Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2006, 11:08 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Vanchatron
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 328
Vanchatron is still being judged by the masses


Default What Else Can I Use My 2nd HDD For Other Than Storage?

I've just installed a 2nd Hard Drive on my PC and was just wondering if there's anything I should know, such as ways to get more usage out of it other than storing things on (indexing etc?).

I've heard people saying that when you install a 2nd Hard Drive you can do a few things with it that will benefit your PC and was just wondering what these are, thanks.


HK
Vanchatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2006, 11:25 PM   #2
armagedon
Sapphire X1950Pro 512MB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada Montreal, Canada
Posts: 634
armagedon is still being judged by the masses


Default

That's a strange question. Hard drives are made for "storing things"!

The only things i can think of is for OS backup (like Ghost images). You can also move your swap file to it for a small improvement (assuming that your second HD is not a slave IDE)
__________________
If you're a computer geek and it ain't broke, fix it !!!

ASUS A8N-E
AMD Opteron 180 DC @ 2.6Mhz
2GB OCZ LL
Evga 8800GT 512MB
Audigy 2
2x80GB Maxtor Raid0 + 250 GB Seagate.10
2x LG DVD-DL

Last edited by armagedon : Nov 2, 2006 at 01:09 AM.
armagedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2006, 11:47 PM   #3
Raged_Fanatic
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1,762
Raged_Fanatic is still being judged by the masses


Default

Making a Ghost image is the best thing you could ever do. Every time my PC starts acting weird I just reimage it with the Ghost image I made of a brand new unflawed OS install.
Raged_Fanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 2, 2006, 12:08 AM   #4
infowar
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: #IRCult
Posts: 3,338
infowar is still being judged by the masses


Default

you can use your second drive as swap space and make memory intensive tasks much faster.

go to system properties/advanced/performance/advanced and set virtual memory to be on your second drive in a fixxed ammount 1.5x your ram.
infowar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 01:39 AM   #5
brian911
Call me trimtab.
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Planet of the Apes
Posts: 3,003
brian911 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by infowar View Post
you can use your second drive as swap space and make memory intensive tasks much faster.

go to system properties/advanced/performance/advanced and set virtual memory to be on your second drive in a fixxed ammount 1.5x your ram.
Are you sure?? I heard this is no longer a problem with NTFS drives.
__________________
You will die alone.
brian911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 02:46 AM   #6
candle_86
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,948
candle_86 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian911 View Post
Are you sure?? I heard this is no longer a problem with NTFS drives.

unless you have 2gb of ram it helps. I have 1gb of physical ram and 1.5gb of virtual swap space.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tunered
thats the advice from MajorGeeks to your post there

we use some of the same sites isnt that weird

Last edited by candle_86 : Nov 2, 2006 at 02:51 AM.
candle_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 03:05 AM   #7
stefanpi
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 620
stefanpi is still being judged by the masses


Default

If you think tinkering with the computer is fun then try raid.
__________________

stefanpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 03:36 AM   #8
Soong
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,952
Soong is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by infowar View Post
go to system properties/advanced/performance/advanced and set virtual memory to be on your second drive in a fixxed ammount 1.5x your ram.
Setting your virtual memory size by multiplying your total amount of ram by some random number is nonsense.
Soong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 04:34 PM   #9
armagedon
Sapphire X1950Pro 512MB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada Montreal, Canada
Posts: 634
armagedon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooung View Post
Setting your virtual memory size by multiplying your total amount of ram by some random number is nonsense.
It's not a random number. If you looks at what Windows recommend as your VM size in the advanced setup panel, it use that exact ratio.

As a matter of fact, it's better to have XP manage it by itself. You can however choose another swap drive. As if it is faster, that's debatable because if you create a small OS partition at the beginning of the disc with the swap file included the hard disk heads have a very short travel time to get to it. So it may be faster then having the OS pick it up from another drive controller. Don't know !
__________________
If you're a computer geek and it ain't broke, fix it !!!

ASUS A8N-E
AMD Opteron 180 DC @ 2.6Mhz
2GB OCZ LL
Evga 8800GT 512MB
Audigy 2
2x80GB Maxtor Raid0 + 250 GB Seagate.10
2x LG DVD-DL
armagedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 04:56 PM   #10
Soong
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,952
Soong is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by armagedon View Post
It's not a random number. If you looks at what Windows recommend as your VM size in the advanced setup panel, it use that exact ratio.

As a matter of fact, it's better to have XP manage it by itself. You can however choose another swap drive. As if it is faster, that's debatable because if you create a small OS partition at the beginning of the disc with the swap file included the hard disk heads have a very short travel time to get to it. So it may be faster then having the OS pick it up from another drive controller. Don't know !
So if I have a machine with 4GB of physical memory, then I need 6GB of virtual memory? No. If I have a machine running XP with 128MB of physical memory, I only need 192MB of virtual memory… I think not.


Soong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 05:41 PM   #11
armagedon
Sapphire X1950Pro 512MB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada Montreal, Canada
Posts: 634
armagedon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooung View Post
So if I have a machine with 4GB of physical memory, then I need 6GB of virtual memory? No. If I have a machine running XP with 128MB of physical memory, I only need 192MB of virtual memory… I think not.
Well i don't know about such extremes. On all my machines, that's what Windows suggest and actually use, 1.5. So it's not what you need but what Windows will calculate and use. VM is used to swap your memory contents in/out of the disk, make sense that it won't reserve much more space then the actual size of it. That'll be interesting if people can confirm that figure, we'll have an idea.

Are we diverting from the thread ?

Update: Here's what the help bubble says about "recommend" size:
"Display the recommend size for virtual-memory paging files, which Windows identifies as the size that ensures the best performance. It is equivalent to 1.5 times the amount of RAM available on your system. However, the size of the file also depends on the amount of free space available on your HD when the paging is created."
__________________
If you're a computer geek and it ain't broke, fix it !!!

ASUS A8N-E
AMD Opteron 180 DC @ 2.6Mhz
2GB OCZ LL
Evga 8800GT 512MB
Audigy 2
2x80GB Maxtor Raid0 + 250 GB Seagate.10
2x LG DVD-DL

Last edited by armagedon : Nov 2, 2006 at 06:03 PM.
armagedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 07:53 PM   #12
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,876
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Multibooting. Having each OS to it's own drive certainly helps with managing them, not to mention is better performance wise for both OS's.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 09:07 PM   #13
candle_86
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,948
candle_86 is still being judged by the masses


Default

He is right about virtual memory parctially.

128 x 3
256 x 2
512 x 1.5
1024 x 1
2048 x .5

no idea about larger, never looked.
candle_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 11:54 PM   #14
gramboh
Casual gamer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,453
gramboh is still being judged by the masses


Default

with 2GB I had swap file set to 1GB and XP kept complaining about low virtual memory, so I disabled the swap file all together and now it seems to be fine, as none of my applications will truly run down 2GB of physical memory.
__________________
Intel C2Q Q6700 @ 3.3GHz w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 (1.45V)
4GB DDR2-734 @ 5-5-5-16 2.25v / Asus P5B Deluxe (BIOS 1236)
MSI GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II 1GB OC (@ 960/2200) / Dell 2407WFP Rev. A04 24" LCD
1x Seagate 7200.11 1TB SATA2 + 1x Hitatchi 5K3000 3TB SATA3 (plus another two of same for offline eSATA backup)
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer w/ Klipsch Promedia 4.1 and Sennheiser HD570
Antec P182B - Corsair 520HX PSU

Windows 7 Professional x64
3DMark Vantage: 22045 / 3DMark11: 4314

Netbook: Asus 1015PN (Atom 1.5GHz, 2GB DDR3, 250GB HDD, NVidia ION2, 10in LCD, Windows 7 Starter)
Now Playing - Battlefield 3, Super Meat Boy, The Witcher 2, SHIFT 2 Unleashed, Jamestown, DOTA 2, Team Fortress 2
gramboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 12:45 AM   #15
armagedon
Sapphire X1950Pro 512MB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada Montreal, Canada
Posts: 634
armagedon is still being judged by the masses


Default

There is a lot of articles on paging but here's a good one i think for those interested:
http://www.petri.co.il/pagefile_optimization.htm
__________________
If you're a computer geek and it ain't broke, fix it !!!

ASUS A8N-E
AMD Opteron 180 DC @ 2.6Mhz
2GB OCZ LL
Evga 8800GT 512MB
Audigy 2
2x80GB Maxtor Raid0 + 250 GB Seagate.10
2x LG DVD-DL
armagedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 01:41 AM   #16
The Pig
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United States Grey Street
Posts: 2,651
The Pig is still being judged by the masses


Default

You can take out all the insides of the HDD and place other small things such as candy or paper clips for office use?
The Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 02:02 AM   #17
cjl64
The Mod has you....
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Potsdam Ny
Posts: 6,487
cjl64 is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
What Else Can I Use My 2nd HDD For Other Than Storage?
Well myself and others find it a handy place to save gigs apon gigs of glorious porn!!!!!

Install media center and make it extra fun!!

Last edited by cjl64 : Nov 3, 2006 at 06:51 AM.
cjl64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2006, 06:26 AM   #18
cmar
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia The Great South East
Posts: 3,038
cmar is still being judged by the masses


Default

Linux
__________________
Once I used to have a life - then I bought a PC
cmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need more Storage Space? Dr. Zhivago Front Page News 1 Nov 28, 2010 09:04 PM
Car Storage for Electronics? BobbyRPI2712 Off Topic Lounge 5 May 4, 2009 10:59 AM
cheap storage Hollis613 General Hardware 3 Oct 9, 2006 01:31 PM
CPU storage area chocoba65 Off Topic Lounge 23 Aug 16, 2006 09:50 PM
Storage,what a BigDaddy General Hardware 3 Aug 24, 2003 08:35 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink