Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies Discussion forum for any graphics hardware not provided by AMD/ATI. Also place to discuss 3D technologies such as 3D Stereo, PhysX and other interesting developments/rumours in the 3D industry.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 15, 2006, 09:39 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
sittal
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manches OK
Posts: 21,890
sittal can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultysittal can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultysittal can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default Another "I need a card" thread

nVidia!

I am gonna have a dual core process, prolly AM2. 939 ftw!
an ASUS pci-e mobo
of course, it'll be a two gigger (memory)
gonna have a nice SATA hdd, 7200 rpm
prolly go with a 430w psu
a dvd burner

and of couse i need to know what card will be cheap and useful in two to three months.

would the 7900GTX go down in price by then? if so how much? will there be a better card by then?

Last edited by sittal : May 19, 2006 at 05:29 PM.
sittal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2006, 03:51 PM   #2
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 14,448
DaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
I am gonna have a dual core process, prolly AM2. 939 ftw!
Erm... isn't that AM2 ftw?

The GTX should be a bit cheaper then, and I would expect there to be another product refresh (though maybe not a brand new generation, check the rumor mill for that). I wouldn't expect it to be much cheaper as nothing new will come to stomp the price down, but somewhat cheaper nevertheless.

Maybe you can get 2 7900GS cards for the same price by then.....
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 7770k : 16GB EVGA DDR4 2400 : Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Windforce X2 : Gigabyte GA-H270-WIFI : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Samsung 1440p 32" Monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 10 Pro x64
Tablet: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 : Intel Core i5-6300U : 8GB DDR3 : Intel 520 Integrated : 256GB SSD : 12.3" 2736x1824 display : Windows 10 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600 : Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2006, 08:51 AM   #3
Medion
Retired
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,381
Medion is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
prolly go with a 550w psu
Sounds to me like you have no clue what you're doing. Don't decide on a PSU until you've decided on the other components. Get what you need, or maybe something a little better to leave room for improvement.

Did you know that a 7900GTX (reference clocks) will run with only 20A on the 12V rail? The 7600/7900 series uses VERY little power. My wife's 7600GT Superclock doesn't even have an on-board power connector. It draws all the power through the PCI-E slot.

Obviously you've stated that you want to go nVidia. If that's the case, current GPUs that they offer don't need much power. Get a solid 380W PSU (Antec or better), and you'll be fine. Go to 430W or better if you want room for future upgrade potential. Again, I'm referring to quality PSUs, not generics. I'm a fan of SeaSonic, btw.

Now, you mentioned the 7900GTX. To be honest, you can save some money get get a faster card in the X1900XT. IMO, that would be a better choice at that pricepoint. However, you'll want a better PSU, something with at least 28A on the 12V rail. Here, you're looking at a 400W minimum (quality PSU). This is where you want to consider going 450W or higher if you want room for expansion.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 16, 2006, 10:00 AM   #4
Vengeance
May 2, 1965 - April 21, 2008
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Undercity
Posts: 17,017
Vengeance is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medion
Did you know that a 7900GTX (reference clocks) will run with only 20A on the 12V rail?
It says the samething on the BFG website for my 7900GT but I have a 430w Thermaltake silent PSU with 18amps on the 12v. It runs it fine. And I have OC'ed it to 550 on the core. Yes the GTX does run at 650 on the core but I'll bet 18amps would run it just fine.
__________________
eVGA nForce 680i SLi
Intel Q6600 Quad Core Stock @ 2.4GHz
nVidia 8800GTX @ stock speeds
2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 @ 800mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA2
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower
Westinghouse 22in wide screen LCD @ 1680x1050

Report a bug with the NVIDIA graphics driver.
Vengeance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2006, 02:43 PM   #5
Medion
Retired
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,381
Medion is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
It says the samething on the BFG website for my 7900GT but I have a 430w Thermaltake silent PSU with 18amps on the 12v. It runs it fine. And I have OC'ed it to 550 on the core. Yes the GTX does run at 650 on the core but I'll bet 18amps would run it just fine.
That may be a stretch. The GTX is 1.4V, while the GT is 1.2V (hence wy volt modding can give you an insane overclock). The GTX does draw a bit more power, so it's best to play it safe.

Still, it's a far cry from th GF6 series, where you needed at least 26A for a 6800Ultra, and 24A for a 6800GT. NV has done an admirable job of improving performance while reducing power consumption.

I got my PSU (29A on the 12V rails, 430W) in anticapation of upgrading from my 7800GT down the road. When I stepped up to the 7900GT SC for $50, I realized I didn't need the extra power.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2006, 03:57 PM   #6
Vengeance
May 2, 1965 - April 21, 2008
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Undercity
Posts: 17,017
Vengeance is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
GF6 series, where you needed at least 26A for a 6800Ultra, and 24A for a 6800GT.
See I think they over estimate how much they really need. The PSU I ran in my old Athlon XP and 6800GT was a 400w with 18a on the 12v and I had no problems what so ever.
__________________
eVGA nForce 680i SLi
Intel Q6600 Quad Core Stock @ 2.4GHz
nVidia 8800GTX @ stock speeds
2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 @ 800mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA2
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower
Westinghouse 22in wide screen LCD @ 1680x1050

Report a bug with the NVIDIA graphics driver.
Vengeance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2006, 04:22 PM   #7
iceman0124
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States Chattanooga TN
Posts: 520
iceman0124 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'd say they are compensating for the abundance of $10 450+ watt psu's out there
__________________
Road warrior
XPS M1210 12.1"
Core2 duo t5600
2 GB DDR2 677
120GB WD Scorpio
256 GF 7400 GO
_____________________________________________________________________
~There really aint no devil, it's just God when he's drunk~

~You stoop to feed the crows, scraps of truth, already cold~

~Livin life at each others throats in a guilded sailboat of sin~
iceman0124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2006, 05:25 PM   #8
Medion
Retired
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,381
Medion is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
See I think they over estimate how much they really need. The PSU I ran in my old Athlon XP and 6800GT was a 400w with 18a on the 12v and I had no problems what so ever.
They're assuming that you're running 2 optical drives, 1 disk drive, one extra drive (ZIP, for example), up to 4 HDDs, etc. They want to give room for power users. It's too complicated for the average consumer to break down part by part to see what they really need.

Quote:
I'd say they are compensating for the abundance of $10 450+ watt psu's out there
Possibly. You have to remember, todays mobos draw almost everything across the 12V rail. Vengie's 430W PSU is a bit older than mine, with 18A across the 12V rail(s). My 430W PSU spreads 29A across the 12V rails (two rails on mine). Newer PSUs don't allocate as much to the other rails because it's not needed at all.

A lot of the 450-650W PSUs out there leave a lot of room on ther 3.3V and 5V rails, and you'll never use it. Even today's HDDs draw most of their power off the 12V rail.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2006, 08:27 PM   #9
Vengeance
May 2, 1965 - April 21, 2008
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Undercity
Posts: 17,017
Vengeance is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
They're assuming that you're running 2 optical drives, 1 disk drive, one extra drive (ZIP, for example), up to 4 HDDs, etc. They want to give room for power users. It's too complicated for the average consumer to break down part by part to see what they really need.
They would have been right too. In my compaq I had a DVD+R and a CD drive, 2 HDD's, a floppy drive, 2 case fans and one PCI dual antec fan. and my 6800GT
I do sometimes wish that I had a bigger (more 12v amps) PSU. I sometimes think about getting a sli mobo and another 7900GT. And if I do I know I'll need more power.
__________________
eVGA nForce 680i SLi
Intel Q6600 Quad Core Stock @ 2.4GHz
nVidia 8800GTX @ stock speeds
2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 @ 800mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA2
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower
Westinghouse 22in wide screen LCD @ 1680x1050

Report a bug with the NVIDIA graphics driver.
Vengeance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
**Official "What card should i get?" Thread** SSXeon Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 108 Jul 19, 2008 06:33 PM
"CATALYST maker"'s statement in the "We want Super-Sampling Anti-Aliasing" thread jonib AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 28 Sep 19, 2005 11:50 AM
Could someone point me to a good "article" or "thread" on 9700pro overclocking. Magnumike1 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 5 Jul 30, 2003 10:13 PM
The Official "Random Phrase from Off-topic Thread Titles" thread! _leech_ Off Topic Lounge 17 May 22, 2003 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink