Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 5, 2007, 11:10 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
garrett0168
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
garrett0168 is still being judged by the masses


Default X1900 XTX 512 MB prevents computer from booting

I purchased my Powercolor card a long time ago (1/2006) from Newegg, and have been using it until now. Sometimes, the fan on my card just keeps spinning really loudly at bootup and just halts my computer from booting. At first I thought it was my powersupply or motherboard or some other components, but eventually after some tweaking with my components, my computer was fine. But recently, this issue has resurfaced again, and I decided to test whether it was my video card.
I switched my card with another PCI-E card and boots up fine. I tried my card in another (more powerful) computer and the fan spins loudly again and no video output.
Now, there's a lot of evidence pointing against my card, but I just wanted to ask around to see if anybody else has this problem. Is this a known issue with X1900 cards? Or perhaps it may be another component in my computer?

Relevant system specs in case they may be useful:
Ultra X-Connect 500 W power supply
Intel D915PBL Desktop Board
Intel Pentium 4 3.4 Ghz w/HT
3 GB PC4200 DDR2 RAM
Powercolor X1900 XTX 512 MB

Thanks!
garrett0168 is offline  
Old May 5, 2007, 04:04 PM   #2
garrett0168
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
garrett0168 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Actually, it may seem that there's no signal to my monitor. Could it be my video card, power supply, or maybe the PCI-E power cable?
garrett0168 is offline  
Old May 5, 2007, 05:22 PM   #3
TV Addict#2
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 391
TV Addict#2 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I suspect that psu but this could be a case of a failing gpu as easy,I would start at those two parts,rma if possible
__________________
system is:
NHD15S/[email protected]X-99A...32G [email protected] MSIGTX980TiGaming... 850EVO... x-fi/logitech680z... thermaltakeCore71...Seasonic850w...Samsung UN40KU62904K
...10prox64
TV Addict#2 is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 5, 2007, 06:52 PM   #4
garrett0168
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
garrett0168 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well, I tried the board in 2 systems, and the fan just keeps spinning and no signal to monitor. I really doubt it could be 2 failing power supplies. However, the power supplies (600W and 500W) I'm using don't have PCI-E connectors. I think it might be the PCI-E power connector or the board. Unfortunately, it looks like my warranty's already expired from ATI, so I'll try and open a RMA ticket from Powercolor.
garrett0168 is offline  
Old May 6, 2007, 06:37 AM   #5
Guybo
Anonymous Proletariat
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States The Big Guava
Posts: 3,063
Guybo is still being judged by the masses


Question

Quote:
However, the power supplies (600W and 500W) I'm using don't have PCI-E connectors
How do you power them? They need to be plugged in to run correctly.
Guybo is offline  
Old May 6, 2007, 09:31 AM   #6
garrett0168
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
garrett0168 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I power my video card using the 4 pin molex to 6 pin PCI-E power adapter that came with my video card. However, the adapter that connects to the 4 pin molex only has 3 pins (maybe purposely made for this card?)
I know that newer power supplies have a 6 pin PCI-E connector that connects directly to the video card.
garrett0168 is offline  
Old May 8, 2007, 05:42 PM   #7
skyguy
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 687
skyguy is still being judged by the masses


Default Same problem but with agp

I also have this issue, only with a x1950pro Sapphire agp card 512mb. If I'm lucky, rebooting will get video but otherwise, it will show no video. My belief is the digital VRMs on the card are faulty or overheating, and need better cooling.

I've sent it in for RMA but the same problem occurs.

I have an Antec Neo 550 watt, and my card has 2 molex connectors for power.
skyguy is offline  
Old Apr 28, 2010, 10:46 AM   #8
alexmangano77
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
alexmangano77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrett0168 View Post
I purchased my Powercolor card a long time ago (1/2006) from Newegg, and have been using it until now. Sometimes, the fan on my card just keeps spinning really loudly at bootup and just halts my computer from booting. At first I thought it was my powersupply or motherboard or some other components, but eventually after some tweaking with my components, my computer was fine. But recently, this issue has resurfaced again, and I decided to test whether it was my video card.
I switched my card with another PCI-E card and boots up fine. I tried my card in another (more powerful) computer and the fan spins loudly again and no video output.
Now, there's a lot of evidence pointing against my card, but I just wanted to ask around to see if anybody else has this problem. Is this a known issue with X1900 cards? Or perhaps it may be another component in my computer?

Relevant system specs in case they may be useful:
Ultra X-Connect 500 W power supply
Intel D915PBL Desktop Board
Intel Pentium 4 3.4 Ghz w/HT
3 GB PC4200 DDR2 RAM
Powercolor X1900 XTX 512 MB

Thanks!

i am having the same issue. did you ever figure out what the cause was?
alexmangano77 is offline  
Old Apr 28, 2010, 01:36 PM   #9
mrbaggs
Ashes to Ashes
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 890
mrbaggs is still being judged by the masses


Default

I actually had the same issue initially with my 4870, where it would spin up but give no signal to the monitor on boot but occasionally work with several reboots. I upgraded my PSU and changed mobos and its been fine since, i'm guessing one of those was at issue, leaning toward the PSU being the most likely cause.
__________________
PSN: mrbaggs
XLive: ChopperDave Z
mrbaggs is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer no longer booting up! Quickstrike General Hardware 6 Dec 31, 2007 04:30 PM
ATIRW.EXE Prevents computer from entering standby... RareWare Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion 2 Sep 26, 2005 01:55 PM
Problem when booting up the computer. Queens Of The S Operating Systems 7 Jun 11, 2004 11:06 PM
Artifacts after booting computer MarleyGPN AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Aug 29, 2003 05:30 PM
I am having a problem with booting up my computer :( Garbagegeo General Hardware 6 Nov 24, 2002 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink