:27 PM   #3
-=ResurreCted=-
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 121
-=ResurreCted=- is still being judged by the masses


Default

What motherboard do you have? Some support dual channel with 3 DIMMs. My Abit NF7-S does.
__________________
ABIT KN8 Ultra, Athlon64 3500+, 2GB GSkill DDR400, Sapphire X1950XT, Antec P160, 600W ST60F
-=ResurreCted=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 9, 2005, 06:42 PM   #4
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default

MSI Neo2-LS (doesnt support 3 dimms,its 4)
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 06:44 PM   #5
tristancarton
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,195
tristancarton is still being judged by the masses


Default

no question about it. 1 gb single channel.
__________________
Primary: dfi ut250gb / a64 mobile 3400 62w clawhammer / 3x512mb pdp xbl tccd / WD 120Gb 7200 8Mb x2, RAID0 / 250Gb WD 7200 8Mb external / Sound Blaster 2 ZS Plat. / HDTV Wonder / 2xTheater 550 pro / Pioneer dvr105 / Pioneer dvd115 / Visiontek x800xt / Antec 550w Truepower / Logitech z680 / IBM p260 21" FD Trinitron x2 / Windows XP-MCE2005, Legal Version

Secondary: dell xps m170 / 2.0 Ghz pentium-m / 1024mb / 120Gb 5400rpm / 7800 gtx go / 1920x1200 trubrite
tristancarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 06:48 PM   #6
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well would you guys agree that 512MB Dual Channel is better than 768MB in Single Channel??
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 06:54 PM   #7
tristancarton
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,195
tristancarton is still being judged by the masses


Default

no. 768 is still better in my opinion. try playing doom3, hl2, and any other new game between the two choice. i can pretty much guarantee you that the 768 or 1 gig will win, especially since you are running an a64 where the onboard memory controller aides alot and the difference between single and dual channel is minimal. not in speed but in the difference it makes in games. it is about 3-6 percent. not a bad performance loss consider you will prob get rid of alot of hitching that you will certainly get with the 512.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myth
Well would you guys agree that 512MB Dual Channel is better than 768MB in Single Channel??
__________________
Primary: dfi ut250gb / a64 mobile 3400 62w clawhammer / 3x512mb pdp xbl tccd / WD 120Gb 7200 8Mb x2, RAID0 / 250Gb WD 7200 8Mb external / Sound Blaster 2 ZS Plat. / HDTV Wonder / 2xTheater 550 pro / Pioneer dvr105 / Pioneer dvd115 / Visiontek x800xt / Antec 550w Truepower / Logitech z680 / IBM p260 21" FD Trinitron x2 / Windows XP-MCE2005, Legal Version

Secondary: dell xps m170 / 2.0 Ghz pentium-m / 1024mb / 120Gb 5400rpm / 7800 gtx go / 1920x1200 trubrite
tristancarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 07:04 PM   #8
Liuke
Fuzzy Bunnies go BOIIING!
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hoppyland
Posts: 4,369
Liuke is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'd definitely go w/ 1GB single channel. All the bandwidth in the world won't matter for RAM if you don't got enough of it. A lot of those games eat plenty enough that I would rather have 1GB than 512MB. If you start swapping to your HDD because the 512MB isn't enough, it won't matter how fast it is anyways.
__________________
A64 X2 3800+ | Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe | 2 x 512 MB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 | 2 x BFG 6800 GT OC | BFG 550W PSU | WD Raptor 74GB | WD 160GB SE | Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW + 16X DVD-ROM | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 | Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers | Logitech G15 | G5 | MX1000 | Ideazon Zboard | 3DMark03 = 20963 | 3DMark05 = 9645

P4 2.8C | Asus P4P800 Deluxe | 2x256MB Kingston HyperX PC3500 and 2x512MB Corsair Value DDR400 | ATI X800 XL | Antec TrueBlue 480W | WD 40GB | Saitek Eclipse KB | Razer Diamondback Plasma LE

Athlon XP-M 2500+ | Abit NF7-S | 2 x 256MB Corsair Value PC3200 and 1 x 512MB Simpletech Nitro PC3500 | AIW 9600 Pro | Enermax Noisetaker 470W PSU | WD 100GB SE | WD 80GB | WD 40GB | Lite-On 40x12x48 CD-RW | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 1 | Logitech Cordless MX Duo + MX518
Liuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 07:10 PM   #9
Itchiee
Why Bother?
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Floriduh
Posts: 7,955
Itchiee is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hey I like Big Pun too, and you should use 1gig instead of 512mb.
The newer games fill up that 512 quickly........
__________________
AMD 8320 FX | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600Mhz | Samsung 840 500GB SSD | Sapphire 7950 | Sound Blaster Z | Asus PB278Q | Corsair AX850
Itchiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 08:44 PM   #10
grog
No longer on Rage3d
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 5,185
grog is still being judged by the masses


Default

CORSAIR XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 2GB(1GBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
Model# TWINX2048-3200PRO
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-503&depa=0
$559.00


Just kidding... But that is what I am getting for my new system..

If you are a gammer.... Go DUAL as 512MB of RAM should be fine. (Depending on the games you are running... Check the requirments and if users say more than 512MB for that game is required.).

If you are into video editing... Go for the single channel.
Really the issue is if you will be hitting the hard drive more due to lack of RAM.
The hard drive is much slower than RAM at any speed.
Still if you are running applications that once loaded run mostly out of RAM "most games" then the extra speed for RAM will help the game more than the extra amount of RAM you could have added.

In the plus side if you go for the single channel RAM and you just buy the single 512MB part you could add another 512MB part later to get to 1GB. That is if you don't already have the 256x2 parts.

Greg
__________________
No longer here
grog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 08:56 PM   #11
Elysian
SCAATSJW
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 50,684
Elysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshElysian kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grog
CORSAIR XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 2GB(1GBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
Model# TWINX2048-3200PRO
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-503&depa=0
$559.00


Just kidding... But that is what I am getting for my new system..

If you are a gammer.... Go DUAL as 512MB of RAM should be fine. (Depending on the games you are running... Check the requirments and if users say more than 512MB for that game is required.).

If you are into video editing... Go for the single channel.
Really the issue is if you will be hitting the hard drive more due to lack of RAM.
The hard drive is much slower than RAM at any speed.
Still if you are running applications that once loaded run mostly out of RAM "most games" then the extra speed for RAM will help the game more than the extra amount of RAM you could have added.

In the plus side if you go for the single channel RAM and you just buy the single 512MB part you could add another 512MB part later to get to 1GB. That is if you don't already have the 256x2 parts.

Greg
those are the exact reasons i chose 512 meg dual channel. upgrading to 1 gb when u can afford it later would be so much better.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
You guys are closet communists.
Elysian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 09:18 PM   #12
JT
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Location:Crestted Butte, CO
Posts: 128
JT is still being judged by the masses


Default

I would go with 1 gig. A friend of mine has an Athlon64 754 system and his system runs alot better with 1 gig. I know its a bad example, but his A64 (754) with 1 gig kills his nForce2 with 512 Dual Channel (his other system). They both have 1800Mhz CPUs (well sort of, the A64 is a 2800+ and the AthlonXP is a 2500+) but the A64s mem controler might be what is giving it the upper hand.
__________________
Athlon64 3500+ (939)
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
1024 (2x512) Corsair XMS DDR400
All in Wonder 9600XT
WD 160gig 8mb buffer 7200 S-ATA
Liteon DVD\CDRW
Enermax Mid-tower 420watt PSU
Windows XP pro SP2
JT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 10:13 PM   #13
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok i shouldve made this clear but im on a p4 2.4B (533fsb) and NOT an amd 64.lol sorry I shoudve made that clear in my first post. My motherboard isnt the msi one for amd 64's. My motherboard (Neo2 865PE LS) is for the intel line.
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=433
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly

Last edited by Myth : Feb 9, 2005 at 10:17 PM.
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 10:14 PM   #14
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grog
CORSAIR XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 2GB(1GBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
Model# TWINX2048-3200PRO
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-503&depa=0
$559.00


Just kidding... But that is what I am getting for my new system..

If you are a gammer.... Go DUAL as 512MB of RAM should be fine. (Depending on the games you are running... Check the requirments and if users say more than 512MB for that game is required.).

If you are into video editing... Go for the single channel.
Really the issue is if you will be hitting the hard drive more due to lack of RAM.
The hard drive is much slower than RAM at any speed.
Still if you are running applications that once loaded run mostly out of RAM "most games" then the extra speed for RAM will help the game more than the extra amount of RAM you could have added.

In the plus side if you go for the single channel RAM and you just buy the single 512MB part you could add another 512MB part later to get to 1GB. That is if you don't already have the 256x2 parts.

Greg
Wel yea I am a gamer,I mostly play games like Far Cry,Doom 3,HL2,CSS etc etc,so with that being said do you still think I should go with 512mb dual channel?(im on a p4 2.4B)
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly

Last edited by Myth : Feb 9, 2005 at 10:20 PM.
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 10:23 PM   #15
Liuke
Fuzzy Bunnies go BOIIING!
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hoppyland
Posts: 4,369
Liuke is still being judged by the masses


Default

I would still go w/ the 1GB. I have certainly seen tangible benefits to having 1GB of RAM for those games you mentioned as they can hit your memory hard. I'm also one of those types that doesn't like to strip my Windows intall to almost no running processes as I use my PC for everything. If you wanted to do that, you could probably get by w/ 512MB.

Like I said before, dual channel won't matter much if you your HDD is getting hit hard because you don't have enough memory. Any mem speed is better than that so I would go w/ more first.
__________________
A64 X2 3800+ | Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe | 2 x 512 MB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 | 2 x BFG 6800 GT OC | BFG 550W PSU | WD Raptor 74GB | WD 160GB SE | Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW + 16X DVD-ROM | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 | Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers | Logitech G15 | G5 | MX1000 | Ideazon Zboard | 3DMark03 = 20963 | 3DMark05 = 9645

P4 2.8C | Asus P4P800 Deluxe | 2x256MB Kingston HyperX PC3500 and 2x512MB Corsair Value DDR400 | ATI X800 XL | Antec TrueBlue 480W | WD 40GB | Saitek Eclipse KB | Razer Diamondback Plasma LE

Athlon XP-M 2500+ | Abit NF7-S | 2 x 256MB Corsair Value PC3200 and 1 x 512MB Simpletech Nitro PC3500 | AIW 9600 Pro | Enermax Noisetaker 470W PSU | WD 100GB SE | WD 80GB | WD 40GB | Lite-On 40x12x48 CD-RW | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 1 | Logitech Cordless MX Duo + MX518
Liuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 10:28 PM   #16
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liuke
I would still go w/ the 1GB. I have certainly seen tangible benefits to having 1GB of RAM for those games you mentioned as they can hit your memory hard. I'm also one of those types that doesn't like to strip my Windows intall to almost no running processes as I use my PC for everything. If you wanted to do that, you could probably get by w/ 512MB.

Like I said before, dual channel won't matter much if you your HDD is getting hit hard because you don't have enough memory. Any mem speed is better than that so I would go w/ more first.
Interesting,I see. Well do you think 512mb in dual Channel would be better than 768mb in single channel?(Just curious to know if 512mb dual channel would make a difference compared to 768mb single channel or if the same rule applies)
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 10:39 PM   #17
Liuke
Fuzzy Bunnies go BOIIING!
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hoppyland
Posts: 4,369
Liuke is still being judged by the masses


Default

I haven't personally tested a 768MB config, but I remember lots of people mentioning on here that games they were having trouble with at 512MB got a nice boost w/ 768MB.

What it really comes down to is whether the games you are playing will fit in 512MB vs. 768MB vs. 1GB. If the game can fit in all those configs, then the fastest memory configuration will yield best results. If the game can fit in 1GB but not 512MB, then I'd rather have the 1GB as paging to the HDD will make any RAM config look "fast" by comparison.

IMO, Far Cry, Doom 3, and HL2 got a nice boost for me when I upgraded from 512MB to 1GB simply because my HDD wasn't working its butt off anymore. I know running those games w/ full detail at 512MB can be done if you like to tweak and disable extra processes and services. Once again, I don't like to do this myself as I still want a functional, protected PC I can use for every task. It's something to consider, and I know there are quite a few good at doing that here.
__________________
A64 X2 3800+ | Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe | 2 x 512 MB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 | 2 x BFG 6800 GT OC | BFG 550W PSU | WD Raptor 74GB | WD 160GB SE | Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW + 16X DVD-ROM | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 | Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers | Logitech G15 | G5 | MX1000 | Ideazon Zboard | 3DMark03 = 20963 | 3DMark05 = 9645

P4 2.8C | Asus P4P800 Deluxe | 2x256MB Kingston HyperX PC3500 and 2x512MB Corsair Value DDR400 | ATI X800 XL | Antec TrueBlue 480W | WD 40GB | Saitek Eclipse KB | Razer Diamondback Plasma LE

Athlon XP-M 2500+ | Abit NF7-S | 2 x 256MB Corsair Value PC3200 and 1 x 512MB Simpletech Nitro PC3500 | AIW 9600 Pro | Enermax Noisetaker 470W PSU | WD 100GB SE | WD 80GB | WD 40GB | Lite-On 40x12x48 CD-RW | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 1 | Logitech Cordless MX Duo + MX518
Liuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 10:53 PM   #18
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liuke
I haven't personally tested a 768MB config, but I remember lots of people mentioning on here that games they were having trouble with at 512MB got a nice boost w/ 768MB.

What it really comes down to is whether the games you are playing will fit in 512MB vs. 768MB vs. 1GB. If the game can fit in all those configs, then the fastest memory configuration will yield best results. If the game can fit in 1GB but not 512MB, then I'd rather have the 1GB as paging to the HDD will make any RAM config look "fast" by comparison.

IMO, Far Cry, Doom 3, and HL2 got a nice boost for me when I upgraded from 512MB to 1GB simply because my HDD wasn't working its butt off anymore. I know running those games w/ full detail at 512MB can be done if you like to tweak and disable extra processes and services. Once again, I don't like to do this myself as I still want a functional, protected PC I can use for every task. It's something to consider, and I know there are quite a few good at doing that here.
Ok,that makes sense thanks. The real reason I asked that is because I think one of my sticks is going bad and I will have to remove it in the future and may be forced to go down to 768mb ram but alright,fair enough.
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 11:13 PM   #19
CHIPS
The Overmind
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: SILENT HILL
Posts: 11,061
CHIPS can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyCHIPS can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

1G single Channel hands down. No matter how fast your ram is, once it runs out, your computer will have to rely on virtual memory, which run slower than even sdram. So it is much better to get more ram than faster ram.
__________________
Athlon II X4 635 2.9Ghz / HIS HD6850 1G DDR5 / Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H / G.Skill Ripjaws 4X2Gb DDR3 1666mhz
Playstation 3 40G / Resistance 1 / Silent Hill: Homecoming / Dead Space

"Humans in general are very self-interested, while expecting all other humans around them to be selfless."
"Sometimes, it is not about whatever you can do something or not. It is about, if you cannot do it, who else can?"
"A difficult task might stop you from getting it done. But it cannot stop you from trying your best."
"Who you hang out with is who you will become" "Do not act on feelings, but act on facts"
"It does not matter how other people sees you. What matters is how you see yourself." "Some pains are sharp, but short. Some pains are dull, but long."
"I killed you ten times with my knife and you killed me 13 times with a gun so I pwned you!" -Crawdaddy79
"Gorgeous white girls everywhere with that "I'M SOOO HOT AND YOU CAN'T HAVE ME" bullsh** attitude" -gts007
"If you wasn't in my way, I wouldn't have shot you" -Kamille Bidan, Zeta Gundam
"It is easy to give up. Anyone can do it. But I choose the hard path." -Beyond
"If women can't compete with video games for our attention its their problem, not ours." -sumpwa
CHIPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2005, 12:02 AM   #20
C1awHamm3r
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,037
C1awHamm3r is still being judged by the masses


Default

More ram the better.
__________________

Case: Thermaltake Xaser III (Silver)
PSU: Thermaltake Pure Power 420Watts
Processor: AMD Athlon 64-bit 3700+ 1MB Cache Socket 754
Mobo: Gigabyte K8NS Pro nForce3 250 Chipset
Ram: Mushkin PC3200 2x512MB 2.5-4-4-7
Video Card: Radeon 9100
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Harddrives: 1x36.7GB Raptor, 1xWD1600BB
C1awHamm3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2005, 12:11 AM   #21
fireflyfiveX
A2K
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 843
fireflyfiveX is still being judged by the masses


Default

why not 512mb x 2???
how would u do 1gb single channel?
unless ur mobo dosen't like ur ram and can't do 512mbx2, so in this case i'll take 1gb single.
__________________
Gigabit pwns TX100... hands down :D
fireflyfiveX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2005, 12:14 AM   #22
Myth
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 1,001
Myth is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireflyfiveX
why not 512mb x 2???
how would u do 1gb single channel?
unless ur mobo dosen't like ur ram and can't do 512mbx2, so in this case i'll take 1gb single.


I have the choice of using 512mb in dual channel (2x256MB PC2700) or 1GB in Single Channel(1x512mb 2x256mb PC2700).
__________________
No One Can Do **** to me,Physically-Lyrically-Hypothetically-Realisticly
Myth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2005, 12:29 AM   #23
fireflyfiveX
A2K
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 843
fireflyfiveX is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myth
I have the choice of using 512mb in dual channel (2x256MB PC2700) or 1GB in Single Channel(1x512mb 2x256mb PC2700).
o i c, but in this case it might not work as 1 gig single channel, u might only be able to do 768 sinble channel, then in this case, i might as well do 2x256, OR get another 512 and do 768x2 (if ur mobo isn't picky).
__________________
Gigabit pwns TX100... hands down :D
fireflyfiveX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2005, 05:27 AM   #24
BadLoser
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 1,151
BadLoser is still being judged by the masses


Default

Definitely 1gb single-channel.

Dual channel is supposed to give about 10% more bandwidth.. but newer games really need more than 512mb ram, and the extra bandwidth won't take away that need.
__________________
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream VA3000SWA Silver w/OCZ Powerstream 520w
AMD A64 X2 3800+ w/Thermalright Xp-90 & Zalman 92mm fan @ 2,5ghz
DFI Lanparty Nf4 Ultra-D PCI-E Motherboard || 2048mb OCZ PC3200 Platinum EL Rev.2 @ 209mhz 2-2-2-5
Club3D X1800XT 512mb || Sapphire 128mb 9200se PCI
Samsung 19" Syncmaster 957mb & Noname 17" in Dual, + TV
Creative Audigy2 ZS w/Analog 5.1 || Sennheiser HD580 headphones
Razer Diamondback w/func surface 1030 || Keytronic KT2001 || ADSL 4200/704Kbps
Western Digital Raptor 74gb, 10000rpm || Western Digital Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 || Maxtor Diamondmax 250gb SATA, 16mb cache || Seagate 200gb SATA, 8mb cache || Western Digital Caviar 160gb IDE, 8mb cache. All 7200rpm || NEC 3500A DVD-Burner || Windows XP SP1
BadLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Channel Memory VS Dual Channel AX800XT General Hardware 2 Feb 16, 2005 01:51 PM
Dual channel 512gb, or Single channel 1024? Demonfire General Hardware 3 May 9, 2004 06:48 PM
how does the 865/875s perform when running in single channel vs dual channel? Cinema4DXL General Hardware 1 Feb 12, 2004 07:49 PM
Is dual channel at cas 2.5 faster than single channel at cas 2? crazy bones General Hardware 26 Jan 29, 2004 10:19 PM
8RDA+ Dual Channel performing like Single Channel espiga General Hardware 18 Sep 25, 2003 09:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink