Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2003, 11:42 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
h2h
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
h2h is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation 9500/9700 Power consumption Specs? (9500NP-> 9700 using W1zzard's driver)

Hi,

I just got myself a Connect3D 9500 NP 128 MB video card with 3.6 Hynix memory.
I have succesfully applied W1zzard's driver modification the the Latest Catalyst driver.

3D SE2001 confirms the expected increase in the Texture fill rate.

I installed this new board in a PC with a "standard" 350W PSU, AMD XP2000+, ASUS A7V333, 256 PC2100 RAM.

I got about 9800 3DMarks before using W1zzard's driver, and just above 12000 after doing the driver update. No other modification has been made to the board (using supplied Connect3D bios, and default clocks/memory).

Tested a few games (UT2k Demo, JK2, ...etc) without any apparent IQ problems (apart from sky texture looking weird, bleeding? on UT2K Demo, but that was true in 9500 and 9700 modes)

I only had a "spontaneous" reboot once in the 9700 mode (8 pipelines enabled), which made me suspect my PSU is weak.
Am I correct in thinking that when the extra piplines are enabled, more current is needed? (it would make sense?).

I was trying to find any specification on ATI's web site or anywhere else about the actual current/power required by the 9500/9700 cards, so I can estimate how many Amps are needed from the PSU.

I am assuming that the 12V supply is the main problem here, since that what is being used with these cards, right?

On my 350W generic PSU, it is specced to 14A on the 12V rail.
Since the CPU already probably consumes up to 8A of that, the hard drive maybe 2A, and all the reamainnig parts (MB, Fans, DVD dirve ...etc) maybe 1A, it doesn't leave much for the 9500 card?


I have only had once the spontaneous reboot, so it seems I am at the limit right now with my 12V/14A 350W supply (5V is specced to 35A, and the 3.3V to 24A)

Looking forward to any pointers on the Power requirements for the 9500/9700 series. maybe a detailled card data sheet? I can;t find one with the power requirement anywhere.

Thnx,

H2H.

PS: Great work W1zaard! Unwinder and all the others involved in "boosting" the 9500! Nice Job!
h2h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2003, 11:08 PM   #2
toshvan
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 76
toshvan is still being judged by the masses


Default

What was your previous card? This is important for me too, since my current card is Radeon 8500 128Mb with 235W PSU
toshvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2003, 11:48 PM   #3
h2h
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
h2h is still being judged by the masses


Default

My Previious card was an "elderly" 32MB TNT2 Ultra ;-)
I think the 9500/9700 series might be among the first cards to "consume" 12V current from the included power lead included I guess?

Power consumption depends what your current CPU is. I think Athlon's and P4 are the first procs to use the 12V supply. older Procs did not use the 12V supply I think.
I've got a Palamino(sp?) XP2000+ wich on its own draws close to 8A on that 12V.

Btw, I was mistaken about not having artifacts when modding my new 9500 with W1zzard (Or Uniwinder Soft9700) drivers.

I did my first tests without changing any of the default ATI control pannel setup (Direct3D TAB), and got zero defects, in the games and 3dbench.

IF I manually set any AA filtering, in either the Driect3D or OpenGL display property tab, I get evenly spaced vertcal lines of dots. It's not the checkered problem others are reporting, but it seems to be hardware related I fear.

I guess turning AA on, when the 8 pipelines are enabled shows up this particular defect. I wonder if everybody who didn't see any artifact tested with the various AA settings? as without AA (default driver install) I don't get any artifact as well.

h2h.
h2h is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 19, 2003, 12:52 AM   #4
toshvan
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 76
toshvan is still being judged by the masses


Default

From what I have red on these forums, problems seems to ease with AA, not like your case. Maybe you should completly uninstal drivers and than use rivatuner metod. BTW my CPU is Palamino XP1800+
toshvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2003, 06:13 AM   #5
oozz77
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 932
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have an old A7V mobo with a 1400T-bird and a 9700pro and 2 hard drives and 2 Rom drives all feeding off my average 300W power supply and have noticed that since upgrading from my Kyro2 that my power supply has taken a beating but is still holding up OK.

My +12V line was 12.159 but now stays at 12.342(higher when gaming)
My+5V line was 4.926 now stays at 4.892(drops when gaming)
My 3.3V line stays at around 3.488 always

I have crashed/frozen a few times when heavy gaming on a hot day so I feel that I may need to get a better power supply (at least 400W).
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2003, 11:16 PM   #6
zephyr.prime
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 29
zephyr.prime is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think the radeon would only eat power from the 5v and 3.3v rails. The 12v rail is too high. Processor only eats from the 3.3 rail also.
zephyr.prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2003, 03:02 AM   #7
toshvan
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 76
toshvan is still being judged by the masses


Question

zephyr.prime
What do you mean by "The 12v rail is too high"
Can you state what the ideal figures would be?
Motherboard monitor on my mobo says:
+3 =3.39
+5 =4.86
-5 =-4.92
+12 =12.52
-12 =-13.64

Maybe somebody know some intresting review or something with details on this...
toshvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9500 success hacks to 9700 specs Dred AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 0 Jan 6, 2003 05:12 PM
Power consumption on 9700 dala Radeon Technical Support 8 Dec 21, 2002 05:35 PM
R 9700 power consumption? laja Radeon Technical Support 3 Dec 16, 2002 02:59 PM
9700 pro power consumption ?? swayzak AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 7 Nov 26, 2002 03:42 AM
Power Consumption of ATI Radeon 9700 PRO fighterpilot Radeon Technical Support 4 Sep 8, 2002 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink