Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2021, 08:53 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default Just bought the Benq Sw240

Hi All

I just replaced the Eizo FS2434 with Benq Sw240.This is a photography moitor.First impressions:
- Awesome image quality and colors.I can feel a very consistent difference versus my old monitor.
- The trailing in videos is more than my previous monitor.Is kinda breaking the immersion and i can say is a bit annoying.
- in a very fast pace game the trailing (half life 2 deathmatch) is much more acceptable than in videos / movies
- The stand is not so sturdy as for the Eizo.
- There is a dedicated Black and White mode in monitor and i can play everything i want in this mode for a different experience.
- resolution is 1900x1200 is nice and feels larger than my previous monitor.


Damn this monitor is very nice ...
I have 30 days if i want to returin. I want to still see if i can swallow the symptoms of high latency in movies and videos.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."

Last edited by badsykes : Feb 26, 2021 at 04:28 PM.
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2021, 04:41 PM   #2
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Update:
I installed and played some Doom Eternal campaign... For me personally is more than acceptable.In graphics settings everything was on Ultra Nightmare.
I also played Doom Eternal in full black and white mode.It was intersting and a new experience.
The difference between Adobe RGB space and sRGB is BIG.Running everything with Adobe RGB color space is life-like colors.sRGB is pale and feels ... fake.I looked at my usual music videoclips on youtube with Adobe RGB and feel something fresh.
The monitor switched was recognized as 10bit automatically.
Using DCI-P3 color space had some weird brightness.The factory settings are weird to me.I have to dig a little bit and see how this color space is configured.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2021, 07:00 PM   #3
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 20,475
Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Subscriber
Default

Careful there. It's my understanding that sRGB content looks off when viewed in AdobeRGB.

Also no point being in AdobeRGB colour space unless your in Adobe CC and working in the colour space. I don't think any game or web content is generally in that colour space.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 27, 2021, 12:55 AM   #4
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
Careful there. It's my understanding that sRGB content looks off when viewed in AdobeRGB.

Also no point being in AdobeRGB colour space unless your in Adobe CC and working in the colour space. I don't think any game or web content is generally in that colour space.

There is a color profile installed with the drivers.I always install monitor drivers and color profiles.With this monitor is very important.Windows use the color profile in everything.I can assure you that switching color spaces back and forth between Adobe RGB and sRGB shows BIG difference.
I will do the same test with Doom Eternal and report back.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2021, 01:03 AM   #5
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 20,475
Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Subscriber
Default

That's not correct. If content is encoded in 8-bit sRGB, as almost everything is, you do not gain anything by viewing it in another colour space or at a different bit depth. That's unavoidable and when you do your messing with how those colours are supposed to look. Although, you might like how it looks

Do a little googling on sRGB vs AdobeRGB and you'll get it
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2021, 01:16 AM   #6
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

If you want another proof here you have it.Look at the comments.

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/4455144

You like it or not.. I like it more than bare pale sRGB

Anyway i tested doom eternal and the sRGB is a little more pale versus Adobe RGB.There is a difference but is subtle but is visible i can assure you that.Actually is the same effect like the guys talk in the forum above.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 11:23 AM   #7
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default 24p content playback challenges

I encountered this challenge about playing 24fps and 25fps content on youtube when the 60hz is locked.In my case it was because of the 10bit mode that doesn't support lower refresh rates.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/tests/motion/24p

This requires a translator from german.
https://www.prad.de/lexikon/24p/
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."

Last edited by badsykes : Feb 28, 2021 at 12:19 PM.
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 01:01 PM   #8
metroidfox
dAMD fanATical nVidiot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,795
metroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymetroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Graphics cards' control panels have options for doing pulldown. This should have little to nothing to do with 10-bit vs. 8-bit.


Saying this, I suspect that monitor of yours uses dithering to get to 10-bit. So it is actually a native 8-bit panel.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koenig39
Okeh zhentlemain, we well commonce spe-cial operashun "Surraindair" at four-dirty. We well sneek pass dair defances wid our whayt flags held hagh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC
Spyre, I told you before! I won't let you have mensechs with metroidfox nor give you the secret address to the admins p0rn server! :drool:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villainess
:lol: @ sig ............ now get me OUTTA THERE!! :mad:
metroidfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 01:55 PM   #9
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroidfox View Post
Graphics cards' control panels have options for doing pulldown. This should have little to nothing to do with 10-bit vs. 8-bit.


Saying this, I suspect that monitor of yours uses dithering to get to 10-bit. So it is actually a native 8-bit panel.

hmm ... i didn't think AMD and Nvidia added this in their control panel
Thx for the idea.I will search into it.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 01:57 PM   #10
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 20,475
Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroidfox View Post
Graphics cards' control panels have options for doing pulldown. This should have little to nothing to do with 10-bit vs. 8-bit.
Also I realized this awhile ago... pretty sure YouTube does 3:2 pulldown it self. So judder shouldn't be to big an issue with 24fps content on YT. 50fps content is another story.

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroidfox View Post
Saying this, I suspect that monitor of yours uses dithering to get to 10-bit. So it is actually a native 8-bit panel.
It's not. He bought a photography monitor with a 10-bit IPS panel and low input lag.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 02:15 PM   #11
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
Also I realized this awhile ago... pretty sure YouTube does 3:2 pulldown it self. So judder shouldn't be to big an issue with 24fps content on YT. 50fps content is another story.



It's not. He bought a photography monitor with a 10-bit IPS panel and low input lag.

Youtube didn't aleviate the 3:2 pulldown it for me.I had to solve it myself.I now disable 10bit when looking at youtube or movies until i find another solution.Judder was very bad for me.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 02:54 PM   #12
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 20,475
Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroidfox View Post
Maybe. I guess this is completely unrelated to the topic, but 8-bit is more than enough for either sRGB/Adobe RGB.


Unless this monitor is trying to achieve a wider colour space like DCI-P3, 10-bit doesn't seem necessary.
It's factory calibrated for %100 AdobeRGB and 95% of the DCI-P3. badsykes was aiming for a colour accurate monitor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by badsykes View Post
Youtube didn't aleviate the 3:2 pulldown it for me.I had to solve it myself.I now disable 10bit when looking at youtube or movies until i find another solution.Judder was very bad for me.
Damn. Well you still get judder with 3:2 pulldown, it's just supposed to reduce it. Your only other option would be running at 24Hz. Which if you can only do at 8-bit, that is fine though. The monitor doesn't have HDR, so all the youtube content is 8-bit anyway.

You could also try different browsers and see how they handle YT content. Generally speaking, Chrome based browsers work better than non-chrome based ones. Example being that FF can't even display HDR content in YT.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2021, 02:35 PM   #13
metroidfox
dAMD fanATical nVidiot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,795
metroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymetroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
It's not. He bought a photography monitor with a 10-bit IPS panel and low input lag.

Maybe. I guess this is completely unrelated to the topic, but 8-bit is more than enough for either sRGB/Adobe RGB.


Unless this monitor is trying to achieve a wider colour space like DCI-P3, 10-bit doesn't seem necessary.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koenig39
Okeh zhentlemain, we well commonce spe-cial operashun "Surraindair" at four-dirty. We well sneek pass dair defances wid our whayt flags held hagh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC
Spyre, I told you before! I won't let you have mensechs with metroidfox nor give you the secret address to the admins p0rn server! :drool:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villainess
:lol: @ sig ............ now get me OUTTA THERE!! :mad:
metroidfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2021, 01:59 PM   #14
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default 8 bit monitors that accepts 10-bit signal with EDID editing

Hi


I was readings rtings site and this thing caught my eyes.This looks like the top tier expensive may have a 10bit 1.07b colors but is not officialy advertised ?



https://www.rtings.com/monitor/revie...enware-aw2521h

Quote:
The gradient handling is exceptional. There's minimal banding throughout and you shouldn't notice any banding with real content. It's advertised to have an 8-bit panel, but we can achieve 10-bit in the EDID of the monitor, so it may be 8-bit with FRC, but we don't know for sure. The max refresh rate with a 10-bit source over a DisplayPort connection is 300Hz, and 144Hz over an HDMI connection.

This one the same 10bit mode at gradient:
https://www.rtings.com/monitor/revie...-360hz-pg259qn
Quote:
The 360Hz is only achievable over a DisplayPort connection, and it caps out at 300Hz with 10-bit HDR. Over HDMI, the maximum refresh rate is 240Hz and 120Hz with 10-bit HDR. G-SYNC works over HDMI and DisplayPort.
The 10bit mode limits refresh rates.So they can't advertise the monitors as 10bit because the refresh rates are changed.

So after all seems there are 10bit 1080p gaming monitors. This is intersting.The DCI-p3 and Adobe RGB are around 76% coverage...
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2021, 03:02 PM   #15
SirBaron
Hallowed are the Ori
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany Niedersachsen
Posts: 25,688
SirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselSirBaron exchanges holiday cards with Vin Diesel


Default

You can add it to your current thread, do not make threads for each time you find new information about your latest internet monitor finds.
__________________
Fantards the scourge of the universe:
SirBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2021, 01:01 AM   #16
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBaron View Post
You can add it to your current thread, do not make threads for each time you find new information about your latest internet monitor finds.

This is not about me here.Intentionally i posted outside of my thread because nobody said anything about that 10bit 1080p gaming monitors exists unoficially.It is about sharing information.If people have talked about this info i wouldn't have posted it at all.Pls move that post to the "New monitor" thread as not all people there look into my thread.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."

Last edited by badsykes : Mar 8, 2021 at 01:20 AM.
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2021, 02:06 PM   #17
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,729
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

A Benq SW240 review against the Eizo CS240

https://www.color-management-guide.c...or-review.html

The antireflective coating is awesome.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2021, 03:02 PM   #18
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 20,475
Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Trunks0 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Subscriber
Default

Well 8-bit+FRC to get 10-bit should look pretty good.

My monitor is technically a 10-bit, HDR monitor and 1080p.... only it's super-ultrawide so it's horizontal resolution is 3840. There are usually a monitor or two that will break away from the norms. This could very well be one of them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBaron View Post
You can add it to your current thread, do not make threads for each time you find new information about your latest internet monitor finds.
Agreed and merged
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New BenQ BL3200PT wabbitslayer General Hardware 13 Mar 8, 2016 10:36 AM
BenQ XL2410 koralis General Hardware 1 Nov 17, 2010 01:36 PM
Stupid Benq chew Off Topic Lounge 3 Mar 13, 2006 01:46 PM
Need help with BenQ LCD RMA dj6518 General Hardware 0 Sep 12, 2005 06:06 PM
Anyone have the BenQ FP231W? HybridHB General Hardware 3 Jul 30, 2004 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink