Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2003, 05:45 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
MrkyMrk
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 36
MrkyMrk is still being judged by the masses


Default I've crippled my 9700 Pro... Help!

AMD 2400 XP
Abit NF7-S (nForce2)
256 Mb PC2700 (the other 256 being RMA'd)
Powercolour 9700 Pro
XP Home

Thought I was getting substarndard 3DMark 2001 results - 12,200 to 12,400 - so I decided to update all drivers.

Updated BIOS to latest, updated to nForce unified driver 2.00, including using the non WHQL IDE driver. PC reboots as soon as XP starts up - looks like it may be down to CDR software?

Uninstall the nVidia drivers. This doesn't work. Have to go back to restore point then re-install *without* the IDE drivers. For one, XP now says I've got to re-activate but that my hardware has changed too much fundamentally so I've got to phone MS up and get that sorted. sheesh.

But my 3DMark score is now down to a low 10,000.

What the heck have I done?

I really want to avoid a full re-install if I can...

Regards,

Mark
__________________
V8 Thunder OVAL Deputy Admin
Car #69
http://www.v8thunder.com/
MrkyMrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 05:53 AM   #2
Aspect
"Amusing Comment Here"
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Birmingham, England
Posts: 2,656
Aspect is still being judged by the masses


Default

There are 2.03 drivers , try them
__________________
~ Specs -> Athlon XP 2600+ ~ Asus A7N8X ~ Win XP Home - SP2 ~ 1 Gig Geil 3200 ~ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro ~ Catalyst 5.6 ~ Maxtor DB+9 80GB and Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 80GB ~ LiteOn Cd-Rw & DVD ~ Q-tec 450 W PSU ~
__________________

SPAM , a tasty alternative to useful posts - Aspect
It's all fun and games until the monkey starts flinging his poop - Fat_Daddy_cool
Aspect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 06:19 AM   #3
MrkyMrk
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 36
MrkyMrk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for that Iceman (like the avatar).

Excuse the newbie type question, but I presume that AGP drivers are included in the pack?

The reason I ask is that I had a similar problem on an older PC that I rebuilt, but forgot to install AGP drivers... This was an SiS735 based system.

Regards,

Mark
__________________
V8 Thunder OVAL Deputy Admin
Car #69
http://www.v8thunder.com/
MrkyMrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 26, 2003, 07:59 AM   #4
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,236
Kombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Subscriber
Default

Ok.. this is going to be a bit lengthy

I saw that you have the NF7-S.. here's the deal. I suspect that you are using the SATA controller for your hard disk. If that is the case, here are the problems I run across lately and their solution.

The latest motherboard version, since it updates the bios of the SATA controller as well needs the latest version of the SATA driver (1.0.0.28 if i remember correctly). Without it you are going to have rebooting problems such as those you are describing here. I reinstalled winxp lately, but i used the SATA driver which was in the disk supplied by the m/b when installing windows. So whenever I tried to install the nForce2 drivers, i had the rebooting problem. So my solution was to reinstall windows with the latest version of the driver, and everything was peachy from there.

What you should do is to update your SATA driver from the device manager, and then install the nForce2 drivers. Do it that way and i believe you will not have any problems.

Hope this helps
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 08:07 AM   #5
MrkyMrk
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 36
MrkyMrk is still being judged by the masses


Default

AFAIK I'm not using the Serial ATA and I *think* I have disabled it in the BIOS, but I guess that doesn't mean XP doesn't need the latest drivers...

Plenty MK references here. Nice one.

Any signs of the latest MK game making it to PC?

Regards,

Mark
__________________
V8 Thunder OVAL Deputy Admin
Car #69
http://www.v8thunder.com/
MrkyMrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 08:22 AM   #6
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,236
Kombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Subscriber
Default

Well if you haven't deisabled it, try to update the driver. As for MK: DA, we can only hope i guess
__________________
There is no spoon...

Last edited by Kombatant : Mar 26, 2003 at 08:39 AM.
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2003, 08:34 AM   #7
rachaelsdad
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Yakima WA
Posts: 333
rachaelsdad is still being judged by the masses


Default

2.03 solved my drive problems. Until then XP would not correctly identify them.
rachaelsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2003, 08:46 AM   #8
MrkyMrk
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 36
MrkyMrk is still being judged by the masses


Default



Nope. Nothing I try seems to work.

Anyone know how I can fully uninstall mobo / gfx drivers so that I can effectively start from scratch and install latest drivers cleanly?

Regards,

Mark
__________________
V8 Thunder OVAL Deputy Admin
Car #69
http://www.v8thunder.com/
MrkyMrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X800 Pro crippled by slow CPU? Bender AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 16 Dec 5, 2004 06:04 PM
Crippled 9800pro beepx1 Radeon Technical Support 5 Mar 23, 2004 11:44 AM
9700pro Cat 3.0 Crippled performance by 1/2 Kastef AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 2 Dec 24, 2002 02:31 AM
I'm crippled, take up the slack! [H]ardOCP Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 3 Jul 10, 2001 04:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink