Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2003, 11:59 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
SCREAMERPOOH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9
SCREAMERPOOH is still being judged by the masses


Default PC Resets during gaming w/Catalyst 3.0 9500Pro...

I recently installed a 9500 Pro with Catalyst 3.0 drivers and Directx 9. Evidently, my first installation of the drivers was not complete, as Win2k would act very quirky. I completely removed the 3.0 drivers and re-installed them again. Everything runs smooth now in Windows. However, during gaming (dungeon siege and GTA3), I can be playing for an hour or so and the computer will suddenly reboot. The time it takes for this to happen appears to be random.

My first thought is IRQ problems, but evidently ACPI in Win2k has everything sharing IRQ9 up-front. I will assume that its allocation of addresses behind the scenes is sufficient enough to avoid hardware conflicts. So, I've installed the latest and greatest Hyperion drivers for my chipset, the latest SBlaster Live drivers, and BIOS fixes for my MB. My specs are below. I'm hoping it's not an issue with Directx 9 itself. I really don't want to re-install win2k. If anyone's experienced the same issues with Radeon related drivers and/or cards, your input would help.


Asus A7V motherboard
Athlon 1.0Ghz
1.24G Ram
Sblaster Live Gamer
Radeon 9500Pro
Win2k SP3
SCREAMERPOOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2003, 12:39 PM   #2
Flamey
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United Kingdom London
Posts: 95
Flamey is still being judged by the masses


Default

I see you have a KT133 chipset mobo, which drivers were you using before? Catalyst 2.3 and above have this bug whereby the pc will reset or lockup in games but only on KT133/x chipsets. If this is the problem (which I suspect as its the same symptoms as I get crashes are random), there's little you can do except revert back to older drivers and hammer Ati to fix the problem (which they seem to think isn't their problem as many have this issue and they havn't bothered to reply). For more info see this thread.
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz
4GB Corsair 8500DHX 4-4-4-12
Sapphire Radeon 4870

Last edited by Flamey : Jan 21, 2003 at 12:46 PM.
Flamey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2003, 02:28 PM   #3
Mr Intel
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 143
Mr Intel is still being judged by the masses


Default

VIA the mother of all problems
Mr Intel is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 23, 2003, 09:46 PM   #4
SCREAMERPOOH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9
SCREAMERPOOH is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for the input flamey. I've actually been doing a lot of testing to try and find the source of the problem. I still have the latest hyperion drivers loaded, but I backed off to the Catalyst 2.5 drivers. I'm also messing around with my AGP voltage. I notice that when playing GTA3, I get sound stuttering. When this happens, the video begins to slow down as well. The game doesn't stop or crash, but there is a definite degrade in performance. I read one thread where a guy had success with increasing the voltage to his AGP/memory/IO. His claim was that by doing this, he was able to correct an already lower than acceptable I/O voltage. I've been testing this out, and I admit I was able to play GTA3 much longer than usual, but I still encountered the same problem about an hour into the game.

I dual boot win2k and win98se so my next test is to install the same game in win98se to look for deviation between the two OS's. This could point to ACPI related issues, directx 8.1 and 9.0 differences, or possibly something else......I have the same video and chipset drivers loaded already, so we'll see. If you know of anything else that's helpful, let me know.

thx
SCREAMERPOOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange new problem with Catalyst 6.9 - Theme resets! aggybong AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 16 Sep 28, 2007 04:38 PM
Catalyst 3.8 Triple Buffering resets to disabled Iceflow AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 1 Oct 21, 2003 10:32 AM
Stuttering after gaming for an hour or more? (9700Pro,9500Pro,9000Pro) west5323 Radeon Technical Support 2 Apr 4, 2003 09:51 PM
PC Resets during gaming w/Catalyst 3.0 9500Pro... SCREAMERPOOH Radeon Technical Support 0 Jan 21, 2003 12:01 PM
Oblivious Catalyst 2.2 resets screen resolution and refresh rate - Why? Tamsil AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 2 Aug 8, 2002 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink