Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 31, 2010, 08:53 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Phayder
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Phayder is still being judged by the masses


Default Radeon HD 5870 DVI To Component possible?

On my ATI Radeon HD 5870 is there a way to split the DVI to component(red, blue, green, u know for HD video) so i can hook it up to my TV?
Phayder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 10:04 AM   #2
The PyroPath
Qualified Thread Killer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Netherlands Koog aan de Zaan, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,582
The PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Don't know if RGB/component signals are in the DVI spec. so the question is if it is at all possible to just use an adapter for that or you need an active converter/adapter which would set you back quite a bit. DVI is a digital standard, component is still analog...
__________________
Feel the Heat Frying your brain
The PyroPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 10:08 AM   #3
The PyroPath
Qualified Thread Killer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Netherlands Koog aan de Zaan, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,582
The PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird sings


Default

did a little quick and dirty google search and it seems some ATi cards are capable of doing this. the lists I see though are quite old models so I have no idea if this is still supported on newer models
__________________
Feel the Heat Frying your brain
The PyroPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 31, 2010, 11:24 AM   #4
Phayder
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Phayder is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thing is, i dont have over 100$ for a adapter like that, i was hoping there would be a way with one of those 10$ dongles.

What about HDMI>component dongle?
Phayder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 05:18 PM   #5
The PyroPath
Qualified Thread Killer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Netherlands Koog aan de Zaan, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,582
The PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I'm sorry, but I can't reall y help you any further then to point you in the direction you could search. don't have that card myself and no display with component input. I know component=>HDMI requires an active adapter and as far as I can find the same goes for the other way around.

Best option you have is contact ATi if the DVI=>component adapter still works on the 5870 or find someone here who owns everything to test it out, or take a gamble and return the cable if it doesn't work. I have seen posts on the web though that some settings need to be changed for it to work right on older radeon cards, so try that if you take the gamble on buying the cable...
__________________
Feel the Heat Frying your brain
The PyroPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 10:07 PM   #6
Spiritwalker
If you could see me now
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lake Chaparral
Posts: 924
Spiritwalker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The PyroPath View Post
I'm sorry, but I can't reall y help you any further then to point you in the direction you could search. don't have that card myself and no display with component input. I know component=>HDMI requires an active adapter and as far as I can find the same goes for the other way around.

Best option you have is contact ATi if the DVI=>component adapter still works on the 5870 or find someone here who owns everything to test it out, or take a gamble and return the cable if it doesn't work. I have seen posts on the web though that some settings need to be changed for it to work right on older radeon cards, so try that if you take the gamble on buying the cable...
there are these
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
__________________
Just cut the tihs and give me the facts ;)
Spiritwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX Radeon 5870 $189.99 MIR $40 @ TigerDirect Treeckcold57 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 8 Mar 12, 2011 11:02 PM
5870 Toxic w/ 5870 Eyefinity 6 CrossFire? drfish AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Feb 21, 2011 06:57 AM
Radeon 5870 1Gb vs 2GB Legendary AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 12 Nov 5, 2010 12:09 AM
ATI Radeon HD 5870 X2 SGTDRE AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 24 Nov 2, 2009 03:12 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink