Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2003, 02:47 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
BMG_Cya=-
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 130
BMG_Cya=- is still being judged by the masses


Default DX9A, released,unreleased, now released

DX9A is back up on Microsoft's site. Supposedly, it was taken down due to a Cat 3.1 conflict. Now, it's back up.
Having just installed a new HDD last night, I'm a little
leery of trying it. Who's gonna be the guinea pig?
__________________
Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton 2184/356)
[color=sky blue]Gigabyte Radeon 9800 Pro (128)[/color] Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro (Atlantis) 512/256 MB Ultra Gold 2700 Dual Channel DDR(O'clocked)[color=royal blue]WD/Seagate/Maxtor 80,60,40 GB HDD's [/color] [color=sea-green] MSI K7NG2-ILSR Ultra MOBO[/color] Klipsch 5.1's with 400-watt sub-woofer...Omega Drivers Audigy Gamer X[color=dark red] Kingwin 450-watt 3-fan PSU[/color] - Microsoft Dual-Optical Mouse...MS K/B...and alot of stuff I'm forgetting atm...
3DMark03 score (6045) 3DMark03
BMG_Cya=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 03:08 PM   #2
digitalwanderer
Dangerously Mirthful
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Winfield, IN USA
Posts: 9,755
digitalwanderer is still being judged by the masses


Default

NOT IT!
__________________
Elite Bastards - Admin
-My opinions are my own, don't blame EB!-


Bubbles Phenom II X4 965 BE, Gigabyte MA790FXT-UDP5, 2x2GB Corsair XMS3, ATi Radeon HD 5970, ADA885, Corsair 620hx, 200GB, 200GB, CD/DVD burner
Blue Phenom X4 9950 BE, Asus A8A32-MVP, 2x1Gb Crucial PC8500, ATi Radeon HD 4870, ATi 650 Theatre Pro, 250GB, 500GB
Darkstar Phenom II X4 955 BE, Asus M3A32-MVP, 1x2Gb Kingston HyperX PC8500, 512MB Radeon 5870, DVD, 80GB, 160GB
Fluffy Phenom II X4 940 BE ,Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H, 2x1Gb Corsair Dominator PC8500, ATi Radeon HD 4970, 250GB, QuickCam
Bertha Inspiron 1705 UXGA, C2D T5200 (1.6Ghz), 2Gb DDR2 @ 533, 256Mb ATi Mobility X1400, 120Gb 5400, CD/DVD burner
Baggo Dell Inspiron 8200, P4 1.8Ghz, 1-1/2Gb PC2100, 32Mb GeForce2 Go, 120Gb HDD

digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 03:18 PM   #3
**G.I.BRO**
Berwip crawna-wi pinibon
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Mississauga
Posts: 30,180
**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel


Default

I tired the first version that came out last night, and i was getting a lost signal to my monitor. Hopefully this will over write the older one, and will make it back to normal again.

The only way i was able to resolve this, was to uninstall my video drivers in safe mode, and reinstall upon reboot. It happened again this morning.

*sigh,
I dont feel like reformating tonight....
**G.I.BRO** is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 26, 2003, 03:37 PM   #4
SurfMonkey
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Flipside of paradise...
Posts: 483
SurfMonkey is still being judged by the masses


Default

The first issue of DX9.0a contains a bug that breaks the Cat 3.1's. As in they won't work at all with it.

So if you downloaded it yesterday or lastnight and you are running Cat 3.1's DON'T install it.

The version that's back up now fixes that issue.
__________________

We are a virus with shoes
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 03:47 PM   #5
**G.I.BRO**
Berwip crawna-wi pinibon
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Mississauga
Posts: 30,180
**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel


Default

Well, i had the 3.2's installed...


Oh well...
I'll give it a go tonight when i get home.
**G.I.BRO** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 04:58 PM   #6
noodles
Long and Soft
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada In a pot of boiling water.
Posts: 1,331
noodles is still being judged by the masses


Default

HeeHee

So does this mean the DX9.0a wasn't properly WHQL certified.

I know DX doesn't quite falll under WHQL cert., but it's still mighty funny.
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 09:17 PM   #7
Myrmecophagavir
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 174
Myrmecophagavir is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SurfMonkey
The first issue of DX9.0a contains a bug that breaks the Cat 3.1's. As in they won't work at all with it.

So if you downloaded it yesterday or lastnight and you are running Cat 3.1's DON'T install it.

The version that's back up now fixes that issue.
According to the front page that was untrue anyway.
Myrmecophagavir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 11:48 PM   #8
BMG_Cya=-
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 130
BMG_Cya=- is still being judged by the masses


Default

I installed the latest version that they had on the website.
No ill-effects...so far. Nothing gained so far either,but,...
__________________
Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton 2184/356)
[color=sky blue]Gigabyte Radeon 9800 Pro (128)[/color] Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro (Atlantis) 512/256 MB Ultra Gold 2700 Dual Channel DDR(O'clocked)[color=royal blue]WD/Seagate/Maxtor 80,60,40 GB HDD's [/color] [color=sea-green] MSI K7NG2-ILSR Ultra MOBO[/color] Klipsch 5.1's with 400-watt sub-woofer...Omega Drivers Audigy Gamer X[color=dark red] Kingwin 450-watt 3-fan PSU[/color] - Microsoft Dual-Optical Mouse...MS K/B...and alot of stuff I'm forgetting atm...
3DMark03 score (6045) 3DMark03

Last edited by BMG_Cya=- : Mar 26, 2003 at 11:51 PM.
BMG_Cya=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 12:05 AM   #9
BMG_Cya=-
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 130
BMG_Cya=- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well, well,well....maybe a slight increase afterall.
Gained 400 points in 3D Mark 2001SE. That's a definite
gain, which could be because of DX9(a), or the fact that
I just did a fresh install of XP on a new HDD...hmmmm.
Either way, something is better than nothing.
__________________
Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton 2184/356)
[color=sky blue]Gigabyte Radeon 9800 Pro (128)[/color] Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro (Atlantis) 512/256 MB Ultra Gold 2700 Dual Channel DDR(O'clocked)[color=royal blue]WD/Seagate/Maxtor 80,60,40 GB HDD's [/color] [color=sea-green] MSI K7NG2-ILSR Ultra MOBO[/color] Klipsch 5.1's with 400-watt sub-woofer...Omega Drivers Audigy Gamer X[color=dark red] Kingwin 450-watt 3-fan PSU[/color] - Microsoft Dual-Optical Mouse...MS K/B...and alot of stuff I'm forgetting atm...
3DMark03 score (6045) 3DMark03
BMG_Cya=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 02:30 AM   #10
HeartbreakKid
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 103
HeartbreakKid is still being judged by the masses


Default

Where is the Redis of 9.0a???I want it now!!!!!
HeartbreakKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 03:38 AM   #11
SciDoctor
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 2,467
SciDoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

From the looks of it all they did was change the dxwebsetup.exe file , maybe there were problems with the download routines.
I have yet to see any dx file changes but haven't checked thoroughly enough.
__________________
...an ounce of perception , a pound of obscure....
SciDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 04:08 AM   #12
CherryPopper
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 70
CherryPopper is still being judged by the masses


Default

I installed 9.0a when it came out originally and have experienced no issues at all.. the major improvement seems to be a fix to windows messenger for me
__________________
Dell Precision 530 Workstation w Dual Xeon Processors @ 2 GHZ each
768 Megs PC 800 Rambus Ram
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Meg DDR II
Viewsonic VG191b Flatpanel Display
Fujitsu 36 Gig 10,000 rpm Ultra 160 SCSI HD
Fujitsu 73 Gig 10,000 rpm Ultra 320 SCSI HD
Windows XP Professional SP1
CherryPopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 04:47 AM   #13
SilentSnipeR
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia :)
Posts: 621
SilentSnipeR is still being judged by the masses


Default

well, for some reason i've lost the ability to have AGP texturing enabled, and if I have fastwrites on in the bios, my computer has a fit when loading windows. very strange. A reformat is in order now
__________________
Main system: Asus A7N8X Deluxe (1002.001 beta bios)| AthlonXP [email protected] 10x186fsb | 512mb Corsair XMS3000 (2.5-2-2-6)| Vid: Radeon9700PRO (337/337) | GlobalWin TAK68 HSF :)
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5730202
SilentSnipeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 05:50 AM   #14
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SurfMonkey
The first issue of DX9.0a contains a bug that breaks the Cat 3.1's. As in they won't work at all with it.

So if you downloaded it yesterday or lastnight and you are running Cat 3.1's DON'T install it.

The version that's back up now fixes that issue.
Funny I've been running it with CAT 3.1's since it came out and haven't had any problems
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 05:56 AM   #15
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BMG_Cya=-
Well, well,well....maybe a slight increase afterall.
Gained 400 points in 3D Mark 2001SE. That's a definite
gain, which could be because of DX9(a), or the fact that
I just did a fresh install of XP on a new HDD...hmmmm.
Either way, something is better than nothing.
Well overall the CAT 3.2's which I just did a fresh install with have scored lower in 3Dmark2001se by 400 to 15342 from 15742 points but went up in 2003 by 50 points 4756 to 4806. Not too worried as games overall feel smoother with the 3.2's (not that there was a problem before) I don't know it just feels smoother for some reason.

I did the re-install to put in a new SATA drive and I will say they are sweet. I got sick of compatibility issues with the PATA adapters and just opted for the real thing instead.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 06:01 AM   #16
DanCanovas
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lincolnshire UK
Posts: 86
DanCanovas is still being judged by the masses


Default

Does anyone know when the download for DX9a will be out cos my comp is not on the net at the moment! I think its the RE-dist version.
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ (Nforce2)
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
1024mb Crucial DDR 400 RAM
Soundblaster Audigy
Gainward Geforce 6800 GT 420/1110
LG Flatron 17" TFT L1720B
400W Antec PSU
Aquamark3--56,800
3dMark 05--4599
DanCanovas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU-Z v0.3.3 Released EYE4LYFE Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Mar 25, 2009 10:40 AM
DNA 2.4.4.4 Released KillerSneak AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 59 May 1, 2004 11:06 AM
DNA 2.3.4.3 released KillerSneak AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 29 Mar 30, 2004 01:50 PM
Why is everything first released in USA? UFO Off Topic Lounge 40 Mar 25, 2004 01:21 PM
GF FX released! 0Cyrus0 General Hardware 9 Jan 29, 2003 10:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink