Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 2, 2009, 06:50 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default Looking to replace cooler of HD 3870...

Unfortunately, I can't figure out how many pins there are on the fan power connector... anyone know a place that lists it? I tried shutting it off and looking, but I don't want to take it out until I get the replacement because of how bitchy the screw slot is for it.

Are most of these things 3 pin?
Adanu is offline  
Old Sep 2, 2009, 07:06 AM   #2
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adanu View Post
Unfortunately, I can't figure out how many pins there are on the fan power connector... anyone know a place that lists it? I tried shutting it off and looking, but I don't want to take it out until I get the replacement because of how bitchy the screw slot is for it.

Are most of these things 3 pin?
It's 4 pin for the fan.
http://benchmarkreviews.com/images/r...3870_Power.jpg
http://benchmarkreviews.com/images/r...70_NoCool2.jpg
http://www.legitreviews.com/images/r...3870_power.jpg
Sound_Card is offline  
Old Sep 2, 2009, 07:16 AM   #3
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I can't tell from those pictures, but I'll take your word for it...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118117

That's what I'm looking at as a replacement. Do you have any recommendations?
Adanu is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 2, 2009, 08:13 AM   #4
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adanu View Post
I can't tell from those pictures, but I'll take your word for it...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118117

That's what I'm looking at as a replacement. Do you have any recommendations?
You must have bad eye sight...
A re you looking for silence or cooling? Or both?
Sound_Card is offline  
Old Sep 2, 2009, 09:20 AM   #5
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I typically wear a headset, and loud fans don't bother me, so 85 cooling and 15 silence.

It isn't that I have nad eyesight, it's that I can't tell where the fan pin connectors are.
Adanu is offline  
Old Sep 2, 2009, 09:30 AM   #6
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I would opt a bit higher to the VF900 if you can.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118001
Sound_Card is offline  
Old Sep 2, 2009, 06:20 PM   #7
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 14,457
DaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

BTW, if you go with a 3 pin cooler and your one ends up being 4, you can still use it just by plugging it in like a case fan in the vast majority of cases. Sure, then you don't get automatic speed control, but you could use another case fan speed controller or just get one quiet enough for it to not be a problem.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 7770k : 16GB EVGA DDR4 2400 : Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Windforce X2 : Gigabyte GA-H270-WIFI : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Samsung 1440p 32" Monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 10 Pro x64
Tablet: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 : Intel Core i5-6300U : 8GB DDR3 : Intel 520 Integrated : 256GB SSD : 12.3" 2736x1824 display : Windows 10 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600 : Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline  
Old Sep 2, 2009, 06:23 PM   #8
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

The compatibility list doesn't show an HD 3870 on that Zalman you linked to SC... are you sure it'll go on?
Adanu is offline  
Old Sep 2, 2009, 09:31 PM   #9
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adanu View Post
The compatibility list doesn't show an HD 3870 on that Zalman you linked to SC... are you sure it'll go on?
Neither does it show my HD 4850 but I have one on mine. AFIK, the HD 4850 and HD 3850 (and x1900/x1800) have the same bracket lay out. I see no reason why not.
Sound_Card is offline  
Old Sep 3, 2009, 09:23 AM   #10
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Well, I can always return it.
Adanu is offline  
Old Sep 4, 2009, 06:15 AM   #11
cmar
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia The Great South East
Posts: 3,038
cmar is still being judged by the masses


Default

My 3870 has one of those fitted as standard (Gigabyte Ultra durable model) it's an excellent cooler, quiet and efficient.
__________________
Once I used to have a life - then I bought a PC
cmar is offline  
Old Sep 14, 2009, 02:04 AM   #12
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Well, I bought it, but I wasn't aware of the fan control... I don't really want to manage the fan speeds, so is there a way to set it via the computer?
Adanu is offline  
Old Sep 14, 2009, 08:42 PM   #13
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

fan control? meaning

it has no auto?
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline  
Old Sep 15, 2009, 12:24 PM   #14
warmonger180
Zionist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,112
warmonger180 once held a door open for a complete strangerwarmonger180 once held a door open for a complete strangerwarmonger180 once held a door open for a complete strangerwarmonger180 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

i've got this on both my 3870s http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118037 they come with a fan controller too
__________________
ATi, the way it's meant to be played

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. Franklin

When the government fears the people, there is liberty. When the people fear the government, there is tyranny. Thomas Jefferson
warmonger180 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 2010, 03:46 PM   #15
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Well... I just found out that either I am a dunce at replacing these, or this thing will not work on my card. It's a two pin connector for the fan.

I wasn't aware http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102732 was apparently different from others cooler wise... great.

I may get a cheap one for now, then buy a new one next month.... or am I missing something here that should allow me to connect it? The zalman is 3 pin.

Actually... I should be able to get an adapter to get this to work, shouldn't I?

Last edited by Adanu : Feb 9, 2010 at 03:49 PM.
Adanu is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2010, 01:45 PM   #16
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

connect to mobo 3pin 'case fan' connector, which probably can also be set to certain speeds in the bios
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline  
Old Feb 11, 2010, 08:58 AM   #17
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

It looks like the wire will reach, so I'll do that later.

One thing though...do I *need* to put on the ram heatsinks? I only have six of them... I may put what is there on the farther ones and use my fan to help cool down the 'front' ones... or can I simply leave them be?
Adanu is offline  
Old Feb 11, 2010, 04:34 PM   #18
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

you have chips on both sides of the card? you could put the sinks on just the back side i guess
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline  
Old Feb 16, 2010, 05:02 AM   #19
Adanu
MRA in Residence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Mustafar
Posts: 11,515
Adanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete strangerAdanu once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Got it in... and now I'm pretty sure my GPU diode sensor is broken. I'm getting normal temperatures of 112 in ME2 with no graphical glitches in game while the fins are lukewarm at most.

Edit: Ok... is it possible for temperatures to jump 30C in under a second at the GPU diode?

Last edited by Adanu : Feb 16, 2010 at 05:38 AM.
Adanu is offline  
Old Feb 20, 2010, 12:07 AM   #20
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

30C? shouldnt be possible at all...

does the 3870 have the extra temp sensors like 4870? (in addition to core, there's shader, mem, vrms, ambient)
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good cooler for 3870 IM_ShambleS General Hardware 13 Jul 6, 2008 09:24 PM
New Sapphire HD 3870 single-slot cooler Arghuin AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 23 Jan 17, 2008 06:55 AM
Replace x1900xtx cooler with a x1950xtx stock cooler possible? knell2 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 2 Nov 7, 2006 11:24 PM
Replace of the stock cooler on a x1900xtx and warranty antonl Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 4 Oct 5, 2006 02:41 AM
Hmmm! Should I replace the cooler on my Radeon 8500?! tuphdc Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 7 Jan 21, 2003 02:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink