Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge » Home Theaters and Photography
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Home Theaters and Photography Discussion forum for Home Theater enthusiasts and newbies. Also the place to discuss and post your photography ventures and queries.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2009, 05:46 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
sunnyd
Where's my Starcraft 3?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Houston, Texas
Posts: 645
sunnyd is still being judged by the masses


Default Enabling 120HZ on Vizio 42' 1080p TV

I need some help on this matter from our local media gurus. I cannot figure out for the life of me how to enable the 120HZ option for my pc. My TV is certainly capable of it, but I cannot find any PC drivers whitsoever at Vizio's website - so my display resolution is stuck at the steriotypical 60HZ. I have tried to enable the 'show uncertified resolutions' box, or whatever it's called, but it is greyed out. I have googled it, but cannot find a strait answer. I have a pretty beefy gaming system with a HD4890, so pushing 120fps in my games is not an issue for me, especially just for movies. Has anyone run into this issue?

Last edited by sunnyd : Dec 9, 2009 at 05:48 PM.
sunnyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 05:52 PM   #2
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,696
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

powerstrip?

and a vizio even accepts a 120 signal?
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 05:57 PM   #3
sunnyd
Where's my Starcraft 3?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Houston, Texas
Posts: 645
sunnyd is still being judged by the masses


Default

Of course. My dad was nice enough to let me borrow his standalone BlU-ray player this weekend, which I plugged in directly through HDMI. It was AWESOME. I was amazed the difference it made (120hz). So, I want to enable it through the PC, if possible. I will check out powerstrip when I get home.

Last edited by sunnyd : Dec 9, 2009 at 06:00 PM.
sunnyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 9, 2009, 06:18 PM   #4
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 49,000
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

connected by HDMI or DVI? Link to model?
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 07:04 PM   #5
sunnyd
Where's my Starcraft 3?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Houston, Texas
Posts: 645
sunnyd is still being judged by the masses


Default

DVI (computer) to HDMI (TV) in. Linky http://www.vizio.com/sv420xvt1a.html#support. BTW powerstrip seems to no worky.
sunnyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 07:31 PM   #6
aviphysics
Atari 800 FTW
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States Livermore Ca
Posts: 8,137
aviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird sings


Default Wow!!! 42 foot display. Very nice. :D

Wow!!! 42 foot display. Very nice.

At any rate I think to be helpful I would have to know what model number it is.

My understanding is that most 120hz TVs only accept 60hz and interpolate between frames to get up to 120hz. Nearly all Blu-Ray movies are only 24 frames per second anyway.

I believe this is the problem you are running into.

I find it fascinating that so many people find 120hz so impressive when the original content is at 1/5th the frame rate. Not to many people go to the theater and complain to that the frame rate is to low.
__________________
THG is to computer hardware what MTV is to music.

Last edited by aviphysics : Dec 9, 2009 at 07:44 PM.
aviphysics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 07:35 PM   #7
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 21,023
Trunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Might want to look into whether it supports a 120hz input. Most HDTV's are not actually capable of accepting a 120Hz input. The 120Hz is used internally for compatibility between 24fps blu-rays and 30-60hz HDTV & NTSC formats.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Asus TUF Gaming X570-Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x - Noctua NH-D15S chromax.Black - 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z NEO - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - XFX MERC 308 Radeon RX 6600XT - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 10:43 PM   #8
Dr. Zhivago
Sound: Serious Business
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Oregon
Posts: 8,259
Dr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
Might want to look into whether it supports a 120hz input. Most HDTV's are not actually capable of accepting a 120Hz input. The 120Hz is used internally for compatibility between 24fps blu-rays and 30-60hz HDTV & NTSC formats.
This.
Dr. Zhivago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 06:28 AM   #9
sunnyd
Where's my Starcraft 3?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Houston, Texas
Posts: 645
sunnyd is still being judged by the masses


Default

I see. It looks like you're right. Bummer Oh well.
sunnyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony BRAVIA 32" 1080p 120Hz - $599 Sound_Card Home Theaters and Photography 18 Dec 10, 2009 06:47 PM
XCM announce XCM 1080p Mega-cool vga box - up to 1080p for all consoles! klutzon Console Gaming 0 Jun 10, 2008 05:55 PM
42" Toshiba REGZA 42LX177, 120Hz, 1080P Woot! Drunken Janitor Home Theaters and Photography 1 Oct 4, 2007 10:16 PM
1080p TV's are out, but not 1080p DVD players nofool Home Theaters and Photography 9 Nov 24, 2005 05:02 PM
If you set your monitor to say 120hz, does this mean all d3d games run at 120hz? oozle Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 3 Jan 24, 2001 10:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink