Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2004, 08:02 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Sirrius
0 BRAINS
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Southern Pines, NC
Posts: 604
Sirrius is still being judged by the masses


Default Sound card that supports dolby digital 5.1 Surround sound?

Are there any? I've got a reciever that supports it, with RCA and optical inputs, but I don't seem to get true surround sound out of my computer. Any suggestions?
__________________
What sig?
Sirrius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2004, 08:27 AM   #2
seeker010
chaotic evil
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7,734
seeker010 is still being judged by the masses


Default

if you mean dolby digital live, only solutions I'm aware of is nvidia SS (hardware), and Intel (software). both are onboard only.
__________________
Abort, Retry, Fail?
seeker010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2004, 10:43 AM   #3
lagadu
now with .2% more content
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portugal, somewhere between the keyboard and chair (sometimes between the cat and the chair)
Posts: 1,635
lagadu is still being judged by the masses


Default

from my understanding of your post you want either:

a) a card that can passthrough a DD\DTS stream to a receiver (ex. watching a dvd)

b) a card that can encode any sound played in the computer in a DD stream


if a is true, any card with digital inputs and outputs should be able to do that.

if b is true, like seeker010 said, you need a nforce 2 chipset with soundstorm and use DICE (athlonxp camp), or a 9x5 intel chipset with azalia sound and use DD live (p4 lga775 camp). if you have a socket 478 P4 or athlon64 you can't do it. (nforce4 is rumored to bring soundstorm back to the A64 by Q4 2004 tho)


[edit] remember that for you to have 5.1 surround, the source of the sound has to output it first, or have a DD prologic II decoder in your reciever.
__________________
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese!

Last edited by lagadu : Aug 5, 2004 at 10:45 AM. Reason: remembered something
lagadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a cheap Dolby Digital surround sound set! Hidavi Home Theaters and Photography 6 Mar 20, 2006 07:59 PM
13.1 Dolby Surround Sound Leprechaun General Hardware 60 Jan 13, 2005 03:46 PM
World's first Dolby Digital PCI Sound Card Shorty General Hardware 18 Jan 2, 2005 08:55 PM
Surround sound with cheap sound card. VW_Factor General Hardware 1 Jan 9, 2003 07:39 PM
Dolby Pro Logic II Surround Sound for Nintendo GameCube Kain Console Gaming 20 Oct 1, 2001 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink