Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 19, 2005, 10:56 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Apocalypsee
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Malaysia Malaysia
Posts: 3,614
Apocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Lightbulb New CPU + mobo combo

After been brainstorming and discussed with my friends,its better for me to buy a new CPU+mobo.My CPU is too old to handle latest games (although its been o/c like hell).I especially need new CPU bcoz I play games at 1024x768 which is CPU limited(my monitor native res).But I want to ask something:

1)Is Sempron 64 socket 754 is good for gaming?I reads it have good o/cability which is excites me to find its max clock speed but is it better than my current P4?

2)Which one I better buy?Socket 754 or 939?Is Dual Channel DDR in socket 939 improves performance over socket 754 by a wide margin?

3)Between VIA and nForce chipset,which one is better e.g: VIA K8T800 vs. nForce 3 250GB?

I hope you guys can help me,this is a very tough desicion boz I have limited amount of money AND to reduce bottleneck(Im still a student)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjobob View Post
If 3 fans left the station at 10:30am cooling at a temp of 63c and one fan was derailed by a stray sata cable on the track, how long would it take all 3 fans to get on Seyiji's last nerve?

(a) Mmmm donuts
(b) 70c
(c) Hey there muscly arms, why the long face?
(d) Must use fire.
Apocalypsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:28 PM   #2
Shadowless
Deez Nuts
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Long Island, NY
Posts: 26,221
Shadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badgesShadowless doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Sempron's aren't really for gaming. Go with an athlon 3000+ venice. With that being said, go with socket 939. I'm bias towards NV chipsets.
__________________
Desktop - Corsair Carbide SPEC-02 Redshift | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero | AMD Ryzen 7 1700X | Hyper 212 EVO | 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 | 512GB Intel 660p | 2TB Seagate 7200.12 | 16x LG BD-Burner | MSI Armor OC GeForce GTX 1080 | Tt ToughPower Grand RGB 750w | Acer ET322QU | Windows 10 Pro
Shadowless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:35 PM   #3
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowless
Sempron's aren't really for gaming. Go with an athlon 3000+ venice. With that being said, go with socket 939. I'm bias towards NV chipsets.
QFT! Venice + Nforce = win
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:46 PM   #4
ShaidarHaran
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 24,941
ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator
QFT! Venice + RS/RD480 = win
Fixed

I think I'm going to sell my NF4 Ultra + Winnie and pick up a Halibut + Venice within the next month or two I've caught an o/c'ing fever since I picked up this A64 rig. I'm shooting for 2.8GHz
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2005, 11:48 PM   #5
Apocalypsee
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Malaysia Malaysia
Posts: 3,614
Apocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

Since I new to this technology,how do I identify a Venice core?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjobob View Post
If 3 fans left the station at 10:30am cooling at a temp of 63c and one fan was derailed by a stray sata cable on the track, how long would it take all 3 fans to get on Seyiji's last nerve?

(a) Mmmm donuts
(b) 70c
(c) Hey there muscly arms, why the long face?
(d) Must use fire.
Apocalypsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2005, 12:01 AM   #6
Apocalypsee
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Malaysia Malaysia
Posts: 3,614
Apocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

One more thing,the L2 cache reduction didnt bring any huge impact in performance,but in gaming a Sempron 128kB L2 cache is about 12-13% slower than Athlon 64 1MB L2 cache.But the gap closes with a 256kB L2 cache one,here the info from X-Bitlabs:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...on-2600_5.html
What do you guys think?
Apocalypsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2005, 12:06 AM   #7
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

When you order the CPU from an online retailer, they'll tell you which core revision it is.

As for Sempron... not only does it have less cache but it prevents you from ever installing XP x64 if you want to. And S754 does not have dual channel, so why bother wasting time with older technology?
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2005, 12:24 AM   #8
Apocalypsee
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Malaysia Malaysia
Posts: 3,614
Apocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

You mean I should buy an Athlon 64 s939?And how do I identify Venice core over the rest?
Apocalypsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2005, 12:48 AM   #9
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apocalypsee
You mean I should buy an Athlon 64 s939?And how do I identify Venice core over the rest?
Venice core is S939 yes.

And I can not tell you how to visually identify if it's a Venice, Winchester, SanDiego, or NewCastle core... the reseller/retailer will simply label it as such. If they don't, then ask them.

When the CPU is installed, you can use this program to confirm what core version it is:
http://www.cpuid.com
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2005, 12:57 AM   #10
Apocalypsee
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Malaysia Malaysia
Posts: 3,614
Apocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppersApocalypsee has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

OK thanks Gator (and the rest).Wait till I get enough money,im almost have it....if not I will buy Sempron s754+DFI LanParty NF3 250GB.Oh forgot to ask,what mobo good for o/cing s939?
Apocalypsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2005, 09:30 AM   #11
ShaidarHaran
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 24,941
ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Venice cores are rev E3, but don't actually say "E3" anywhere. You have to go by the last two digits in the first string of letters & numbers on the IHS. If the code ends in "BP" it's an E3 rev processor.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want a new mobo/CPU combo PacAce General Hardware 4 May 22, 2009 08:54 AM
Best CPU and Mobo combo Breadclaptrap General Hardware 3 Jun 27, 2005 02:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink