Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 22, 2007, 12:22 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ncriado
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Argentina Buenos Aires
Posts: 119
ncriado is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies The Assassin demo @1680x1050 ?

Hi, I recently bought a new widescreen lcd monitor and I wanted to run the Ruby demos using the native res (1680x1050).

So far I've had success changing the settings on sushi.ini with Double Cross (v1.4) and Dangerous Curves (v1.3). However The Assassin (v1.0) won't accept it. It runs but sets the resolution to 1280x1024 and I can clearly tell the ratio is not 16x10 since everything looks stretched.

resolution = 1680x1050
aspect = 16x10

I've only changed this and it works ok with the other two demos, does anyone know if I'm missing something or there's some other way to make it work ?

I tried searching for a newer version of The Assassin but couldn't find one. I have a Sapphire X1950XT 256mb GDDR3 PCI-E and Catalyst 6.1, Core 2 Duo E6400 and 2 GB of OCZ 667Mhz RAM, do you think it's possible I don't have enough video memory to run The Assassin at 1680x1050 ?

Any ideas, thoughts or comments would be highly appreciated.
Thanks.
ncriado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2007, 12:52 PM   #2
lmchv
Planet Express
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Peru Lima / Peru
Posts: 3,917
lmchv once held a door open for a complete strangerlmchv once held a door open for a complete strangerlmchv once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Have you captured any screenshot and checked its resolution?, I have the same card with a Viewsonic vx2025wm monitor and don't have any problems with this demo.



Here's my sushi.ini:

Code:
//============================================================================
// Sushi.ini - Engine initialization
//============================================================================
// $Header: //depot/3darg/Demos/R500/Ruby3/Rel/Sushi.ini#9 $
//============================================================================
demoName = "The Assassin"
demoVersion = "v1.0"
logo2 = T
resolution = 1680x1050
multisampleType = 4
backBufferColorDepth = 10
fullScreen = T
aspect = 16x10
vsync = T
numBackBuffers = 2
forceColorClear = F
music = T
soundfx = F
cycleAllModes = T
//launchMode = T
//avi = T
//aviFPS = 29.97
Check system specs for additional information of my rig.
__________________
BEHEMOTH (Desktop): Asus ROG Maximus Z690 Formula | Intel Core i9 12900K + Asus ROG Strix LC 240 | Kingston Fury 64GB DDR5-5200 | LG 27GN950-b [email protected] | PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 6900 XT 16GB | CoolerMaster Cosmos C700P + Asus ROG Thor 1200W Platinum | Sound Blaster X AE-5 + Edifier R1280DBs + Edifier T5 + Logitech G935 | HyperX Alloy Elite RGB CherryMX Red + Logitech G502 Lightspeed + Logitech Powerplay | Samsung 980 Pro NVMe SSD 2TB + Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe SSD 2TB | LG BD-RE | Windows 11 Pro

Charquito (Desktop): Asus ROG Maximus XI Formula | Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5.0Ghz + Asus ROG Ryuo 240 | Corsair Ballistic 32GB DDR4-3000 | Dell U2713HM 27" | Asus ROG Strix Geforce GTX1080| Cooler Master Cosmos 2 + Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W | Logitech MK850 Performance | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512GB | Sony BD-ROM | Windows 11 Pro

Bloodzone.net Moderator
lmchv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2007, 03:57 PM   #3
ThereIsASpoon
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,485
ThereIsASpoon is still being judged by the masses


Default

it's a bug.

changing the resolution in the ini won't work; it will just revert to 1280x1024.

the trick is to set fullscreen = F and then it'll work as intended... with one significant side effect. your card will run in 2d clocks. and this demo needs all the gfx power it can just to run at the default demo resolution let alone anything higher.

if you manually set your clocks or use ATT to run a profile it should probably be the solution you're looking for.

toyshop demo also exhibits this behavior.

would be nice if ati spent 5 mins fixing this...
__________________
Intel
Intel

Shills are the lowest form of scum.

"The most dangerous criminal may be the man gifted with reason, but with no morals."-- Martin Luther King, Jr.
ThereIsASpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 25, 2007, 08:29 PM   #4
ncriado
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Argentina Buenos Aires
Posts: 119
ncriado is still being judged by the masses


Default

Oh, I see, I thought as much because I took some screenshots with Fraps and they came out in 1280x1024 but all the colors were wrong, everything was bright yellow and green.

Thanks for the help
ncriado is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ninja Assassin JadeDragon Off Topic Lounge 14 Apr 10, 2010 12:02 AM
ninja assassin emacs Off Topic Lounge 7 Dec 22, 2008 09:27 PM
Crysis demo slower at 1680x1050 than 1600x1200 thilan29 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 7 Nov 20, 2007 04:25 PM
assassin creed GravY Console Gaming 11 Jun 12, 2007 10:03 AM
Assassin demo on less than X1K? showler AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Dec 31, 2005 11:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink