Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 12, 2003, 05:00 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
IntegraTypeR
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 123
IntegraTypeR is still being judged by the masses


Question Dual video cards?

This 12 year old keeps telling me his dual p4 2.2 cpu with dual Geforce4 ti4600 computer will "own" my comp.

I asked him what motherboard he was using and he has yet to mention the make/model of it.

But what my question is it possible to have dual video cards on running in 1 box at once? Maybe there are some setups like that. But what about running two GF4's?

thx ITR
__________________
Athlon64 3500+ | Asus A8V-Deluxe | Corsair 1GB PC3200 DDR | Maxtor 80GB | Sony 16x DVD ROM | LiteOn 16x16 DVD±RW | ATI Radeon X800XT Platinum (Sapphire) | Antec TX1088AMG Metallic Gray 20" ATX case w/ True480 watt ps | NEC 19" FE991sb Moniter | JVC 650watt sound system w/ 2 10" subs

AthlonXP 2600+ | Asus A7N8X | Kingston 1GB PC2700 DDR| Maxtor 80GB| Sony 16x DVD ROM | Sony 52x24x52 CDRW | ATi All-in-Wonder Radeon 9700 Pro | Nu 19" L921G LCD Moniter

WinXP SP2 / DX 9.0c / Catalyst 5.5
IntegraTypeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2003, 05:04 PM   #2
magicknight0233
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 6,523
magicknight0233 is still being judged by the masses


Default

The kid's a moron and full of crap.
1. Yes, you can have two video cards at once. However, due to the limitations of AGP (i.e. there being only one AGP slot), you can only have one AGP card and one PCI card. Don't know about dual PCI cards, though.
2. GeForce4 Ti4600s only come in AGP. They don't make PCI versions simply because the PCI bus is too slow for the Ti cards.

So if the kid's got dual GeForce4s, at best he can have on Ti4600 and the other would have to be a GeForce4MX (or worse).
Not to mention the fact that you can only use one card at a time in games so I don't know what the hell the kid thinks is so great.
Oh and if he mentions that he's got two AGP slots (which isn't possible), I suggest you staple his mouth shut since he would be the dumbest liar I've ever seen.
magicknight0233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2003, 05:12 PM   #3
kreamedkorn4
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago (Lake Zurich) IL
Posts: 110
kreamedkorn4 is still being judged by the masses


Default

me might be meaning to say he has dual MONITORS running on the 4600....
__________________
xp2500+ @ 10.5 x 200
asus A7N8X DELUXE MB 1002 UBER Rev. 104
2 x 256 meg corsair 3200 xms LL
9500 pro BBA @ 351/324 stock cooling w/ AS3
kreamedkorn4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 12, 2003, 05:19 PM   #4
IntegraTypeR
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 123
IntegraTypeR is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magicknight0233
The kid's a moron and full of crap.
1. Yes, you can have two video cards at once. However, due to the limitations of AGP (i.e. there being only one AGP slot), you can only have one AGP card and one PCI card. Don't know about dual PCI cards, though.
2. GeForce4 Ti4600s only come in AGP. They don't make PCI versions simply because the PCI bus is too slow for the Ti cards.

So if the kid's got dual GeForce4s, at best he can have on Ti4600 and the other would have to be a GeForce4MX (or worse).
Not to mention the fact that you can only use one card at a time in games so I don't know what the hell the kid thinks is so great.
Oh and if he mentions that he's got two AGP slots (which isn't possible), I suggest you staple his mouth shut since he would be the dumbest liar I've ever seen.
Ya thanks for clearing this up for me. I was thinking if a mainboard had dual agp slots wouldn't I have heard something on these boards or comp sites.

Quote:
Originally posted by kreamedkorn4
me might be meaning to say he has dual MONITORS running on the 4600....
Nope he told me dual cpu's and video cards. He asked him oh you have Xenon proccesors? He's like "whats xexon?".
__________________
Athlon64 3500+ | Asus A8V-Deluxe | Corsair 1GB PC3200 DDR | Maxtor 80GB | Sony 16x DVD ROM | LiteOn 16x16 DVD±RW | ATI Radeon X800XT Platinum (Sapphire) | Antec TX1088AMG Metallic Gray 20" ATX case w/ True480 watt ps | NEC 19" FE991sb Moniter | JVC 650watt sound system w/ 2 10" subs

AthlonXP 2600+ | Asus A7N8X | Kingston 1GB PC2700 DDR| Maxtor 80GB| Sony 16x DVD ROM | Sony 52x24x52 CDRW | ATi All-in-Wonder Radeon 9700 Pro | Nu 19" L921G LCD Moniter

WinXP SP2 / DX 9.0c / Catalyst 5.5
IntegraTypeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2003, 05:27 PM   #5
Troy M
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Troy M is still being judged by the masses


Default

Oh how I wish for the days of SLI to return.
Troy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2003, 11:11 PM   #6
Steppy
Smart and Sexy
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 1,722
Steppy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Troy M
Oh how I wish for the days of SLI to return.
You may get your wish when Pci-express cards come out.
Steppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Everquest 2, Dual Video Cards, Dual Monitors, Second Monitor 3D Render Problem zopheus PC Gaming 4 Jul 12, 2006 03:44 PM
Dual video cards, second video card very slow nextbillgates Radeon Technical Support 1 Jul 11, 2006 09:26 PM
Dual video cards in NF4 board? blackphoenix Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 6 May 16, 2005 04:50 PM
dual ATI video cards ghettorigger AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Sep 16, 2003 04:27 PM
Problems with dual video cards- please help! sir_rob AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 2 Jan 29, 2003 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink