Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Off Topic Lounge Discuss anything you want here folks. A place for computer junkies to boldly post Off Topic... Rant and rave if it is necessary, but just try to keep it clean!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 24, 2004, 08:22 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
WiseJoeyD
Otaku
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom Belfast
Posts: 569
WiseJoeyD is still being judged by the masses


Default UK 1MB Broadband Provider Q

hi there!

i was wondeirng; We have BT Yahoo Brodband, which as you know is £30 a month. I saw an advert for AOL 1MB Brodband for £30 (though, I think thats NOT including VAT which then brings it to something like £35).

BT also provide a 1MB service for £40; is there any hidden 'catches' with AOL's offer, or should we go ahead and change over to them?
WiseJoeyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 08:25 AM   #2
Mr_Skinny
Meh
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England England
Posts: 1,813
Mr_Skinny is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wouldn't touch AOL with a bargepole. Freeserve, or Wanadoo as they are now known, do a 1MB connection for 34.99inc VAT.
__________________
They mostly come at night...mostly....
Mr_Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 08:28 AM   #3
Doozer
lollollollol
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England SE London, UK
Posts: 19,033
Doozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I wouldn't touch AOL either.

There are many more providers that supply faster lines.

If you are happy to pay the £40 with BT, why not look at Bulldogdsl who provide a 2Mb line for £38 (its what I have and would recommend as I have had NO problems and NO downtime with them !)

Shop around, see what suits you.
__________________
Mobo : Asus P8777-V LX2 Processor : Intel Core i5 3570K 3.40GHz @ 4.40GHz Memory : 8Gb RAM
Graphics Card : GeForce GTX 690 Sound : Asus Xonar DGX 5.1 O/S : Win7, Monitor : 3 x Samsung 23"

Nikon D7100,
Nikkor 16-35mf f4
Sigma 120-400mm
Nikon 18-55mm kit lens,
Sigma 70-300 APO Macro,
Nikkor 50mm f1.8,
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro HSM,
Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DG,
Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5 HSM,
Sigma x2 TC
Remote shutter release ,
Raynox D250 closeup/macro attachment,
Kenko extension tubes,
reverse lens adaptor,
Nikon SB800 flash,
Vivitar 285HV Flash unit,
Tripod (x2),
Monopod



Rage3d flickr Group
Doozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 24, 2004, 08:31 AM   #4
Shorty
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 1,659
Shorty is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________
PC SPECS:
MOTHERBOARD: EPoX 8KDA3+ · CPU: AMD 64 3000+ · HSF: Swiftech MCX6400-V with Vantec Stealth 80mm Fan· RAM:1GB (2x512MB) Crucial Ballistix PC4000 2.5-4-4-8 · HARD DRIVE: 2 x 120GB Samsung SpinPoint 8mb cache in RAID 0 Array, Western Digital Raptor 36.7GB · RAID CONTROLLER: Highpoint RocketRaid 133 · SOUND CARD: Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS & HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 Gold · VPU: Leadtek gForce 6800GT · DVD-RW Drive: Pioneer DVR 105 · CD-RW Drive: LiteOn 52X · PSU: Antec TruePower 480W · CASE: Antec Super Lanboy · MONITOR: Samsung 710T Silver · SPEAKERS: Logitech Z-5500 · MOUSE: Logitch MX900 · KEYBOARD: Logitch DiNovo · ROUTER: Netgear DG834G · HEADPHONES: Sennheiser HD 500 Fusion · External HDD: Western Digital Caviar 40GB in ICY BOX HDD Enclosure · PRINTER: Epson Stylus C84 Photo Edition · OPERATING SYSTEM: Microsoft Windows XP Pro & Fedora Core 2 · DIRECTX VERSION: DirectX 9 ·
[email protected]
Shorty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 10:14 AM   #5
WiseJoeyD
Otaku
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom Belfast
Posts: 569
WiseJoeyD is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks, everyone, for the info!

Shorty, I have tried adsl, though couldnt find per user reviews of each server, only graphs, which may not/dont seem to tell the hwole story.

Indeed, in the interestes of knowing the 'whole story', what is the big sticing point with AOL's service? Is it to do with downtime or something?

Also, to swap BB providers, dont you have to get some code off your exisint gprovider and then give this info to your new ISP and they can switch you over quickly?

And finally, with bulldog, do they have any sort of capping limit to their service? (It seems when you look at an unbeliebale offer ["BT 512k for £20!!"], they always have some obscure small print telling you its 1GB, which can be surpassed easily and accidentally, if you download music, patches, files, online game etc)
WiseJoeyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 10:24 AM   #6
WiseJoeyD
Otaku
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom Belfast
Posts: 569
WiseJoeyD is still being judged by the masses


Default

just checked availability on Bulldog and it seems that, only using postcode, the line is eligible for their 1mb service @ £33 a month but with a large connection fee (£58.5), yet when using my actual phone number, it says I live outside 3km and so only technically capable of 512k.

Just out of itnerest, any caps on the 512k service or the 1mb service? I couldnt see any references to caps or not.
WiseJoeyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 10:28 AM   #7
Doozer
lollollollol
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England SE London, UK
Posts: 19,033
Doozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I dont think bulldogs caps, max I have downloaded in a day is 6Gb, probably 15-20 in a week and they havent complained
__________________
Mobo : Asus P8777-V LX2 Processor : Intel Core i5 3570K 3.40GHz @ 4.40GHz Memory : 8Gb RAM
Graphics Card : GeForce GTX 690 Sound : Asus Xonar DGX 5.1 O/S : Win7, Monitor : 3 x Samsung 23"

Nikon D7100,
Nikkor 16-35mf f4
Sigma 120-400mm
Nikon 18-55mm kit lens,
Sigma 70-300 APO Macro,
Nikkor 50mm f1.8,
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro HSM,
Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DG,
Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5 HSM,
Sigma x2 TC
Remote shutter release ,
Raynox D250 closeup/macro attachment,
Kenko extension tubes,
reverse lens adaptor,
Nikon SB800 flash,
Vivitar 285HV Flash unit,
Tripod (x2),
Monopod



Rage3d flickr Group
Doozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 10:36 AM   #8
WiseJoeyD
Otaku
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom Belfast
Posts: 569
WiseJoeyD is still being judged by the masses


Default

right, well, it seems that, after visiting BT and checking my phone number, I can't get 1MB at all. Ah well(interestingly funny that I'm moaning a little aboutt he speed of 512k! I must have been muderous when I had 56k!).

Is there any way, in future of spreading the reach of faster broadband services (ie overcome technical reasons why the signal needs to be within 3km/5km for faster services?)
WiseJoeyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 10:40 AM   #9
Johnmcl7
Knowledge is Power
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland Inverness
Posts: 4,139
Johnmcl7 is still being judged by the masses


Default

BT need to upgrade their network for higher speeds to be available at further distances, which knowing BT will probably never happen...

John
__________________
Desktop: A64 3000, 1GB DDR400, Radeon X850XT, Seagate 120GB HD + WD 80GB, Pioneer 105 & 106 DVD Burners
Laptop: Dell Inspiron XPS 2, GeForce 6800go Ultra, 1.2GB DDR2-533 ram, 60GB HD, WUXGA 1920x1200 screen, DVD/CD-RW drive, Intel pro 2200 b/g wireless


"Every person has voices in their heads, whispered doubts and ambitions, dreams and nightmares. How much reality one gives them, how much you allow yourself to be controlled...that only you can decide"
Johnmcl7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 10:42 AM   #10
Firebreather
The ultimate poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom In my bedroom- where?, well somewhere in the UK.
Posts: 1,586
Firebreather is still being judged by the masses


Default

They are working on that, but atm u should be glad u even have 512k, seeing as how Bt are rolling out broadband in the Uk....
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ (90nm WINCHESTER)
ATI RADEON 9700 PRO 128MB DDR
PHILIPS RYTHMIC EDGE SOUND CARD
ABIT AV8 MOBO (VIA K8T800 PRO)
WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL WITH SP2
512K ADSL
DVD + CD-REWRITER (52x16x52)
120GB MAXTOR HARD DRIVE
ANTEC TRUEPOWER 430W PSU
Crucial 1024MB DDR RAM PC3200
Firebreather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 01:16 PM   #11
Nomad_1972
JACKARMY!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom U.K.
Posts: 450
Nomad_1972 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've been with Freeserve/Wanadoo for nearly two years. Upgraded from my 512k to a 1Mb line last week (£34.99 per month) and it flies! Never had any problems with them at all. I would definitely recommend them.
__________________
Pentium 4 550 3.4ghz
A-Bit AA8 Duramax
1gb DDR2 ram
ATI X850XT
Philips 52x32x52 CD Writer
Philips 16x Dual Layer DVD Writer
Maxtor 200gb SATA
Coolermaster Cavalier Aluminium Case
Samsung 29IM19 19" CRT
Nomad_1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 01:41 PM   #12
lumpyhed
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: England Limeysville
Posts: 13,637
lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Have you tried seeing if cable is availible in your area? Furthermore with adsl your line may not even be capable of 512k+ speeds. I sure know mine isn't.
lumpyhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 03:58 PM   #13
Mr_Skinny
Meh
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England England
Posts: 1,813
Mr_Skinny is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nomad_1972
I've been with Freeserve/Wanadoo for nearly two years. Upgraded from my 512k to a 1Mb line last week (£34.99 per month) and it flies! Never had any problems with them at all. I would definitely recommend them.
Same here although ive been with them for nearly 5 years, all of them trouble free
__________________
They mostly come at night...mostly....
Mr_Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 04:23 PM   #14
Deathbecomesyou
Blah!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England yes M'lady
Posts: 4,432
Deathbecomesyou is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Skinny
Same here although ive been with them for nearly 5 years, all of them trouble free
Also got the Wanadoo service, getting 100k per second. Would have thought i would get 120k ps, as per my previous 1 mb service from Blueyonder?

Any good way of testing?
__________________
'REMEMBER SOME PEOPLE ARE ALIVE SIMPLY BECAUSE IT IS ILLEGAL TO SHOOT THEM
Deathbecomesyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 04:41 PM   #15
Mr_Skinny
Meh
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England England
Posts: 1,813
Mr_Skinny is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Deathbecomesyou
Also got the Wanadoo service, getting 100k per second. Would have thought i would get 120k ps, as per my previous 1 mb service from Blueyonder?

Any good way of testing?
There are some sites where you can check your speed, cant remember what they are though. Ive had downloads at 120kps, but alot of sites i download from you are restricted to 100kps unless you subscribe to use the faster private servers
__________________
They mostly come at night...mostly....
Mr_Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 05:08 PM   #16
Jasef
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden Axis of Evil
Posts: 15,584
Jasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Woah, isn't that a pretty hefty price for 1mbit?
__________________
IDDQD, IDKFA
Jasef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2004, 05:49 PM   #17
Doozer
lollollollol
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England SE London, UK
Posts: 19,033
Doozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jasef
Woah, isn't that a pretty hefty price for 1mbit?
Yeah, but this is the UK
__________________
Mobo : Asus P8777-V LX2 Processor : Intel Core i5 3570K 3.40GHz @ 4.40GHz Memory : 8Gb RAM
Graphics Card : GeForce GTX 690 Sound : Asus Xonar DGX 5.1 O/S : Win7, Monitor : 3 x Samsung 23"

Nikon D7100,
Nikkor 16-35mf f4
Sigma 120-400mm
Nikon 18-55mm kit lens,
Sigma 70-300 APO Macro,
Nikkor 50mm f1.8,
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro HSM,
Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DG,
Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5 HSM,
Sigma x2 TC
Remote shutter release ,
Raynox D250 closeup/macro attachment,
Kenko extension tubes,
reverse lens adaptor,
Nikon SB800 flash,
Vivitar 285HV Flash unit,
Tripod (x2),
Monopod



Rage3d flickr Group
Doozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 08:39 AM   #18
WiseJoeyD
Otaku
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom Belfast
Posts: 569
WiseJoeyD is still being judged by the masses


Default

What technical way could they ovecome the distance limit? Also, what are the prices of broadband in other countries? A reply there seemed to be shocked at the prices in the UK...
WiseJoeyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 01:09 PM   #19
Sgt.Nathan
Get out of here lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England Nottingham
Posts: 865
Sgt.Nathan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WiseJoeyD
What technical way could they ovecome the distance limit? Also, what are the prices of broadband in other countries? A reply there seemed to be shocked at the prices in the UK...
my dutch friend has a 2mbit line for 25£
Sgt.Nathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 01:18 PM   #20
DrHLecter
Chemist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United Kingdom Nottingham
Posts: 867
DrHLecter is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think that Pipex Communications offer a 1024K service with unlimited usage for £33.
__________________

DrHLecter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 01:59 PM   #21
Jasef
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden Axis of Evil
Posts: 15,584
Jasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badgesJasef doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WiseJoeyD
Also, what are the prices of broadband in other countries? A reply there seemed to be shocked at the prices in the UK...
For a little less then £30, I think I could get about 10mbit where I live. There are also offers that gives me 8mbit and 2mbit for marginally less, it pretty much depends on where you liveand what the possibilities are at that place.
__________________
IDDQD, IDKFA
Jasef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 02:41 PM   #22
Lunar Wolf
arr ye scurvy noobs!!1
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,146
Lunar Wolf is still being judged by the masses


Default

To increse the range of DSL you have to reduce the upload speed, this can boost the range from about 4km to 5 maybe 6km. Alot is dependent on the quality of the wires, if their not copper and that nasty 60s Aliminum (sp) then that adds resistance and noise and cuts thing down even more. Thats part of the problem with the exchange areas in the sticks (distace and bad cable). BT are looking into wireless DSL, transmitted from the top of the nearest Telegraph pole, And there's a huge ongoing cable renewal project, its slow and costs a fortune but belive me BT know Broadband is its future, they actually make more out of broadband then just the standarrd Land-lines. Just be patient
Lunar Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2004, 02:44 PM   #23
Johnmcl7
Knowledge is Power
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland Inverness
Posts: 4,139
Johnmcl7 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Deathbecomesyou
Also got the Wanadoo service, getting 100k per second. Would have thought i would get 120k ps, as per my previous 1 mb service from Blueyonder?

Any good way of testing?
It's changed a little but this is quite a good speed test:

http://www.broadbandspeedtest.net/

John
__________________
Desktop: A64 3000, 1GB DDR400, Radeon X850XT, Seagate 120GB HD + WD 80GB, Pioneer 105 & 106 DVD Burners
Laptop: Dell Inspiron XPS 2, GeForce 6800go Ultra, 1.2GB DDR2-533 ram, 60GB HD, WUXGA 1920x1200 screen, DVD/CD-RW drive, Intel pro 2200 b/g wireless


"Every person has voices in their heads, whispered doubts and ambitions, dreams and nightmares. How much reality one gives them, how much you allow yourself to be controlled...that only you can decide"
Johnmcl7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK: Which new Broadband provider? Bladedog Off Topic Lounge 13 Mar 20, 2007 10:42 AM
Broadband Provider Download Limits Djinn Off Topic Lounge 31 Mar 14, 2007 12:04 AM
What cell provider do you have? citywok Off Topic Lounge 40 Feb 1, 2005 05:58 AM
Which DSL provider in London ? shombre Off Topic Lounge 5 May 10, 2004 12:58 PM
Is your cable provider doing this? gtrz AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 7 May 13, 2003 04:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink