Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2000, 01:28 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
thietavu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4
thietavu is still being judged by the masses


Unhappy

Yes, the performance of 64DDR varies very strangely... For example, Quake III or Unreal run just fine whereas 3Dmark 99 gets clearly worse (!) results than my old G400MAX! New Crimson Skies looks to be the worst performer of all; the framerate isn't playable at 1024x768 with full details, and it's choppy even at 800x600 & medium details. 640x480 software rendering mode is faster than the same Radeon-accelerated mode!

Can't be natural; something strange here. Using 7xxx-drivers (the ones everyone talks about), Tbird 1005 MHz, WinME, DX8, 256 Mb RAM. Just one thought: is C.Skies a 16-bit display-only game? At least my Radeon seems to love 32 bit and almost hate some 16-bit games...

Thanks for any info/advice!
T.
thietavu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2000, 01:50 PM   #2
Jolt2
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 149
Jolt2 is still being judged by the masses


Post

I play Crimson Skies and it runs great on my system. I have an Intel Celeron @850 on a Intel BX chipset motherboard. I'm running the same game settings as you, the 7020 drivers and DX8.

It would seem that the problem would be with the VIA chipset drivers or settings for the chipset, as a lot of post on this board are about the VIA problems. Not to many people have posted game problems that have the Intel chipsets. Do you the newest VIA 4in1 drivers? You may want to look at other posts here about the VIA problems in other games or check for info on Radeon setup.

Also, I have the newest patch for Crimson Skies installed (ver 1.02). I know the game played fine though with version 1.00.
Jolt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2000, 03:14 PM   #3
FarENheiT
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Canada Denver, CO
Posts: 1,714
FarENheiT is still being judged by the masses


Post

I also heard that getting one of the radeon tweakers and enabling fog helps too.

------------------
"You gotta get in where you fit in..."

· Asus K7M · Tbird 800=>963(107FSB*9x) · 128MB RAM · Win2k! · Radeon 32MB DDR · SB Live! Plat · IBM 7200RPM 20GB · Pioneer 10x DVD · Ricoh 4x4x20 ·
FarENheiT is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon & Crimson Skies - VERY Slow Performance?!? Pathian AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 Nov 25, 2000 05:26 PM
Radeon and Crimson Skies tschlief AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 10 Nov 14, 2000 12:42 AM
Radeon and Crimson Skies tschlief Radeon Technical Support 9 Nov 13, 2000 04:58 PM
Radeon 64m and Crimson Skies billharris44 Radeon Technical Support 11 Oct 18, 2000 05:40 PM
Radeon & Crimson Skies Chicane-UK AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Sep 28, 2000 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink