Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 3, 2006, 03:49 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Spoonifico
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Spoonifico is still being judged by the masses


Default AGP X850 XT - Textures have been replaces with a matte colour

I'll start by telling you all my specs then I'll go onto detail the problem at hand, and all methods i've tried to rectify the situation.

I have this card here:

PowerColor X850 XT PE
Memory & Bus Width - 256 MB GDDR3 / 256 bit
Core Speed - 540 mhz
Memory Speed - 590 mhz X2
Output - DVI / CRT / VIVO / HDTV
Interface - AGP 4X/8X
Pixel Pipelines - 16
DirectX Support - 9.0
TV Connector S-Video

Other specs:

ASRock K7VT6 Mobo
Athlon XP 3200+ (2.2ghz)
1.5 gig Dual Channel PC3200 DDR SDRAM (1gb and 512mb)
Creative Sound Blaster Live 24 bit
190 gb HD
Encer 500W PSU

________________
Problem!

In windows, and every non-3d application. Everything is fine.

In any 3d application / game, my textures, dont exist. Anything that should have an applied texture appears as a matte colour.

Unfortunately I cant paste the links here to show you what they look like, but after 5 posts I'll give you examples.

________________
Possible Reason (most likely)

Previous to this problem I was experimenting with overclocking.
As seen by the spec above, my clocks are:

540, 590

I had overclocked plenty of times since purchasing this card around January / Feburary. I'd gone as high as:

560, 610

As you can see this is only a 20 point increase in both. Nothing too major? I got a bit better fps in games, it was satisfactory. But I got a bit annoyed at some of my games (namely Oblivion and Far Cry) running at low fps (about 30-40) so i thought I'd just bump up my clocks a bit more to see how much difference it made. I tried:

580, 610

I left it under strain in ATI Tray Tools, and monitored temperature and artifacts. It was running fine. Very few artifacts, maximum temperature was 70 degrees Celcius, never exceeded.

After about 5-10 minutes of watching, the pc locked up, then went to a black screen. I thought "oh well, maybe it was a bit too high for its liking"...and proceeded to restart. I lowered the clocks and it ran fine again. I started a game...i got my problem.

__________________
Things I've tried

- Reverting back to Catalyst 6.5
- Removing all gfx card tuning programs
- Reverting all settings back to default
- Slightly underclocking the card
- Removing, checking and reinstalling the card (de-dustified as well)
- Checking drivers are correct and functioning
- Updated my graphics card BIOS

I plan to

- Try out my old Nvidia card, to see if its definately card related (although im 90% sure it is)
- Completely remove drivers and reinstall, instead of replace
- Anything else suggested

____________________

So, as I've overclocked, the warranty appears to be void. I would appreciate any suggestions at all.

Thanks in advance!!

Last edited by Spoonifico : Jul 7, 2006 at 06:20 AM.
Spoonifico is offline  
Old Jul 5, 2006, 06:09 AM   #2
Spoonifico
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Spoonifico is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is my card officially screwed? At least someone tell me that if it's the case.
Spoonifico is offline  
Old Jul 6, 2006, 10:58 AM   #3
Anth Seebel
...
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 2,151
Anth Seebel is still being judged by the masses


Default

go through your "plan to" list , if no-go then RMA.

gl.
__________________
Nehalem W3520 4825mhz / 5216mhz maxvalid, kayl 1/3 hp SS
P6T Deluxe V2 (0006), 6GB KHX12800D3LLK3/6GX
2x GTX 295's QUAD SLI 633/1380/1152mhz
3007WFP-HC
Anth Seebel is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 6, 2006, 11:01 AM   #4
DRDNA
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 148
DRDNA is still being judged by the masses


Default

I would re-install direct X 9c
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58/ [email protected]
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600.
ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 WATT PSU
2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5
Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
320GBx4 Perpendicular RAID-0/BLU-RAY/HD-DVD Reader / DVD±R/±RW Writer
WestingHouse 37 inch @1920X1080//VISTA BUSINESS 64
DRDNA is offline  
Old Jul 7, 2006, 06:22 AM   #5
Spoonifico
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Spoonifico is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just tried flashing my gfx card bios, didnt appear to do anything new. I'm going to try Directx 9.0c again and completely re-wipe drivers.
Spoonifico is offline  
Old Jul 7, 2006, 06:15 PM   #6
Spoonifico
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Spoonifico is still being judged by the masses


Default

SUCCESS!!

After trying everything i could think of. It liked me wiping the drivers and re-installing them. Strange, but, I'm not complaining. Plus since I updated bios and cleaned the rest of my comp, its running more like an X850 XT should!

Another happy ending folks, everyone say "awwwww" ^_^
Spoonifico is offline  
Old Jul 11, 2006, 08:02 PM   #7
phial
no things
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 16,110
phial is still being judged by the masses


Default

I knew it was a driver issue. But congrats .. 'awwwww'
phial is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
matte black is getting popular for cars these days. nrs421 Motoring 13 Apr 7, 2009 12:40 PM
Matte LCD screen don't scratch easily right? ice General Hardware 3 Jan 31, 2009 12:01 PM
Best Buy Replaces Backordered $99 Toshiba HD-A2s with HD-A3s Android1 Front Page News 4 Nov 3, 2007 03:52 PM
Sony replaces shocking modem Joey3k Off Topic Lounge 8 Jul 12, 2003 07:37 AM
Does 32-bit colour matter or do we just need 32-bit textures? Night Fisher AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Feb 3, 2002 03:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink