Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 3, 2001, 09:48 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Budarow
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 161
Budarow is still being judged by the masses


Smile

It seems so strange to me when I read about all the folks with "problems" and their Radeon based PCs. I have tried a TON of games with my PC/Radeon and NOT ONE PROBLEM! I'm talking at least a dozen new releases and at least dozen old releases. Demos and full games.

Do the rest of you guys with a P2 (350 through 450 MHz) and the original Intel BX chipset have as good of LUCK as I do with their Radeon and games. Or maybe no one is using an OLD system tried and true system like me
__________________
Intel PII 350 MHz
Intel SE440BX(1) Mobo Onboard Sound
192 MBs Ram
Radeon 32 DDR (Driver 7020)
Win98
19" Monitor
Fav Game: HH2001
Budarow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2001, 09:56 PM   #2
Snuffoleupagus
Sesame Street Spokes-it
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,414
Snuffoleupagus is still being judged by the masses


Cool

I do! I do! My friend does too! MUWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH
__________________
"I know I'll get it right, but I don't know when, but I've got something inside and I'll open my eyes, but I'll just jack-off in my room until then" -truly great words of wisdom
Snuffoleupagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2001, 10:12 PM   #3
**G.I.BRO**
Berwip crawna-wi pinibon
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Mississauga
Posts: 30,180
**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation**G.I.BRO** has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

Im running a [email protected] with asusp3bf mobo, and i must say, im going to stick with these mobo aslong as i can. Im going to pgrade my CPU shortly to a p3800 or whatever. Right now, im running the beta bios upgrade witch is suppose to detect CPUs over 850. Ive eeven heard that some people in this form are running a p3/1ghz on there BX mobo and being ROCK solid.
**G.I.BRO** is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 3, 2001, 11:03 PM   #4
OkToBeR
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 77
OkToBeR is still being judged by the masses


Default me too

im on a p3 500 katmai core cpu and an intel 440bx motherboard, actually its an intel board: SE440BX-2 motherboard name "Seattle".

it's a little slow and old platform but hell, everything i've thrown at it works solidily!! from drivers, to hardware, to software, this BX system ROX!

however, i built my dad an Duron AMD system with VIA KT133 chipset and he loves it. we had a little trouble but it was my fault and not the machines.

but anyway you look at it, AMD is always cheaper. i'd love to upgrade to a new intel 800-1ghz cpu on the BX platform, but i could get a nice new AMD setup complete for that upgrade in CPU alone :>) .

lata
oktober
__________________
Tbird [email protected] 266 fsb, 512 Mircon CL2 pc133, HP 9100 32/8/4, Iwill kk266-R, Pioneer slot load 103s DVD, Altec Lansing ACS54, CTX PR711, SB Live Xgamer, Radeon 64 vivo, 80+40+20GB ata66, Antec SX1030 SOHO case 4x80mm fan,Thermalright sk6 w/delta
"..i to had a doll like that, but my cat, bit its head off!"
OkToBeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2001, 11:29 PM   #5
oldie
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Marietta,GA,USA
Posts: 487
oldie is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have an Abit BH6-BX M/B with a Celeron [email protected] and I have had no problems with any games so far except Jedi Knight being slow. I think I finally fixed that problem. I think the BX boards work just fine with the Radeons.
oldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 01:22 AM   #6
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 27,510
Sasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshSasquach kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

Ahh, this is the one and only reason i had upgraded to a Asus CUBX mobo. The tried and true BX chipset, that so many people have no problems with.
__________________
------Squachbox 2022------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600X @ 3.6ghz
Asus Prime B450M A/CSM
2 x 8GB G-Skill DDR4 2666
Dell E2210 (22" widescreen) monitor + Asus Dual Radeon RX 6600
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA
Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition headset
Sasquach is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 02:17 AM   #7
Slickery
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 49
Slickery is still being judged by the masses


Default

Finally somone else with a P2. I have a 450 and everything works great with my Radeon. I even have the intel 440BX-2 chipset. While I don't get as high as FPS in some games as these people with monstrous systems. I always get acceptable fps, and that makes me happy.
Slickery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 03:11 AM   #8
curio
𐐒ananaD
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Manches Pimp maestro de Manchesville
Posts: 49,298
curio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationcurio has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

I first had my Radeon on my old PII 400 on an LX board, and it ran great... better than the GTS on my PII.

Now on my PIII with 815 motherboard, it runs perfect.
__________________
Love take me down to the streets - Wings
curio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 07:27 AM   #9
teeact
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 339
teeact is still being judged by the masses


Default

can u list any product that doesnt work with Intel products??
__________________
=========================
Radeon doesnt get much slower when running higher resolution, and higher details.. but it doesnt get any faster when running lower resolution, and lower details.
teeact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 10:07 AM   #10
maniac_35
Raving Lunatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States East Brunswick N.J
Posts: 578
maniac_35 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeah the Radeon works great in the BX chipset. I have my CPU running at 500MHZ and i get around 39-45 FPS in UT and in Q3A I get 60+Fps.
maniac_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 11:19 AM   #11
oldfart
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 391
oldfart is still being judged by the masses


Default

Since no one else threw it in, it works perfect with an 815 chipset as well.
oldfart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 12:46 PM   #12
Hartsa
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 143
Hartsa is still being judged by the masses


Cool

I have a old Abit BH6(BX), when I got it I had a Celeron 300A(450) on it. After that I got PIII550E(733). And just replaced it with 1GPIII. ATI Radeon works really well with BX mobo. Just wondering, how this old mobo can still rock, hehe.
Hartsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2001, 03:23 PM   #13
ATI FURY-OUS
WYSIWYG
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: United Kingdom London, England
Posts: 1,966
ATI FURY-OUS can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyATI FURY-OUS can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Talking yep! runs fine

NO probs here either! not a single problem.

P2 400
ABIT BX6 revision 2
165MB
Live 5.1
Radeon 64 vivo

BUT----

noticed a severe lag in SEVERENCE at 1152x764 (or whatever it is)

But plan to upgrade soon. No point in getting a faster card than to have it slowed down by a slower than recomended CPU.

example=

p2 for radeon= like swimming with cloths on through mud

1ghz athlon or similar= like having fins and scales

(no i havent drank beer. mmmm BEER)
__________________
my ageing rig-

i5 4690, Gainward GTX970 Phantom, 16gb ram, Gigabyte Z97X UDH3 mobo
ATI FURY-OUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Chipset to Finally Embed a USB 3.0 Controller erek Front Page News 3 Jan 25, 2011 03:13 PM
OCZ Intros New DDR3-1800 Intel Extreme Memory Kit for the Latest Intel X48 Chipset Android1 Front Page News 0 Dec 13, 2007 04:29 PM
Intel Readies New Enthusiast-Class Intel X48 Chipset Android1 Front Page News 0 Sep 17, 2007 01:46 PM
Would an Intel SE440BX (original chipset) mobo work with a Radeon 8500? Budarow General Hardware 5 Dec 6, 2001 10:08 AM
Intel 845 chipset (AGP 4X 1.5 V) and radeon 8500 GakValadep General Hardware 8 Sep 23, 2001 09:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink