Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2002, 07:16 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
BennKennobi
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 15
BennKennobi is still being judged by the masses


Default New Drivers - New Everquest Thread

Anyone had luck getting the text to view right with the 8500 yet ???
BennKennobi is offline  
Old Feb 3, 2002, 08:48 AM   #2
Charles1979
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 21
Charles1979 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New Drivers - New Everquest Thread

Quote:
Originally posted by BennKennobi
Anyone had luck getting the text to view right with the 8500 yet ???
Have you turned off anti-aliasing?
__________________
Pentium 4, 1.4ghz, D850GB, 256mg RDRAM, Sound Blaster Live 5.1, ATI Radeon 8500 OEM 250/250mhz 64 DDR (6025 driver), Windows XP Home Edition OEM (5.1, Build 2600), Direct X 8.1
Charles1979 is offline  
Old Feb 3, 2002, 08:51 AM   #3
Charles1979
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 21
Charles1979 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Errr, not anti-aliasing, but anisotropic filtering?
__________________
Pentium 4, 1.4ghz, D850GB, 256mg RDRAM, Sound Blaster Live 5.1, ATI Radeon 8500 OEM 250/250mhz 64 DDR (6025 driver), Windows XP Home Edition OEM (5.1, Build 2600), Direct X 8.1
Charles1979 is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 3, 2002, 03:20 PM   #4
StinkyPete
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1
StinkyPete is still being judged by the masses


Question wtf?

ok after deciding to go with the Radeon 8500 (instead of getting a GeForce3 Ti200) to upgrade from my GeForce2 GTS i noticed something after i had my card all squared away. in EQ i noticed that the textures for armor around certain areas of the character models were all pixellated and busted looking. before they were super sharp and clear. i'm using the 3286 drivers under Win2k (performance wise i haven't noticed anything bad yet). i've tried tinkering with my Direct3D settings and still have yet to figure out whats causing this. i even took some screens to show a before and after comparison.

copy & paste if the links don't work:
http://www.geocities.com/foreignimbus/eq1.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/foreignimbus/eq2.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/foreignimbus/eq3.jpg

anyone else having this problem? i can't stand the way the textures look now.

i've also noticed that the face paint on barbarians is all pixellated now too.

Last edited by StinkyPete : Feb 3, 2002 at 04:17 PM.
StinkyPete is offline  
Old Feb 3, 2002, 07:08 PM   #5
Beak
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States BuRp!!! Dey Dont make CheeKins likE day uSed TA!!
Posts: 2,239
Beak is still being judged by the masses


Default

This happend after Sol. I dont know what else to say.
Oh and your 8500 looks better than mine did a few weeks ago.
Beak is offline  
Old Feb 4, 2002, 12:31 AM   #6
Delirin
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 58
Delirin is still being judged by the masses


Angry bah

I have a Radeon 8500 with an AMD 1.33 Ghz and 512 megs of DDR, and a VIA chipset mainboard. Everquest will not run for me with ANY drivers, I've even tried going back to the oldschool client (ie no lucilin) and it wont play at all. I've tinkered with every option available. When I log in, it starts with the charicter selection screen... The screen will freeze for about 25 seconds every 5 seconds of active gameplay. This is obviously un-playable and VERY frustraiting. Does anyone know of a fix? Is anyone having a similar problem? Or did I get an exceptionally bad card!? At times, my system has rebooted when I've logged out. I would love any advice anyone could give me
Delirin is offline  
Old Feb 4, 2002, 08:29 PM   #7
frangus
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 56
frangus is still being judged by the masses


Default Stuttering with 6025

I'm currently running 3286 2k drivers with Everquest + all expansions. Everything is finally running normally....I decided to try the new betas in hopes of getting better performance. I did the usualy Control Panel uninstall, registry cleaner, reboot, reinstall new drivers.

What I have noticed is EQ stutters when there is lots of action. In the older drivers (3286) when there is a lot of action, framerate drops but no stuttering. Has anyone had this type of symptom?
__________________
Ma Rig:
P4 3.2C on Abit IS7 w/ Gigabit
2x 512 Mushkin PC3500 Black Level 2 - CAS 2-2-3-6 stock voltage
Adaptec 29160 w/ Pioneer SCSI DVD
1x WD Raptor, 1x WD 120 8mb cache
ATI Retail 9700 Pro @ stock speeds w/ Cat 3.8
Audigy Gamer /w Klipsch Promedia 2.1
frangus is offline  
Old Feb 6, 2002, 02:52 PM   #8
Zervun
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 33
Zervun is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have all kinds of stuttering etc.

I attribute some to the high poly bug in areas with trees and stuff, I attribute the rest to the crap umbra engine. I've got it to run semi ok with 6018, winXP. This I'm going to format and try the 3286's again the stuttering is driving me nuts. If I crank all the settings down with medium textures I can still do max clip plane with some of the models off(Pulled PoG fine with my bard but looks semi sub par). Our cards should be flying in EQ though very frustrating. My Geforce MX was as fast without the stuttering. Also our 500+ thread on the EQ tech forums was deleted and also 3 nice sincere posts that I put asking why they deleted it have been deleted. Total crock o'****. Skellies also cause my fps to drop way below 10.

I'm on
KT7
1.2 AMD Athlon
radeon 8500 retail 295/285
Zervun is offline  
Old Feb 6, 2002, 07:37 PM   #9
Delirin
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 58
Delirin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thats hilarious that they deleted our posts on the boards. In part though, I understand it. How can you advertise that a video card works, with all of that evidence in the boards showing that that is very clearly not true most of the time, sheesh, what did we expect? For them to fix the problem? No, I think they really have to get everything prepaired for their new $40 a month server, and any bad press would deffinatley hurt that. BTW, to those that don't know, if your interested in paying $40 a month, Verant will give you all of the features you were actually promised for $10 when you bought the game!

Sorry, needed to vent somewhere. Come on Shadowbane!

-Delirin "Still trying to get EQ to run well" Everwind
Delirin is offline  
Old Feb 6, 2002, 11:37 PM   #10
Beak
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States BuRp!!! Dey Dont make CheeKins likE day uSed TA!!
Posts: 2,239
Beak is still being judged by the masses


Default

Shadowbane has new info goodies posted tonight, an w/ the new Pr guy
i assume well get much more stuff before release.

Try right ckicking you eq icon and fiddle with the compatibilty i think 98se/me is what you want for eq to work under winXp.

I dont have a eq install now but last time i look under 98se i was flying most the time w/ the freeze every now and then and thats with a gig of ram. the skelly, tree, hill thing stopped when i built this pc.

Last edited by Beak : Feb 6, 2002 at 11:43 PM.
Beak is offline  
Old Mar 3, 2002, 08:04 AM   #11
BennKennobi
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 15
BennKennobi is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok Now we have another NEW set of drivers.... second release since this thread began... any luck with everquest or will my 8500 sit on the counter still????
BennKennobi is offline  
Old Mar 4, 2002, 10:08 PM   #12
Zervun
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 33
Zervun is still being judged by the masses


Default

will be testing the 6043's with EQ later tonight, I'm crossing my fingers
Zervun is offline  
Old Mar 4, 2002, 10:59 PM   #13
Itchiee
Why Bother?
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Floriduh
Posts: 7,955
Itchiee is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up Pretty funny stuff....

Gateway made a PC called "Everquestian"...
Which are optimized for Evercrack...

Maximum PC.....

"Hoping to bloster it's business, PC maker Gateway has begun marketing some of it's PCs directly to people who play the popular online game Everquest. The Everquestian PCs include 2.2Ghz Pentium 4 CPUs, Radeon 8500 graphics, 120GB hard drives, and 1024MB of PC800 RDRAM. The PCs also come bundled with 3 months of access to Everquest. While the specs may sound like overkill, Sony's popular online game recently drew flak for needing as much as 512MB of RAM when all it's features are enabled. "
__________________
AMD 8320 FX | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600Mhz | Samsung 840 500GB SSD | Sapphire 7950 | Sound Blaster Z | Asus PB278Q | Corsair AX850
Itchiee is offline  
Old Mar 5, 2002, 07:47 PM   #14
BennKennobi
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 15
BennKennobi is still being judged by the masses


Default

Since the latest patch on EQ ...

Disabling Hierarchical Z using power strip fixes the text problem.

Now I get big blue blocks for buildings and all is very dark.

Any ideas ???
BennKennobi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Everquest Thread Zervun Radeon Technical Support 7 Apr 10, 2002 02:23 PM
Everquest and 6011 drivers... Maliki2 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 0 Jan 5, 2002 08:52 PM
DRIVERS & EVERQUEST lavaman Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 10 Apr 21, 2001 04:39 PM
Everquest and Radeon Drivers DON3k AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Feb 23, 2001 12:37 PM
Everquest and Radeon Drivers DON3k Radeon Technical Support 0 Feb 20, 2001 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink