Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2008, 10:38 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Inq
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 39
Inq is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies Displayport adapter

Hey, I recently bought a sapphire 4870 golden sample and it has 2x dvi outputs and a displayport.

illustrated here:



The problem is that my home theatre doesn't recognize those so I need to convert the output to s-video/rca/scart.

I've been googling a lot but I'm not sure what kind of adapter would suit my needs, or does one even exist?
You probably figured I have an old crt telly so I don't need hifi or 1080p, all I need is an old, analog way to input video to my system
Inq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2008, 11:44 AM   #2
Qualitier
UltraRacer PC forever
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spain Madrid
Posts: 1,911
Qualitier is still being judged by the masses


Default

It should be a Gainward, not a Sapphire. All Sapphire 4870's including the X2 have an s-video port between the two DVI's (DVI-I flavor which include the analog VGA signals).

The CRT should be connected through the DVI-I to VGA adapter if you were asking that.

According to these pages, an s-video to composite adapter is included. There's also an adapter for components, I suppose that from s-video too (I cannot see it well in the pdf and the Spanish shop doesn't specify it, it just says "1 components/HDTV output (3 RCA's)" under the paragraph "connections through adapter").
http://www.gainward.de/media/files/S..._datasheet.pdf
http://www.alternate.es/html/product...wTechData=true

But I cannot see how to use these with that card, although the Spanish site says that it features an s-video output (it lists it under the paragraph "direct connections").
__________________

Windows XP 32 pro + Windows Vista 32 Ultimate, CCC + ATi Tray Tools
Club3D HD4890 Superclocked Edition (950/1050·4) with Accelero S1 rev2 + Turbo Module (2 80mm low-profile fans w/o frame)
LCD Samsung SyncMaster T260 (26", 1920x1200)
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P (socket AM3, chipset AMD-790FX)
Phenom II X4 955-BE @ stock
4x2GB Geil DDR3-1333 7-7-7-24-33 1.5V @ 1333MHz 7-7-7-24-33-1T 1.6V; dual channel enabled; unganged mode
Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 with gameport, AverMedia AVerTV Hybrid Super007
2x WD 640GB Caviar Blue (SATA) in RAID 0, DVD reader (IDE), 2 DVD recorders (SATA+IDE), floppy drive, card reader
Corsair VX-550W, one +12V x 41A rail, 81-85% efficiency



Windows XP 32 pro, no CCC, ATi Tray Tools
Sapphire X1950pro 512MB AGP (580/702·2 MHz) with Accelero X2
CRT Nokia 446Xpro (19", 107 kHz) @ 1600x1200x75Hz (desktop) or 1280x1024x85Hz (games)
Asrock AM2NF3-VSTA (nForce3 250); [email protected] MHz (motherboard limitation, 3216MB/s up + 3216MB/s down)
Athlon64 X2 5000+ Brisbane (@13*201=2613MHz)
2x2GB Buffalo 2.1V + 2x1GB Kingston 2.0V, both DDR2-800 [email protected] 2*373MHz (2613/7) 4-4-4-12-2T 2.0V; dual channel enabled
56k modem, drives etc
Corsair VX-450W, one +12V x 33A rail, 81-85% efficiency
190W maximum consumption from the wall (monitor apart)
Qualitier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2008, 04:13 AM   #3
Inq
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 39
Inq is still being judged by the masses


Default

Oh yeah sorry, it's a gainward.

The only adapter in the box was dvi -> analog monitor.
Is there any way to get rca/scart/s-video output from this card?
Inq is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 14, 2008, 10:22 AM   #4
Qualitier
UltraRacer PC forever
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spain Madrid
Posts: 1,911
Qualitier is still being judged by the masses


Default

I suspect that there isn't an easy way. There are converters in the market but they aren't just adapters, they are devices and aren't cheap. I would ask to the vendor or email Gainward. I had assumed that the card has an inner s-video plug plus the adapters. Maybe there are different revisions and my links above describe other one, or even they have mixed info in error.

If you can return it still you could do so and get some other model, but take into account two details:

- S-video plugs require a mod to get color images (instead of b/w) in some cases, which I don't know exactly if it's for PAL, European s-video or what. The most handy way is to buy an adapter between s-video and scart and do the mod inside it, or getting it done by a technician. The mod is just a capacitor between two pins.

- Not all vcard models give clear VGA at high resolutions. The issue is just random although I believe that it depends on the model, not on the sample. If your vcard does it okay, you might want to use it despite other drawbacks.
__________________

Windows XP 32 pro + Windows Vista 32 Ultimate, CCC + ATi Tray Tools
Club3D HD4890 Superclocked Edition (950/1050·4) with Accelero S1 rev2 + Turbo Module (2 80mm low-profile fans w/o frame)
LCD Samsung SyncMaster T260 (26", 1920x1200)
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P (socket AM3, chipset AMD-790FX)
Phenom II X4 955-BE @ stock
4x2GB Geil DDR3-1333 7-7-7-24-33 1.5V @ 1333MHz 7-7-7-24-33-1T 1.6V; dual channel enabled; unganged mode
Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 with gameport, AverMedia AVerTV Hybrid Super007
2x WD 640GB Caviar Blue (SATA) in RAID 0, DVD reader (IDE), 2 DVD recorders (SATA+IDE), floppy drive, card reader
Corsair VX-550W, one +12V x 41A rail, 81-85% efficiency



Windows XP 32 pro, no CCC, ATi Tray Tools
Sapphire X1950pro 512MB AGP (580/702·2 MHz) with Accelero X2
CRT Nokia 446Xpro (19", 107 kHz) @ 1600x1200x75Hz (desktop) or 1280x1024x85Hz (games)
Asrock AM2NF3-VSTA (nForce3 250); [email protected] MHz (motherboard limitation, 3216MB/s up + 3216MB/s down)
Athlon64 X2 5000+ Brisbane (@13*201=2613MHz)
2x2GB Buffalo 2.1V + 2x1GB Kingston 2.0V, both DDR2-800 [email protected] 2*373MHz (2613/7) 4-4-4-12-2T 2.0V; dual channel enabled
56k modem, drives etc
Corsair VX-450W, one +12V x 33A rail, 81-85% efficiency
190W maximum consumption from the wall (monitor apart)
Qualitier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2008, 10:40 AM   #5
Spiritwalker
If you could see me now
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lake Chaparral
Posts: 924
Spiritwalker is still being judged by the masses


Default

The only way that I can think of is if you can get the dvi to vga and then find an old ati breakout box on ebay and plug the former cable into it...

Not sure if it will work though.
__________________
Just cut the tihs and give me the facts ;)
Spiritwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2008, 12:59 PM   #6
Idle Wild
Up and away!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, England, UK
Posts: 1,824
Idle Wild can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyIdle Wild can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

You can get little media boxes which will convert vga or dvi to s-video and composite as the guy above states.

However if I was you I'd buy a new TV with DVI or HDMI, flat panel is the future and pretty cheap at the minute specially with the credit crunch, besides the quality of s-video is poor.
Idle Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2008, 04:21 AM   #7
Inq
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 39
Inq is still being judged by the masses


Default

Looks like I'll start to save money for a new telly then

Thanks for replies!
Inq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2008, 03:29 PM   #8
Auric
Bananad
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,470
Auric is still being judged by the masses


Default

Modern cards do not generally have an S-Video jack however they do usually have a mini-DIN jack which is capable of composite, S-Video, and component output.

Can the card not be exchanged for one with the mini-DIN? At least then the current TV could be used in the meantime. Does the TV also have component input? An active VGA to SCART convertor would probably not be worth buying. A quick search reveals there are DIY methods for VGA to SCART RGB but I would just go with the card with a mini-DIN. Then again, DP may be desirable if the PC display will be upgraded in the near future and if intending to replace the TV anyway.
__________________
Look on the bright side, one day our sun will supernova red giant and this won't even be a memory.

Last edited by Auric : Oct 17, 2008 at 03:35 PM.
Auric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini displayport adapter in 6900 series? LordJuanlo Radeon Technical Support 4 Dec 16, 2010 10:54 AM
DisplayPort on/off issue Galmok AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 11 Oct 4, 2010 04:27 PM
Displayport vga adapters Bitey AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Jun 30, 2010 11:14 PM
Active Displayport Adapter Display issues hunuok Radeon Technical Support 3 Apr 28, 2010 02:17 PM
question about displayport jtpeace General Hardware 2 Aug 30, 2009 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink