Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2002, 10:29 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
tempnexus
Chronic Repostinator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Terran Faction, Earth Sector
Posts: 5,933
tempnexus is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation Random Reboots

I just moved my girlfriend PC from a small case into an Chieftec Server case plus I added a new CompUSA 500W powersupply, connected all the fans (6 of them) and booted the pc. The pc boots normally it goes into windows XP and then once in Windows XP it just reboots at random. Sometimes it might function for 2 mintues somtimes for 5 seconds and sometimes for 8 minutes. The temperatures are following 35 for Mobo and 43 for CPU (after a while of rebooting) but it even rebooted when mobo was 29C and cpu 35C.
I don't think it's the CPU since it wouldn't boot at all unless I am wrong.

Any help would be greatlly appreciated since if I can't fix it I will have to spend the night sleeping on the sofa.
__________________
Athlon 2200+ @ (~1981) 47C/35C (idle)
GA-7VAXP (0-4 RAID 100G WD Special ED) / AX-7 w/ 4500RPM 50cfm Fan / Mushkin 512MB DDR-2700 / Radeon R200 285/285 / Lite-On 48X CDRW & Lite-on 16X DVD / C-media sound (6spk) (sold the audigy crap) / Firewire/USB 2 (preferr firewire)
"You need to delete your video card and format your modem, and install AOL on your motherboard"
"Windows is a 32-bit extensions to a 16-bit graphical shell for an 8-bit operating system originally coded for a 4-bit microprocessor by a 2-bit company that can't stand 1 bit of competition "
www.DJSystemIntegrators.com"
NOT FOLDING due to lack of $$$!! Folding costs you about $25 a month.
http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg
tempnexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2002, 11:44 AM   #2
Philibob
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom St. Helens, England
Posts: 224
Philibob is still being judged by the masses


Default

Usually this happens when there is not enough power. But 500W is definately enough. The PSU could be faulty. If you have another PSU somewhere try that and see if it still has problems.
Philibob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2002, 11:47 AM   #3
tempnexus
Chronic Repostinator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Terran Faction, Earth Sector
Posts: 5,933
tempnexus is still being judged by the masses


Default

I was thinking about that.
Thank you
Kind of shitty though since the PS is quite heavy and it has dual fans nice rail current and the MOBO diag. are showing all rails normal voltage. 3.3 is 3.29 etc.

Once again thanks
__________________
Athlon 2200+ @ (~1981) 47C/35C (idle)
GA-7VAXP (0-4 RAID 100G WD Special ED) / AX-7 w/ 4500RPM 50cfm Fan / Mushkin 512MB DDR-2700 / Radeon R200 285/285 / Lite-On 48X CDRW & Lite-on 16X DVD / C-media sound (6spk) (sold the audigy crap) / Firewire/USB 2 (preferr firewire)
"You need to delete your video card and format your modem, and install AOL on your motherboard"
"Windows is a 32-bit extensions to a 16-bit graphical shell for an 8-bit operating system originally coded for a 4-bit microprocessor by a 2-bit company that can't stand 1 bit of competition "
www.DJSystemIntegrators.com"
NOT FOLDING due to lack of $$$!! Folding costs you about $25 a month.
http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg
tempnexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random reboots. Help please! eezip General Hardware 16 Nov 7, 2006 10:31 AM
Random reboots, just too hot? komal General Hardware 21 Nov 9, 2003 06:45 PM
Random Reboots tempnexus General Hardware 3 Aug 29, 2003 08:52 PM
from random reboots to Uptime: (1d 2h 24m 31s) ¤ Madrican Radeon Technical Support 0 Mar 12, 2003 10:55 PM
Random Reboots!!! Need Advise!!! DigitalOv AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 10 Mar 2, 2003 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink