Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D)
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) Home of the Team Rage3D [email protected] project. Get Fol[email protected] info, download information, and details on how to join the Team. Team Rage3D progress updates posted here daily.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2007, 03:38 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
mynakedrat2
Bobcats gold weights
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Aland Islands oklahoma sitee
Posts: 3,051
mynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default folding on ps3

ANyone do it?
I have it set up to fold after 30 min inactivity, so my ps3 is on 24/7...
is that bad? do you guys(that know what they are talkign about) think i need a intercooler of sort? Folding seems to get my ps3 as hot as playing assassins creed. I just got it used, it is about 6 months old, i think. I want it to last as long as possible.
__________________
my graphics card is now a physx card ;
my cpu is a quad toaster
mynakedrat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2007, 05:29 PM   #2
radE8
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,979
radE8 is still being judged by the masses


Default

No need to worry. I've been running my PS3 24/7 since the client launched. I have stopped it a few times to play some games and occasionally I dabble in my linux partition (won't be doing that much longer with the quad core coming in a week), but other than that, it's been folding. It will get hot. It will get loud. But it'll keep going.
radE8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2007, 05:33 PM   #3
monkeydust
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United States Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 11,467
monkeydust once held a door open for a complete strangermonkeydust once held a door open for a complete strangermonkeydust once held a door open for a complete strangermonkeydust once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Been folding on mine non-stop since February or so without issue.
__________________
Intel Skylake i7 6700k w/Corsair Hydro Series H55
16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2400 (PC4 19200)
ASRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Samsung EVO 1TB SSD
Fractal Design Node 304 Mini-ITX case
Dell 2408WFP 24" Widescreen LCD
Windows 8.1 64-bit
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 18, 2007, 05:46 PM   #4
Dodongo77
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,854
Dodongo77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

No issues here either. Been folding on it 24/7 since July.
Dodongo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2007, 07:30 PM   #5
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,167
Treeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

If your PS3's vents should be away from something block it. If so, it should be fine.
__________________

AMD Phenom II X2 555 @ stock clock
Xigamtek Knight cooler
ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 (4x4GB)
Intel 530 240GB SSD
XFX ATI Radeon 4870 1GB
Antec Truepower 750W
NZXT Source 210
Windows 7 x64



AMD FX-8350 @ stock clock
Gigabyte GA-990FX-UD5 R5
G.Skill Sniper 16GB (8x2) DDR3 1866
Arctic Freezer 7 Pro 7 rev. 2
Gigabyte Windforce 7950 3GB Ghz Edition
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD
EVGA SuperNova 650W
NZXT Source 210 w/ two Noctua F-12 fans
Ubuntu MATE 64-bit
Intel i5 3570K @ stock clock | G.Skill 16GB (8GBx2) DDR3 1866 | Silicon Power 60GB SSD | Win 10 Pro x64 | NZXT Source 210
Treeckcold57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2007, 07:52 PM   #6
Osirus
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada st catharines
Posts: 7,412
Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

yeah , just dont be like the one guy who was afraid dust was going to get in so he taped up the vents.. and you should be ok lol.

i dont even have it installed atm.. i deleted to to use the ps3 proxy server thing to aquire the warhawk beta .. and I never put it back on.
Osirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 10:15 AM   #7
mynakedrat2
Bobcats gold weights
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Aland Islands oklahoma sitee
Posts: 3,051
mynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

i gotta melt that duct tape off now, dang.
Mine does get loud, does everyone else's?
how do i setup the ps3 proxy, is there a page you can send me.. is there any other open beta's right now?
__________________
my graphics card is now a physx card ;
my cpu is a quad toaster
mynakedrat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 10:20 AM   #8
Unicron
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada Ottawa
Posts: 1,984
Unicron is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ugh stay away from those intercoolers (this goes for any console), you'll do more harm than good.

There's a new F&H client up now:
http://blog.us.playstation.com/2007/...atures-coming/

Has auto shut down and custom soundtrack support.

(PS. Way to go Sony add custom soundtracks to F&H but not games /golfclap)

Last edited by Unicron : Dec 19, 2007 at 10:22 AM.
Unicron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 12:53 PM   #9
mynakedrat2
Bobcats gold weights
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Aland Islands oklahoma sitee
Posts: 3,051
mynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

how can 6 extra fans, going in , and pullng out(uhuh) be a bad thing?
Those thing put through a lot of air, and have thier own power scheme, and variable speeds. the one i was looking at has fans on the back and on the side. can you give me a link that says they actually caused harm please?
__________________
my graphics card is now a physx card ;
my cpu is a quad toaster
mynakedrat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 04:52 PM   #10
Blasphemer
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,151
Blasphemer is still being judged by the masses


Default

There were a few reports of the Nyko Intercooler scorching and arcing at the rear of the 360. I think these have been fixed by a design change, its not that they do harm, most don't seem to do any good either.
Blasphemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 05:18 PM   #11
mynakedrat2
Bobcats gold weights
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Aland Islands oklahoma sitee
Posts: 3,051
mynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymynakedrat2 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

i have a ps3 luckily, and the brand i was looking at was not nyko, and it looks like it will work ok, three turbo fans pulling air in, and two large fans blowing the air out. like a pc case, it sounds better than just one internal fan
__________________
my graphics card is now a physx card ;
my cpu is a quad toaster
mynakedrat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 05:20 PM   #12
Android1
Radeon Polaris 20 XL
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Upper Midwest
Posts: 10,103
Android1 knows why the caged bird singsAndroid1 knows why the caged bird singsAndroid1 knows why the caged bird singsAndroid1 knows why the caged bird singsAndroid1 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Thread moved with expiring redirect to Distributed Computing.
Android1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 08:42 PM   #13
WyreTheWolf
fuzzy ears
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States Dark cave; Ozark mountains
Posts: 3,459
WyreTheWolf is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just got my 60GB PS3, just downloaded the client... working on getting updated now.

Edit:

System updating now .... ARGH!

Edit 2:

MORE system updates!!!! YAY!

Edit 3:

Finally completed updates, and just started folding
__________________
-= AMD Ryzen 3950x | Gigabyte X570 Elite =-
-= 2 x 16GB G.Skill 3600 DDR4 | EVGA RTX 2080 Super =-
-= 2TB Inland nVME | 2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300 =-
-= 3 x MSI Optix 32" 1440p 144Hz | Windows 10 Workstation x64 =-

-= PROUDLY FOLDING FOR TEAM Rage3D! =-

Last edited by WyreTheWolf : Dec 19, 2007 at 09:03 PM.
WyreTheWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 10:57 PM   #14
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 49,000
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Hay fuzzy ears! *waves*
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2007, 11:05 PM   #15
WyreTheWolf
fuzzy ears
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States Dark cave; Ozark mountains
Posts: 3,459
WyreTheWolf is still being judged by the masses


Default

Howdy Caveman

/me twitches ears
__________________
-= AMD Ryzen 3950x | Gigabyte X570 Elite =-
-= 2 x 16GB G.Skill 3600 DDR4 | EVGA RTX 2080 Super =-
-= 2TB Inland nVME | 2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300 =-
-= 3 x MSI Optix 32" 1440p 144Hz | Windows 10 Workstation x64 =-

-= PROUDLY FOLDING FOR TEAM Rage3D! =-
WyreTheWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2007, 12:18 AM   #16
Rad2owns
Rage3D Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada Ont Ca EH!
Posts: 4,005
Rad2owns is still being judged by the masses


Default

Good to seea ya back WyreTheWolf.
My sons PS3 has folded 24/7 since early summer
with no problems yet.
__________________
This is about supporting Rage3D. You might even save a family member, close friend or yourself.
We can all make a difference one CPU at a time. It dosnt
HAVE to be on all the time, though that does help alot. Rage3D [email protected] Forum
If you Fold The Cure will Come!!!!!
Fold On Forever!!
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...00CC&c5=FFFFFF
Your Thoughts Will Define Your Destiny.
Hidden variables are everywhere.
BF3 KOz1
Rad2owns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2007, 03:56 AM   #17
WyreTheWolf
fuzzy ears
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States Dark cave; Ozark mountains
Posts: 3,459
WyreTheWolf is still being judged by the masses


Default

Howdy Howdy ... Traded my Nintendo Wii, and $100 for a used 60GB PS3... I think it was lightly used. Checked the insides, really didnt have any dust buildup ... so I doubt if it has seen much use.

Now it is folding... and I think I am going to cry.

This thing folds SOOOOOO much faster than all of my other machines put together.

I dont think I am going to waste my money on folding farms... Just get more PS3 machines.

The 40GB models are getting fairly cheap... I cant build a fast computer for that kind of money.
__________________
-= AMD Ryzen 3950x | Gigabyte X570 Elite =-
-= 2 x 16GB G.Skill 3600 DDR4 | EVGA RTX 2080 Super =-
-= 2TB Inland nVME | 2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300 =-
-= 3 x MSI Optix 32" 1440p 144Hz | Windows 10 Workstation x64 =-

-= PROUDLY FOLDING FOR TEAM Rage3D! =-
WyreTheWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2007, 09:19 AM   #18
LuCi-_-
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United States Kansas
Posts: 318
LuCi-_- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WyreTheWolf View Post
Howdy Howdy ... Traded my Nintendo Wii, and $100 for a used 60GB PS3... I think it was lightly used. Checked the insides, really didnt have any dust buildup ... so I doubt if it has seen much use.

Now it is folding... and I think I am going to cry.

This thing folds SOOOOOO much faster than all of my other machines put together.

I dont think I am going to waste my money on folding farms... Just get more PS3 machines.

The 40GB models are getting fairly cheap... I cant build a fast computer for that kind of money.

Well, a 40gb brand new is 399. For that price I could put together a cheap dual core system which would be overclocked and net me 1700ish ppd or even try a phenom system, but I'm not sure of the ppd of a phenom at 2.4GHz, I imagine its around 3000ppd with linuxsmp, maybe closer to 3800. Either way, for 400-500 bucks you can build a computer that is more flexible and will pump more points per dollar then the ps3. Also, I have a ps3 folding, so I'm not some anti-ps3 nut

PS WOO 100k points,I think I'm folding around close to 190k points per month, yay!
__________________
Doublesight 30" DS-305W - H-IPS 2560x1600
Core i7 920 @ 4.4Ghz 1.39V with TRUE
CoolerMaster 750W PSU
Visiontek 5850 @ 1000/1200
Asus P6T Deluxe v2
6GB Corsair XMS3 Low Latency 7-7-7-18 @ 1600MHz
OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD 1.41 GB Firmware
Dell PERC 6/i Hardware Raid Controller (LSI)
5x WD 640GB 200GB Raid0 slice, 2.1TB Raid5 Storage
Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 Full Tower Case
LuCi-_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why am i still folding? 311Sam Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 19 Apr 18, 2005 10:04 AM
New to Folding ATmyPinnacle Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 3 Jan 17, 2005 03:26 PM
Folding again absolutefunk Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 6 Jun 8, 2004 12:33 PM
Best for folding? Compufreak Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 3 Nov 13, 2003 06:15 PM
Where is our Folding TAB ? SciDoctor Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 3 Jun 8, 2003 07:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink