Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Other Discussions » [GenHardware] Networking [Archived]
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

[GenHardware] Networking [Archived] NICs, routers, switches, hubs, software and hardware firewalls, servers, server Operating Systems, wired or wireless LANs WANs and WiFi. If it's used to communicate between multiple computers or devices, it goes in here.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2007, 12:07 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
kingofslackerz
busy doing nothin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,792
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default Wireless pings

Would just like to know the response times of your wireless routers and setups. I'm trying to find out how responsive mine is, and if I should switch the firmware, or if the router is bad.

Basically I about every 10-15 pings, I'll get a timout or two or three.

If you don't know how to ping your router here:

>open up command prompt
ping [router adress: ex:192.168.1.1] -t

This will ping the router untill you hit control>c to stop it.

Basically my pings range from 7-21ms and I'd just like to compare to other wireless connections.
kingofslackerz is offline  
Old Nov 24, 2007, 08:11 PM   #2
guest
ATi VGA Wonder
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Login Prompt
Posts: 25,063
guest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

C:\>ping 192.168.0.1 -t
Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 8, Received = 8, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Edit: Note that power saving settings on your wireless card can REALLY screw your speed and ping times over.
guest is offline  
Old Nov 24, 2007, 08:54 PM   #3
kingofslackerz
busy doing nothin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,792
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guest View Post
C:\>ping 192.168.0.1 -t
Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 8, Received = 8, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Edit: Note that power saving settings on your wireless card can REALLY screw your speed and ping times over.
Something you can just change in the device settings?

I'm using a wireless adapter, (netgear WG111v2) it's crap. But I'm wondering if my LInksys is dying, or the TOmato firmware is just crap, my wireless is unstable as hell.
kingofslackerz is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 24, 2007, 10:11 PM   #4
kingofslackerz
busy doing nothin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,792
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

I didn't notice any powersave settings in my device manager, something I'm missing?
kingofslackerz is offline  
Old Nov 24, 2007, 10:40 PM   #5
guest
ATi VGA Wonder
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Login Prompt
Posts: 25,063
guest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofslackerz View Post
I didn't notice any powersave settings in my device manager, something I'm missing?
It's normally in the advanced settings of your network adapter under device manager.
guest is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2007, 02:21 PM   #6
kingofslackerz
busy doing nothin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,792
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guest View Post
It's normally in the advanced settings of your network adapter under device manager.
Ya I have some for my (no longer working) PCI card, but none for the USB adapter. just WOL settings and such. No powersave for the the USB I guess.

It's crap anyways, I think I'm just going to make the effort to hardwire everything. ty for the help
kingofslackerz is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2007, 03:45 PM   #7
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Dell Latitude D630 w/onboard Dell WLAN 1490 running Vista x32, to Linksys WRT54G running DD-WRT firmware.

Code:
C:\>ping 192.168.1.1 -t

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 21, Received = 21, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2007, 04:49 PM   #8
SteadVéx
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,177
SteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

i'd mess around with the aerial or position of the usb dongle...

my ping (usb dongle for wireless)

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1218ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 46, Received = 45, Lost = 1 (2% loss)
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1218ms, Average = 29ms
Control-C
^C

Although i've noticed my pci wireless card gets much better pings, normally 1-2ms contiunally, (my pc is right on the limit of the range of the router) althogh vista has a bug in which the card's drivers refuse to load for somereason when I have more than 2 gig of ram installed so i'm stuck with usb for time being
SteadVéx is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2007, 06:29 PM   #9
Roxen
Drunk sexy prick
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Earth-that-was
Posts: 8,894
Roxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Maybe you could get better results by changing the wireless channel.

You should also take into account other things that could cause dropped packets and bad signals, how far are you setup from the router, what is in between, what channel are you on, are there other wireless networks in the area, if so what channels are they running on?
__________________
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Roxen is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2007, 08:09 PM   #10
kingofslackerz
busy doing nothin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,792
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirRoxen View Post
Maybe you could get better results by changing the wireless channel.

You should also take into account other things that could cause dropped packets and bad signals, how far are you setup from the router, what is in between, what channel are you on, are there other wireless networks in the area, if so what channels are they running on?
I've done all that, tried various channels. Used a program called Network Stumbler to find out what channels and what strength is around me.

I'm in an apartment complex, so things are tough. I haven't figured out if it's the dongle's, the router, or just the environment.

So, without spending the extra money and time to figure it out, I'll take a 100 ft of cat5 from work and run it in the Wire Trim that's already there for the RG6/cable.

I'd rather have pings of <1ms than pings of 2ms, 2ms, 580ms,

Although I'm pretty sure it's my dongle that's most of the problem, roomate doesn't have near the problems. But mine will drop to 1MB while throttlling, and then when activity has stoped, it'll shoot back up to 46 or 54mb/s . When this happens speedtest will drop from 3Mb's to 500Kb's on both machines, mine will drop worse because of the wireless connection.

It's just not worth dealing with. With a whole new setup I'd be fine, don't have the $$ tho.

Last edited by kingofslackerz : Nov 25, 2007 at 08:12 PM.
kingofslackerz is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2007, 08:43 PM   #11
Dr. Zhivago
Sound: Serious Business
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Oregon
Posts: 8,256
Dr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofslackerz View Post
Ya I have some for my (no longer working) PCI card, but none for the USB adapter. just WOL settings and such. No powersave for the the USB I guess.

It's crap anyways, I think I'm just going to make the effort to hardwire everything. ty for the help
USB Wireless networking sucks [email protected] Get a PCI Wireless card if you want better performance.

My .02
__________________


Bedroom PC - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - AMD 1100T @3.7/4GHz - H50 - 8GB DDR3-1600 - HD 7870 OC - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 640GB Blue - Xonar DX - LG BDROM - Logitech 6110 - TT Volos - Antec 900 - CM 500W PSU - Samsung 32" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - BIC L/R & MTX Surround Speakers - Mission C70 Center - Sony 10" Sub - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

HTPC - Gigabyte GA-890GPA~UD3H - AthlonII X4 630 - HD6450 - 8GB DDR3-1333 - WD 500GB Black - WD 640GB Green - WD 2TB Green - LG BDROM - Ceton InfiniTV 4 w/ MCE Remote - Logitech MX5000 Laser Desktop - Corsair 450W - Silverstone LC10B-E - Sharp Aquos 46" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - PE 15" Sub - Classic Mission Speakers - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

Office PC - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H - Intel 3570K - 16GB DDR3-1866 - HD 7950 FLEX - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 500GB Blue - WD 1TB Black - Xonar DX - Corsair 600W PSU - Antec ON1E - Logitech G5 - Logitech USB Media KB - AOC 23" LCD - Creative Inspire 2.1 - Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

5x Presentation Machines - Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 - FX-8350 w/ FX WC - 8GB DDR3-1600 - 5870 or 7870 Eyefinity 6 - 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB - WD 500GB Black - DVDRW - Cooler Master Sileo 500 - 600W PSU - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit - Office 2010 Pro
Dr. Zhivago is offline  
Old Nov 25, 2007, 09:50 PM   #12
kingofslackerz
busy doing nothin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,792
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Zhivago View Post
USB Wireless networking sucks [email protected] Get a PCI Wireless card if you want better performance.

My .02
I agree, but got this one free through the cable company. I have a PCI card but it's busted.
kingofslackerz is offline  
Old Nov 26, 2007, 05:59 AM   #13
SteadVéx
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,177
SteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I had a netgear usb dongle, replaced that almost instantly, this (super cheap) link tp usb (£4 on ebay) one I have is a million times better, but its still not as reliable as the pci card, you can get pci cards pretty cheap, but then if your never going to move your pc, i'm guessing the cable would be the easier option!
SteadVéx is offline  
Old Nov 26, 2007, 07:35 AM   #14
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Check out the cyber monday deals for free wifi cards. bound to be some somewhere.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Nov 26, 2007, 06:13 PM   #15
kingofslackerz
busy doing nothin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,792
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Check out the cyber monday deals for free wifi cards. bound to be some somewhere.
Just got done hardwiring, no more f'n with it. thanks
kingofslackerz is offline  
Old Nov 26, 2007, 07:17 PM   #16
guest
ATi VGA Wonder
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Login Prompt
Posts: 25,063
guest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Dell Latitude D630 w/onboard Dell WLAN 1490 running Vista x32, to Linksys WRT54G running DD-WRT firmware.
I forgot to mention mine was a HP laptop running Vista x64 to a Linksys 350N running DD-WRT firmware.
guest is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got myself some wireless headphones! ( Hauppauge Xfones PC-2400 wireless ) Pirate Neilsouth General Hardware 0 Dec 20, 2008 02:02 AM
Just got a complete set of Pings for 300$ Justin Credible Off Topic Lounge 3 May 5, 2004 01:39 AM
Linksys WRT54G wireless router-2 Belkin USB Wireless Adapters - F5D6050 udoh General Hardware 4 Jun 3, 2003 03:25 PM
lord of the pings Red Dragon Tong Off Topic Lounge 19 Dec 31, 2001 12:03 PM
Half-life (tfc) pings Blubuzardd Radeon Technical Support 1 May 8, 2001 09:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink