Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2007, 12:05 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies I just found my new mother board for R600!!!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813123022










Epox baby,

16gb of max memory
AMD/ATI north/south bridge chipsets


Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 12:29 PM   #2
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,227
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

AMD board?

Seems like a limitation for what a R600 may be capable of.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 01:09 PM   #3
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ristogod View Post
AMD board?

Seems like a limitation for what a R600 may be capable of.

I figured someone would say that, but AM2 socket will support AM3 CPU's. So It's a good investment in the long run. I also dont like any of the Intel chipsets out there. They perform better than the 680i Nforce and suck less power, but I always find something on one of the mother boards that turns me off. Like those old outdated power caps. The AMD crossfire epox board above has all High quality power caps and the xpress chipsets suck even less power than the Intel ones when on full load.

Over all, it's a very clean looking board with that well known epox quality.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 20, 2007, 05:30 PM   #4
Iron99
PFEE Rocks
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 365
Iron99 is still being judged by the masses


Default

The expansion slot lay out is nice! Nice find Sound_Card .
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JethroBodine View Post
I post 100% pro-NVIDIA* and get free stuff from NVIDIA.
Iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 11:43 AM   #5
JethroBodine
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,428
JethroBodine is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ristogod View Post
AMD board?

Seems like a limitation for what a R600 may be capable of.
CPU isn't a limiting factor on modern games that benefit from a high end card like the R600, unless you're talking about 12X10 or lower resolution. (and you have to wonder why anyone would buy a R600 to game at 12X10)

Check out my comparison of X2 4600+ benches to X6800 benches and you'll see that for 16X12 4X16X and up, a $200 4600+ does the job of a $1000 X6800. It's all about the graphics these days.

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?s...st=0&p=148733&
JethroBodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 02:05 PM   #6
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
why do you wanna get this ????
I heard rd690 is coming in February.!
Can't you wait 2-3 weeks???

btw, this motherboard doesn't have a slot for physics card.
I thought you wanted to go for 1 +1 ???
what happened?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 03:00 PM   #7
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomore View Post
why do you wanna get this ????

Why not is the qustion.

Lot's of features, and will have long life because of support of AM3 processors. The lay out is perfect.

Quote:
I heard rd690 is coming in February.!

I also heard that RD600 was comming out in october.

Quote:
Can't you wait 2-3 weeks???
I most likely will. But this board is the first runner up.


Quote:
btw, this motherboard doesn't have a slot for physics card.
Yes it dose. All you need for Physics is a SM3.0 card and at least two PCIe slots. That third PCIe slot you are thinking of is for 2+1. 1+1 will work on any of today's crossfire xpress chipsets.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 03:58 PM   #8
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
Why not is the qustion.

Lot's of features, and will have long life because of support of AM3 processors. The lay out is perfect.

wait, where does it say it supports AM3 processors????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
I also heard that RD600 was comming out in october.
hehehe that was below the belt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
Yes it dose. All you need for Physics is a SM3.0 card and at least two PCIe slots. That third PCIe slot you are thinking of is for 2+1. 1+1 will work on any of today's crossfire xpress chipsets.
where does it say it supports a physics card???
I don't see any info about that as well.

you sure that the physics work with every crossfire motherboard that has 2 pcie slots?
thanx.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 04:10 PM   #9
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomore View Post

wait, where does it say it supports AM3 processors????
It has already been stated by AMD that AM3 processors will work on AM2 sockets. The catch is that DDR3 will not.

Quote:
hehehe that was below the belt.

ha,
I believe the 580x is the AMD version of the RD600 for Intel. So no below the belt here.


Quote:
where does it say it supports a physics card???
I don't see any info about that as well.

you sure that the physics work with every crossfire motherboard that has 2 pcie slots?
thanx.
I'm 100% positive that it work with any crossfire board.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 04:19 PM   #10
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
It has already been stated by AMD that AM3 processors will work on AM2 sockets. The catch is that DDR3 will not.
so I can use AM2 motherboard and a AM3 processor with ddr2??
or is that logically impossible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
ha,
I believe the 580x is the AMD version of the RD600 for Intel. So no below the belt here.
yes it was below the belt.
since october already passed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
I'm 100% positive that it work with any crossfire board.
are you dead sure??
I don't remember reading anything about that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 04:40 PM   #11
SSXeon
CAPS CAPS CAPS
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States Virginia
Posts: 10,892
SSXeon once held a door open for a complete strangerSSXeon once held a door open for a complete strangerSSXeon once held a door open for a complete strangerSSXeon once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Cool looken board, too bad its an amd. j/k Are AM3s quad core?
__________________


Be Quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ 3.8/4.84Ghz
Be Quiet! Dark Rock 4 PRO w/ MX4
ASUS TUF Gaming B550-PLUS

16GB Corsair LPX 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36
1TB WB Black SN850 NVMe Gen4 (OS)
4TB WD Red HDD
Nvidia RTX 2080 SUPER FE 8GB @ 1650/1935/7751Mhz
Dell 27" S2716DG 1440p @ 144Hz
Razor DeathAdder 6400dpi Mouse
Razer Cynosa Chroma Keyboard
Xbox One Wireless Controller
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
WHQL 465.89






Coolermaster N200
Intel Core-i3 4170 @ 3.8Ghz
Xigmatek 1283 HSF + Thermaltake CL-F005
MSI H81M-P33
8GB Corsair Vengence 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
500GB WD Blue 3D Nand SSD (OS)
2TB WD Red HDD
2TB WD Red HDD
Intel HD 4400 350/1150Mhz
Corsair CX600 PSU
Dell 21.5" S2209WB 1080p @ 60Hz
Razor Lachesis 5400dpi Mouse
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
WHQL 15.36.28.4332






Thermaltake Versa H15
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.0/3.2Ghz
Wrath Spire HSF w/ MX4
8GB Corsair LPX 2400Mhz 14-16-16-31
1TB WD Blue HDD (OS)
EVGA GTX 1080 SC 8GB @ 1708/1937/5005MHz
Oculus Rift Touch
Samsung 55" MU6290 HDR 2160p @ 60Hz
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
WHQL 388.00






Dell XPS 7390
Intel Core-i5 10210u @ 1.6/4.2Ghz
8GB
LPDDR4 2133Mhz
256GB Toshiba NVMe SSD (OS)
Dell 13.3" 1080p @ 60Hz
Windows 10 Home 64-bit

SSXeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 05:01 PM   #12
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomore View Post
so I can use AM2 motherboard and a AM3 processor with ddr2??
or is that logically impossible?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM3

Quote:
AMD has confirmed that AM3 processors will work in AM2 motherboards; however, AM2 processors will not be compatible with AM3 motherboards. This is because AM2 chips lack the proper memory controller for DDR3 memory (since AMD chips have the memory controller directly on the processor itself, instead of on the Northbridge), and AM3 processors will have a memory controller that supports both DDR2 and DDR3 (though it lacks the capability of running both at the same time). This has the benefit that anyone who buys a Socket AM2 motherboard will be able to freely upgrade to any AM3 processor in the future, ensuring that AM2 will have a long future and not become obsolete too soon.

Socket AM3 is assumed to be introduced with the AMD's next generation processors based on AMD K8L micro-architecture.

Quote:
are you dead sure??
I don't remember reading anything about that.
arh, I'M POSITIVE.

I even asked Dave B.

let me pull the message...
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 05:05 PM   #13
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Baumann
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card
A quick qustion regarding crossfire physics.


Will all crossfire chipsets be compatible with havok GPU physics? For example, My RD420 chip set for my socket 939 which has 2x 8xPCIe slots. Or will this only be supported in new ATI chipsets with 3x PCI slots?
Havok Physics itself just requires an SM3.0 board. There are several was this can be realised - either as a pass in the rendering processes or on a separate board.

So, if its operating as a pass in the rendering process then it will work with a single card, or two in Crossfire (both the rendering and physics load is distributed across the cards). Alternatively you can have physics rendering on an entirely separate board, so here you could have a single graphics and a single physics (1+1) or Crossfire and physics (2+1). The advantage of having physics on a separate board is that you can use a different performance card for that than the main 3D card.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 07:41 PM   #14
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
but at the top of that page, it states;
Quote:
It may contain preliminary or speculative information, and may not reflect the final version of the product.
btw, when is AMD planning to release AM3??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
arh, I'M POSITIVE.

I even asked Dave B.

let me pull the message...
cool thanx for the info.
I had to rep you.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 07:41 PM   #15
SSXeon
CAPS CAPS CAPS
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States Virginia
Posts: 10,892
SSXeon once held a door open for a complete strangerSSXeon once held a door open for a complete strangerSSXeon once held a door open for a complete strangerSSXeon once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
Yup thats why i still have my X1900XT lying here to stair at................. FOR NOW
__________________


Be Quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ 3.8/4.84Ghz
Be Quiet! Dark Rock 4 PRO w/ MX4
ASUS TUF Gaming B550-PLUS

16GB Corsair LPX 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36
1TB WB Black SN850 NVMe Gen4 (OS)
4TB WD Red HDD
Nvidia RTX 2080 SUPER FE 8GB @ 1650/1935/7751Mhz
Dell 27" S2716DG 1440p @ 144Hz
Razor DeathAdder 6400dpi Mouse
Razer Cynosa Chroma Keyboard
Xbox One Wireless Controller
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
WHQL 465.89






Coolermaster N200
Intel Core-i3 4170 @ 3.8Ghz
Xigmatek 1283 HSF + Thermaltake CL-F005
MSI H81M-P33
8GB Corsair Vengence 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
500GB WD Blue 3D Nand SSD (OS)
2TB WD Red HDD
2TB WD Red HDD
Intel HD 4400 350/1150Mhz
Corsair CX600 PSU
Dell 21.5" S2209WB 1080p @ 60Hz
Razor Lachesis 5400dpi Mouse
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
WHQL 15.36.28.4332






Thermaltake Versa H15
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.0/3.2Ghz
Wrath Spire HSF w/ MX4
8GB Corsair LPX 2400Mhz 14-16-16-31
1TB WD Blue HDD (OS)
EVGA GTX 1080 SC 8GB @ 1708/1937/5005MHz
Oculus Rift Touch
Samsung 55" MU6290 HDR 2160p @ 60Hz
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
WHQL 388.00






Dell XPS 7390
Intel Core-i5 10210u @ 1.6/4.2Ghz
8GB
LPDDR4 2133Mhz
256GB Toshiba NVMe SSD (OS)
Dell 13.3" 1080p @ 60Hz
Windows 10 Home 64-bit

SSXeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 01:20 AM   #16
Wotan81
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sweden Kalmar, Sweden
Posts: 2,386
Wotan81 is still being judged by the masses


Default

[quote=Sound_Card;1334766256]
ha,
I believe the 580x is the AMD version of the RD600 for Intel. So no below the belt here. QUOTE]

The RD580 is actually newer than the RD600, adn has some features that the RD600 doesn't have. Like both Pci-e run at 16x in Crossfire but 8x for the RD5600.
Wotan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 07:52 PM   #17
Hapatingjaky
Maximum Disappointment
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada New Ukraine
Posts: 10,275
Hapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

After reading the specs and **** and comparing it too the pic where is the stated ESATA support, that board shows no ESATA ( which I use ).

But for god sakes get rid of the IDE, Parallel Port and Serial Port. Thats comptelely useless now. With the release of affordable SATA DVDRW's and such I find supplying IDE controlers to be a waste ( given that there are some who are slow to adopt ). And all printers and PC's come USB standard. Serial ports on the other hand I think the last time I used a serial port was to connect a mouse like 20 years ago... This could also cut down on costs of the boards.
__________________
Intel Core i9 10900K @ 5.2GHz, Asus Maximus XII Apex, GSkill Trident-Z Royal DDR4 3200MHz 32GB CAS11, EVGA FTW3 3080Ti Sixtuple SLI KAC Edition, Creative Labs SXFI Theater, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB, Corsair AXI 1500i PSU, ThermalTake View 71, Corsair K95 Platinum RGB, Corsair Dark Core RGB SE, Acer Predator X34, Windows 10 Professional X64
Hapatingjaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 07:23 PM   #18
fO Che -USA-
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Omaha, NE, USA
Posts: 2,132
fO Che -USA- can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyfO Che -USA- can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I don't like were the atx and 12v power are but otherwise looks very decent. And Amd is teh suxxors maximus right now don't you know that....lol j/k I really hope k8l smashes my sh1t to pieces because im a little tired of this setup.
__________________
I love you Joanna Jędrzejczyk!
fO Che -USA- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 09:20 PM   #19
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by fO Che -USA- View Post
I don't like were the atx and 12v power are but otherwise looks very decent. And Amd is teh suxxors maximus right now don't you know that....lol j/k I really hope k8l smashes my sh1t to pieces because im a little tired of this setup.


Man, One thing that scares the **** out of me about going to Intel is that socket 775. I'm already know it's a short matter of time before Intel kills this off as this socket has been used for some time. It's reaching it's limits on what it can do.
Another thing that scares me about Intel is their Memory infrastructure. They are still(god forbid them for this...) on that old ass FSB. The memory controller is in the chipsets and and Intel pretty much relies mostly on large amounts of L2 cache to keep from dipping into the front side bus.


With AM2, I get good life because of future AM3 support, and I also get very high performance per watt as the new AMD AM2 65nm Brisbane only consumes a mere 35w. Roughly 30-40w less than conroe which is outstanding. Not only that, the AMD/ATI north bridge chipsets consume the least power over any of Intel chipsets, and alot more power saving over Nvidia's overrated 680i while performance is dead even and features are richer. This epox board has my eyes the most as the lay out is dead perferct for me. Ofcourse I can do without the printer jack, and the mouse/keyboard ports and IDE ports for more firewire and USB2.0 ports. But it dose not scratch me one bit, because I really dont picture myself ever using 10 USB ports or more than one Firewire ports.


With that said, I'm pretty sure of my self that K8L is going to return the favor to Intel.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help on mother board dtdraffen General Hardware 1 Feb 21, 2008 07:24 PM
help mother board jo_2k5 General Hardware 1 Dec 30, 2005 04:35 PM
new mother board Mirlehol General Hardware 5 Aug 9, 2003 01:02 AM
mother board FSB? Bkultra General Hardware 10 Jan 16, 2003 05:27 PM
New mother board whitenitek5 General Hardware 15 Mar 12, 2002 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink