Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 25, 2016, 12:33 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Hapatingjaky
Maximum Disappointment
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada New Ukraine
Posts: 10,123
Hapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundHapatingjaky can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default Windows 10 Activation Nightmare

Sup ladies,

So its been awhile now with Windows 10. They gave that free upgrade from 7/8/8.1 out to everyone. Said how hassle free everything would be and that it would the greatest windows yet:



Clearly they've never had to re-activate Windows 10....

So, for the past few weeks I've been dealing with shitty Kingston memory kits. Since installing my upgrade of Windows 10 Pro back at launch I have only changed my hard drive which was originally a Samsung SM951 512GB M.2 to a Samsung 950 Pro 512GB M.2. But recently I've been having issues with shitty memory. Basically don't buy Kingston. I originally had a Corsair LPX 16GB 3200MHz kit which would never run at stock settings, so I purchased a 16GB Kinston HyperX Predator kit 2666MHz CAS 13. Its been fine, no issues, but I wanted more memory in the system, so I recently upgraded GSkill kit of 128GB memory, its stated Quad Channel support in the add, but when you read the QVL its only dual channel. So the kit never worked, so I went and grabbed a Kinston HyperX Fury kit, after a week 1 stick died. Got it replaced with a DOA kit. So I stuck my Kingston 16GB back in and no problems. So I went an bit the bullet and purchased a Cosrsair Dominator Platinum 2666MHz DDR4 CAS13 32GB kit.

While waiting for the kit to arrive last weekend I was just sitting in the home theatre room watching a movie. I look over at the computer screen and see at the bottom right hand side of my screen a faded message overtop of my wallpaper that reads. Windows Is Not Activated. Check activation and sure enough my system is no longer activated with a proper digital entitlement....

Ok, so I follow the onscreen instructions and I have to contact MS. Back in the day for Windows XP/Vista/7/8/8.1 you just called the number for your region, you get an automated response, you read out your activation code, you get asked how many computers is it installed on and you say 1. Bang a new code is given and your done.



Now, Windows 10 re-activation or as I like to call it, SOUL EATER.... So I call up Satan I mean Microsoft but you can't actually call, what you do is you follow the onscreen prompts and it asks you for a call back and that the wait is 1 minute. So I give my region which of course is Canada and my number. And bang I get a call back.... from some woman in India. Now I've worked in Call Centers before ( HP/Compaq, Dell, IBM, Shaw, Telus ) so I know what its like. So I explain to this woman what had happened. So I get put on hold, she comes back asks for my name, phone number, email and puts me on hold again. 2 minutes later she comes back asks me to hit CTRL+R, enter in MSDT which opens a remote assistance download, you get a code, you enter another and bang they have remote access. She does her thing and Windows is reactivated. Took about 20 minutes. I thought man what a hassle from the prior versions of windows activation. But everything worked and I was please somewhat....

Fast forward to today. I had been planning a complete reload of my system once the new memory got here. So it arrived on Tuesday but I just didn't have the time. I did install it and used it just fine. Looks nice with all the white lighting I have inside the case. Leaps and bounds ahead of KAC's setup. So this morning I create a new USB install media using the media creation tool, download all the latest divers and or beta drivers and put them on the same USB key. I secure erase my 950 pro and re-install Windows. Install all my drivers and connect to the ol interwebs. Windows Not Activated, Digital Entitlement not valid...



Great, gotta call Satan again I mean Microsoft... So I go through the bullshit again, 1 minute wait on call back. 20 minutes later I get the call back... And I am speaking with Manish. So I tell him whats going on that a week ago I had called and it was fixed. Now I am reloading the PC and just need it activated. So he asks my name, phone number and puts me on hold. 10 minutes later he comes back, asks me again to confirm my name, phone number and email address, puts me on hold. 10 minutes later again he returns, asks for me to do the entire allow remote assistance. I enter the two codes and let him work his magic. Actually this time completely **** **** up....

So he goes about uninstalling the CD Key that Digital Entitlement installs. Error this version of Windows is not a Core N Version blah blah blah follow these steps. He's stumped. He tells me he needs to hang up and he will chat with me through the remote assistance software. All of a sudden there are 4 more people joining my chat. None of them knows whats going on. I am playing Angry Birds 2 on my phone while I watch this transpire. I know what's wrong, I know how to fix it but I don't have access to Satan's tools so meh.

2 hours later.... I finally get a message that its done. So I check, Windows Is Not Activated, the digital entitlement is in use on another PC...



So I tell him, its not working. He says to reset the PC so I do. Nope, and now I am no longer part of the remote access. So I gotta call back, less then 1 minute, 20 minutes later I get a call back I ask to speak to a manager, I get transferred back to Manish. I tell him look, its not activated. So what does he do, remote access, types in whatever and guess what screen pops up. That ****ing enter the activation screen from back in Windows Vista/7/8/8.1.... Like WTF, why didn't we just do this in the first place? Turns out there's a reason. So he goes through it but chooses the wrong region. Like **** me....

After some investigating it turns out that those who have done the Windows 10 Upgrade off another OS don't really have the same version of Windows that installs off of a OEM/Retail copy. For those that have purchase an OEM/Retail copy don't have to call in but just go through that old style re-activation methods. Those who do the upgrade actually have no real COA or Key and after 3 system changes you have to re-activate. Problem is if you ever format the system you will need to constantly call back in an go through that bullshit.

Total amount of time today wasted getting Windows Activated? 4 hours....
__________________
Intel Core i9 10900K @ 5.2GHz, Asus Maximus XII Apex, GSkill Trident-Z Royal DDR4 3200MHz 32GB CAS11, EVGA FTW3 3080Ti Sixtuple SLI KAC Edition, Creative Labs SXFI Theater, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB, Corsair AXI 1500i PSU, ThermalTake View 71, Corsair K95 Platinum RGB, Corsair Dark Core RGB SE, Acer Predator X34, Windows 10 Professional X64
Hapatingjaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2016, 06:40 PM   #2
Seyiji
Team 🌙 Moon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manches Manchesville
Posts: 14,706
Seyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

That is pretty bullshit right there. I hope I never have to do that because no way would I ever allow some dude from *insert tech support location here* to remote connect to my rig even if they are from MS. Especially if like you said there is underlying tech that supports the old way of activating.
__________________
,____,
[^_^]
/)___)

-"---"-
Rage3D PC Gaming Hit-List
Official PC Gaming Deals Thread
Has the above thread been misplaced/renamed/merged/stickied/locked? Well then there's a doins transpirin! Find the tome and bring forth the sacrifice to restore peace and order.
"VIAGRA FALLS, slowly I turned, and step by step, inch by inch, I walked up to him, I smashed him, I hit him, I bonked him, I bopped him, I socked him and I mashed his face and I knocked him down."
Seyiji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2016, 05:24 AM   #3
GanjaStar
Jalouise
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Croatia Strawberry Fields
Posts: 14,762
GanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hapatingjaky View Post
Looks nice with all the white lighting I have inside the case. Leaps and bounds ahead of KAC's setup.
I must commend you on the very smooth and crafty placement of the above statement within your lovely narrative.
GanjaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows activation seeker010 Operating Systems 11 Oct 6, 2008 06:52 PM
Windows XP Activation Complaint markabuckley Operating Systems 12 Oct 22, 2006 01:20 PM
Windows Activation HELP genci88 Operating Systems 4 Jan 23, 2005 11:30 PM
Windows Activation pagefault Operating Systems 8 Jan 27, 2004 12:28 PM
Windows activation upon reinstalling... -Exi|e- Operating Systems 1 Oct 28, 2001 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink