Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2009, 12:44 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
lordofthething
Secret Agent Man
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: India Bombay, India
Posts: 657
lordofthething is still being judged by the masses


Default CCC Contrast and Brightness query

I finally took the plunge and shifted to Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit OS (was using Windows XP Pro).

I currently have Catalyst 9.11 drivers installed. When I was in XP, I used to set the contrast to low from CCC and it would only apply it to my desktop viewing purposes. As soon as I would switch to Video playback or Games, it would reset the contrast to default 100 value. That is something which I want right now as well.

My current situation is that it applies the lowered contrast setting to all the application and just the desktop. Is there any way we can change this? My monitor's contrast is already on full (which I need) and usually control my contrast settings through CCC. For gaming and movie viewing I require the high contrast, but for browsing etc. lowered contrast. I know it sounds a bit confusing, but can someone please tell me how I can get the desired effect?
__________________
"None of you understand. I'm not locked up in here with you. You're locked up in here with me."

Rorschach - Watchmen
lordofthething is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 06:40 PM   #2
Qualitier
UltraRacer PC forever
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spain Madrid
Posts: 1,911
Qualitier is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'd use color profiles triggered by hotkeys. It's what I'm using in XP, and likely in Vista when I start installing games there. I already know that these profiles are effective for the desktop in Vista.

My graphical deal isn't with contrast, it's with brightness and gamma in different situations (although the mechanics is the same with contrast). I like a dim desktop (with low brightness and gamma) but sometimes I need to see a dark photo, and the games require brighter settings too. Besides, this monitor has a blue excess that I must compensate (setting lower brightness and gamma values for blue than for red and green).

So, I'd set a profile with the default color settings, activated with Ctrl-Shift-0 for instance, and one with the lowered contrast, Ctrl-Shift-1 maybe.

I'd also suggest, just for the possibly better results, changing the brightness and gamma instead of the contrast. I'm using brightness -35 and gamma 0.6 for browsing, processing text etc.
__________________

Windows XP 32 pro + Windows Vista 32 Ultimate, CCC + ATi Tray Tools
Club3D HD4890 Superclocked Edition (950/1050·4) with Accelero S1 rev2 + Turbo Module (2 80mm low-profile fans w/o frame)
LCD Samsung SyncMaster T260 (26", 1920x1200)
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P (socket AM3, chipset AMD-790FX)
Phenom II X4 955-BE @ stock
4x2GB Geil DDR3-1333 7-7-7-24-33 1.5V @ 1333MHz 7-7-7-24-33-1T 1.6V; dual channel enabled; unganged mode
Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 with gameport, AverMedia AVerTV Hybrid Super007
2x WD 640GB Caviar Blue (SATA) in RAID 0, DVD reader (IDE), 2 DVD recorders (SATA+IDE), floppy drive, card reader
Corsair VX-550W, one +12V x 41A rail, 81-85% efficiency



Windows XP 32 pro, no CCC, ATi Tray Tools
Sapphire X1950pro 512MB AGP (580/702·2 MHz) with Accelero X2
CRT Nokia 446Xpro (19", 107 kHz) @ 1600x1200x75Hz (desktop) or 1280x1024x85Hz (games)
Asrock AM2NF3-VSTA (nForce3 250); [email protected] MHz (motherboard limitation, 3216MB/s up + 3216MB/s down)
Athlon64 X2 5000+ Brisbane (@13*201=2613MHz)
2x2GB Buffalo 2.1V + 2x1GB Kingston 2.0V, both DDR2-800 [email protected] 2*373MHz (2613/7) 4-4-4-12-2T 2.0V; dual channel enabled
56k modem, drives etc
Corsair VX-450W, one +12V x 33A rail, 81-85% efficiency
190W maximum consumption from the wall (monitor apart)
Qualitier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 10:03 PM   #3
lordofthething
Secret Agent Man
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: India Bombay, India
Posts: 657
lordofthething is still being judged by the masses


Default

Excellent. Thanks for the idea Qualitier. I set individual profiles for each of them and assigned them individual short cut keys as well.
__________________
"None of you understand. I'm not locked up in here with you. You're locked up in here with me."

Rorschach - Watchmen

Last edited by lordofthething : Dec 12, 2009 at 10:09 PM.
lordofthething is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
contrast/brightness issues with new TFT lewis_johnstone General Hardware 1 Oct 17, 2008 04:21 PM
Try this contrast/brightness setting Sound_Card AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 7 May 21, 2008 03:00 PM
ATI CCC 2D/3D Gamma, Brightness and contrast faster_please_ AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 6 Feb 19, 2007 07:07 PM
LCD contrast/brightness question Defrag General Hardware 5 Aug 26, 2006 07:22 AM
AIW TV Brightness/contrast? grahamsims AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 4 Jan 26, 2001 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink