Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2009, 10:19 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Stoned Bob
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands Amsterdam
Posts: 3,781
Stoned Bob is still being judged by the masses


Default Installing XP after Win 7...

I'm trying to install XP on d: and I have Win 7 installed on c: but after copying the files in the setup of xp I get this message "Error loading operating system".
Now I cant boot anything anymore .

I tried to use the boot repair option of the Win7 cd but that didn't help.
Then I tried the g:\boot\bootsect.exe /nt52 ALL command(read this could help somewhere) but this didn't help either.
Running xp setup again doesn't help either.

So now I'm stuck with no OS at all .
Any ideas?
Stoned Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 05:35 PM   #2
Perky McGiggles
I see what you did there
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Highway 20
Posts: 21,269
Perky McGiggles is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried doing this. It was a royal pain in the ass, lots of googling involved.. and even then it didn't seem to work right. Most suggestions didn't work like explained.

I ended up formatting and installing XP first then Windows 7.
__________________
Perky McGiggles
And he sayeth unto Perky, the numbers 2, 5, and/or 7 are an
abomination and should never be used in an internet forum
name, so sayeth the Lord.
- Penguins 22, chapter 3, verse 8
Perky McGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 05:45 PM   #3
AluminumHaste
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Home
Posts: 8,239
AluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

That shouldn't have happened, the XP bootloader should have just overwritten the Vista/Win7 bootloader. I've done this a bunch of times with XP/Vista. Hmmmmm, sounds like you might be screwed. You could try installing Win7 over top of Win7 (Windows installer backups up the contents of the entire partition into a folder called windows.old).

Once you get into Win7 you can then use EasyBCD to add Win XP to the bootloader and have it rewrite the MBR.
__________________
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
AluminumHaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 2, 2009, 06:34 PM   #4
Perky McGiggles
I see what you did there
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Highway 20
Posts: 21,269
Perky McGiggles is still being judged by the masses


Default

^ Does not work the way you say it does.

Maybe with Vista it did, but 7 changed things. Forever.

Yes, I did the BCD edit via command prompt, the program. I tried dozens of things. It simply vanishes.

Best and easiest way to fix it is format, install XP first, then install Windows 7.
__________________
Perky McGiggles
And he sayeth unto Perky, the numbers 2, 5, and/or 7 are an
abomination and should never be used in an internet forum
name, so sayeth the Lord.
- Penguins 22, chapter 3, verse 8
Perky McGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 06:49 PM   #5
AluminumHaste
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Home
Posts: 8,239
AluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I've reinstalled Windows 7 on my laptop because I ****ed it up 6 times now, and everytime the installer finds Windows already installed and backs it up. This is with RC1, RTM and Dell OEM
__________________
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
AluminumHaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 07:46 PM   #6
Perky McGiggles
I see what you did there
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Highway 20
Posts: 21,269
Perky McGiggles is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeah, you've reinstalled windows 7 on a machine with XP already on it. The problem is installing XP AFTER Windows 7 is installed.

Try it, tell me how you did it and I'll see if I can repeat the process.
__________________
Perky McGiggles
And he sayeth unto Perky, the numbers 2, 5, and/or 7 are an
abomination and should never be used in an internet forum
name, so sayeth the Lord.
- Penguins 22, chapter 3, verse 8
Perky McGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 07:51 PM   #7
AluminumHaste
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Home
Posts: 8,239
AluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

lol no thanks
__________________
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
AluminumHaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2009, 09:36 PM   #8
FiggyG
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,233
FiggyG once held a door open for a complete strangerFiggyG once held a door open for a complete strangerFiggyG once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Have you tried reinstalling the MBR from the Windows 7 installation medium? The boot repair in Windows 7/Vista doesn't seem to try that when I overwrote the MBR on a machine with grub accidentally.... It seems that installing XP after 7 or Vista seems to overwrite the bootsector as well. Here are the respective commands.

bootrec /fixboot
bootrec /fixmbr

Where I got the commands.
FiggyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 04:27 AM   #9
Stoned Bob
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands Amsterdam
Posts: 3,781
Stoned Bob is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiggyG View Post
Have you tried reinstalling the MBR from the Windows 7 installation medium? The boot repair in Windows 7/Vista doesn't seem to try that when I overwrote the MBR on a machine with grub accidentally.... It seems that installing XP after 7 or Vista seems to overwrite the bootsector as well. Here are the respective commands.

bootrec /fixboot
bootrec /fixmbr

Where I got the commands.
Yup tried that as well.
I guess Ill just remove win 7 and install xp first, the installation was only a few days old so its not so bad.
Stoned Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 08:34 AM   #10
Stoned Bob
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands Amsterdam
Posts: 3,781
Stoned Bob is still being judged by the masses


Default

This is strange, now the harddrive stops the pc from booting... it just stops after detecting in the post.
Tried it on 3 different computers and all hang after detecting it.

Its a maxtor diamondmax plus 9 120gb sata disk.
And its not trying to boot from it.
Stoned Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 04:18 PM   #11
Perky McGiggles
I see what you did there
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Highway 20
Posts: 21,269
Perky McGiggles is still being judged by the masses


Default

That is odd, can you test it on another drive? Sounds like it might be more hardware related than Windows.

Another option is try resetting the bios. Something funky might have happened where the drive isn't be recognized as it should.
__________________
Perky McGiggles
And he sayeth unto Perky, the numbers 2, 5, and/or 7 are an
abomination and should never be used in an internet forum
name, so sayeth the Lord.
- Penguins 22, chapter 3, verse 8
Perky McGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 10:32 PM   #12
[email protected]
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 696
AMD_G@y is still being judged by the masses


Default

it sounds as though the XP install marked the D partition/drive as Active (thus disabling the Vista/W7 partition/bootloader). use DiskPart and check which drives/partitions are active. I think this is the reason why it is recommended that XP is installed the the C partition then Vista/W7 gets installed afterwards. Another option is to run a WinPE environment and use BCD edit to mark the W7 install as default, removing XP, then when in W7 re-edit BCD entry finding XP install and adding to boot option.

Best of luck
__________________
New system specs:

AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
(3.8Ghz Nocturna All 4 Cores ready and roaring !!)
Asrock M3A790GX/128
8GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 @ 1066
MSI 5770 HAWK x2
Corsair TX750
Seagate 200GB (while OCZ 32GB is RMA)
OCZ 32GB SSD x2 (Raid 0)

-----------------------------
nVidia User Group - bought and paid for
AMD_G@y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2009, 02:50 AM   #13
Stoned Bob
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands Amsterdam
Posts: 3,781
Stoned Bob is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perky McGiggles View Post
That is odd, can you test it on another drive? Sounds like it might be more hardware related than Windows.

Another option is try resetting the bios. Something funky might have happened where the drive isn't be recognized as it should.
I have xp installed on another 80gb drive now but the 120gb drive it still broken .
I tried resetting the bios but it happens on 2 other computers which work perfectly fine.
Maybe the hdd was allready dieing...
Stoned Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2009, 01:17 PM   #14
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 49,000
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Sounds like the HD is dead. If its not detected in BIOS then it was hardware failure giving you issues.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2009, 01:54 PM   #15
Stoned Bob
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands Amsterdam
Posts: 3,781
Stoned Bob is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well its detected but the system halts after that.
Stoned Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing [email protected] the How??? way v2.0 KJ Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 12 Nov 10, 2005 12:20 PM
so im installing xp sp2... roofy Operating Systems 7 Aug 9, 2004 06:41 PM
Un-installing Nvidia drivers and installing ATI drivers? Mike89 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Apr 6, 2003 10:03 PM
Installing 9500Pro...re-installing XP before ? Franky04 Radeon Technical Support 1 Jan 8, 2003 01:09 PM
Installing Via 4 in 1's KingRoLo Radeon Technical Support 4 Jan 19, 2002 06:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink