Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 16, 2004, 01:28 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Cide
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB. Canada
Posts: 123
Cide is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation ATI DVD Player - blank playback after maximizing.

Why is it, since DVD 8.9 and now 9.0..

that after I start playback of a DVD Video, in ATI DVD Player windowed mode, and then maximize to fullscreen after its playing in window mode, that it turns the screen black, but still plays audio playbacK?

This was never an issue with the 8.8 version..

Or whatever DVD player release it was that was around the time 8.8 was fresh.

Anyway,

does anyone have this problem, and if so is there a workaround? or a workaround in general?

Thanks,

Sincerly...

Nigel.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 Venice 3000+ (S939) @ 2700MHz (300 FSB) @1.500v
1024MB of Corsair TWINX1024-3200XLPRO XMS [email protected]
Enermax Noisetaker 475W PSU // ThermalTake Xaser IV "Skull" Chasis
ASUS A8V Deluxe Rev. 1016 // VIA KT8T800PRO AGP Board
PLEXTOR PX130-A Black
Western Digital Raptor WD360 SATA 36.6gb 10,000 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA 200gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA 300gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracude 7200.9 SATA II 400gb 7200 RPM 16mb Cache
Creative Labs Soundblaster X-fi Fatal1ty
ASUS AX850XT HTVD 256mb ATI Radeon X850XT Platinum Edition
Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Ultra With Upgraded Satalittes (RSX-5) and Upgraded Center (RCX-4)

56,000 MP3's, album format. 200gb of Lossless music.
Cide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2004, 02:38 PM   #2
PamG
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 677
PamG is still being judged by the masses


Question How old is that card ?

I thought you couldn't upgrade to any of the recent DVD players for free without a 9XXX card ?
If you're just upgrading the rest of the MMC and leaving the DVD player as is that could be your problem.
If you did order the upgrade cd from ATI then they need to hear from you now.
PamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2004, 01:51 PM   #3
Simont1981
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Simont1981 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have it on WinDVD 5 - fixed it by disabling hardware acceleration on video - not sure if that helps...
__________________
XP3200
DFI Lanparty NFII Ultra B
1 gig 3200 XMS
Power Colour 9800 Pro 128 Stock speed - 30c idle.
Audigy 1 (POS!)
WD Caviar 80 gig
Maxtor (something) 60 gig
17279 3Dmarks
Simont1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 18, 2004, 01:51 PM   #4
Cide
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB. Canada
Posts: 123
Cide is still being judged by the masses


Default

Forgot to mention that I own a Radeon 9500 64MB now...
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 Venice 3000+ (S939) @ 2700MHz (300 FSB) @1.500v
1024MB of Corsair TWINX1024-3200XLPRO XMS [email protected]
Enermax Noisetaker 475W PSU // ThermalTake Xaser IV "Skull" Chasis
ASUS A8V Deluxe Rev. 1016 // VIA KT8T800PRO AGP Board
PLEXTOR PX130-A Black
Western Digital Raptor WD360 SATA 36.6gb 10,000 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA 200gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA 300gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracude 7200.9 SATA II 400gb 7200 RPM 16mb Cache
Creative Labs Soundblaster X-fi Fatal1ty
ASUS AX850XT HTVD 256mb ATI Radeon X850XT Platinum Edition
Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Ultra With Upgraded Satalittes (RSX-5) and Upgraded Center (RCX-4)

56,000 MP3's, album format. 200gb of Lossless music.
Cide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2004, 03:53 PM   #5
PamG
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 677
PamG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cide
Forgot to mention that I own a Radeon 9500 64MB now...
You may need the latest drivers, AGP/IDE, for you motherboard and the latest DX9.
Also, are your sound and monitor drivers current ?
If none of this works the folks at ATI need to hear from you.
Give them full specs for your system and, while you're at it, give the rest of us the specs as well.
PamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2004, 04:20 PM   #6
mad
:mad:
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Austria Austria
Posts: 4,028
mad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled with


Default

I also have that with PowerDVD 5 (on my Laptop running a Mobility Radeon 9000 with latest Cat. Drivers)...
Hardware acceleration enabled or disabled does not matter at all for me...

But for me it helps if i switch to fullscreen, then press stop and then play again...
__________________

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning."

Richard Cook
mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2004, 04:46 PM   #7
PamG
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 677
PamG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M_A_D
I also have that with PowerDVD 5 (on my Laptop running a Mobility Radeon 9000 with latest Cat. Drivers)...
Hardware acceleration enabled or disabled does not matter at all for me...

But for me it helps if i switch to fullscreen, then press stop and then play again...
Nice!
I'll remember because notebooks get quirky but Cide should not be having this problem on his desktop.
Just at the moment I'm using Power DVD 4.5 ( it's mostly an experiment ) but before the switch the latest ATI DVD was just fine with my 9500 pro.
Specs would narrow down the problem but this sounds like something the MMC updates/catalyst drivers have borked.
For immeadiate relief try the big resellers.
Power DVD and hardware ( a case decal or $2 cable qualifies ) should see you clear or they have WIN DVD with the same requirements.
PamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2004, 08:34 PM   #8
Cide
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB. Canada
Posts: 123
Cide is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am running the latest current reccomended drivers from Viaarena.com for my ASUS A7V266-E motherboard. (AGP/IDE)

I am running DirectX 9.0b, however under the System Test it says some of my DirectX Components are not properly installed, reinstalling DX Does not fix this error message.

AMD Athlon XP 1600+
512MB PC2100 Corsair Ram
SB Audigy Gamer (Retail Box) Softmod to Audigy 2 with latest A2 Drivers installed.
2 Linksys LNE100TX V5 Network Cards
16X DVD-ROM Drive, Noname Retail box purchase from some stupid retail store. (words good though).
8/4/32 HP Oldschool CD Writer Drive.
Windows XP Service Pack 1 With ALL of the updates from Windowsupdate.com
install has lasted 88 Weeks in total according to my /sys IRCn script. I've lost count myself
Still works perfect.

Cant really think about anything else I should mention, I have alot of stupid virtual drives and stupid fake scsi drivers or whatever because of all the burning software I have installed, just thought I'd mention that incase anyone knows of a conflict that they may cause/

Hansol Mazellion 701A - using PNP drivers for it (17" Monitor)
-Shouldnt matter, becauise with the old 8.8 MMC dvd release and multimedia system, I never had this problem.

I've used driver cleaner 3 to delete EVERYTHING relating to my old nvidia video card months ago, as well as the previous ATI Driver and MMC and everything release, to install all of the new drivers cleanly.

So its not a user side error, unless it is something that is unnoticable to me, thats why I am posting here.

Thanks for reading my long post

EDIT: I should also mention that when it does work, Playback becomes quarky after a certain amount of time into the DVD and begins to "slug" until I hit STOP and then press PLAY again, or restart playback or the program some other way. I must mention that DMA is enabled on both of my physical CD ROM Drives, as well as both Hard drives.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 Venice 3000+ (S939) @ 2700MHz (300 FSB) @1.500v
1024MB of Corsair TWINX1024-3200XLPRO XMS [email protected]
Enermax Noisetaker 475W PSU // ThermalTake Xaser IV "Skull" Chasis
ASUS A8V Deluxe Rev. 1016 // VIA KT8T800PRO AGP Board
PLEXTOR PX130-A Black
Western Digital Raptor WD360 SATA 36.6gb 10,000 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA 200gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA 300gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracude 7200.9 SATA II 400gb 7200 RPM 16mb Cache
Creative Labs Soundblaster X-fi Fatal1ty
ASUS AX850XT HTVD 256mb ATI Radeon X850XT Platinum Edition
Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Ultra With Upgraded Satalittes (RSX-5) and Upgraded Center (RCX-4)

56,000 MP3's, album format. 200gb of Lossless music.

Last edited by Cide : Apr 18, 2004 at 08:39 PM.
Cide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2004, 04:31 AM   #9
PamG
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 677
PamG is still being judged by the masses


Default

I was going to suggest that you disable programs till you find the culprit but then I saw the "88 weeks".
Before I suggest reformat, I have a question.
When did you start getting failures in DXdiag?
You have something interfering on your computer and if you can find it you won't have to reformat.
It could be something as simple as a piece of spyware but if it's more than that I think it's time to backup important stuff and start fresh.
Check as you go along, once you get the DVD playback working, so you can spot the culprit.
PamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2004, 06:01 AM   #10
Cide
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB. Canada
Posts: 123
Cide is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nonono, DirectX has always worked perfectly and all components have been certified and in perfect working condition in DXDiag,

Its just and ONLY just in ATI multimedia centres configuration and SYSTEM CHECK tab, thats the only place it gives me this error.

something about DX components not being properly configured or installed or soemthing like that.

Everything relating to DirectX works for me though..

And apparanlty.. The DVD nolonger exihbits this Window to fullscreen and vice versa bug of blank playback.. only problem so far is that when I go full screen and then go back to window again, it doesnt resize and the display size is all out of proportion.

Not sure if it becomes sluggish after an hour or so of playback.. Ill get back to you on that one, and if thats the case, its either a problem with my DVD drive or some components or plugins or software on my computer that can be fixed by finding the problem or reinstalling.

Since im at 88 weeks and really havnt had any unfixable or major problems to date, I am pretty sure I shouldnt have to reformat unless something major happens.. and I dont think this is a problem relating to reinstall of windows XP.. if it is, Ill buy a new hard drive and make a clean install there and see if thats the problem first before I kill this

Its just that I have wayy wayyyyyy too much stuff and equally as much customized to my liking within my system and reinstalling would take months heh.

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 Venice 3000+ (S939) @ 2700MHz (300 FSB) @1.500v
1024MB of Corsair TWINX1024-3200XLPRO XMS [email protected]
Enermax Noisetaker 475W PSU // ThermalTake Xaser IV "Skull" Chasis
ASUS A8V Deluxe Rev. 1016 // VIA KT8T800PRO AGP Board
PLEXTOR PX130-A Black
Western Digital Raptor WD360 SATA 36.6gb 10,000 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA 200gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA 300gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracude 7200.9 SATA II 400gb 7200 RPM 16mb Cache
Creative Labs Soundblaster X-fi Fatal1ty
ASUS AX850XT HTVD 256mb ATI Radeon X850XT Platinum Edition
Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Ultra With Upgraded Satalittes (RSX-5) and Upgraded Center (RCX-4)

56,000 MP3's, album format. 200gb of Lossless music.
Cide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2004, 09:32 AM   #11
skyguy
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 687
skyguy is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have the same problem. Report it to feedback.

9800 Pro Using 8.9 MMC with DVD. Cat 4.4.

Blank DVD screen upon maximizing DVD screen for playback. Workaround: Must pause player, then press play for video to display.
skyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2004, 07:15 PM   #12
skyguy
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 687
skyguy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Solved it!

It was FFDShow, disable any programs running mpeg2 acceleration.

It was a conflict of resources.
skyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2004, 07:57 PM   #13
Cide
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB. Canada
Posts: 123
Cide is still being judged by the masses


Default

What the heck is that? (FDD show) or what are the mpeg2 applications using acceleration that you refer to? /shrugs.

I do not know where to start.

-cide
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 Venice 3000+ (S939) @ 2700MHz (300 FSB) @1.500v
1024MB of Corsair TWINX1024-3200XLPRO XMS [email protected]
Enermax Noisetaker 475W PSU // ThermalTake Xaser IV "Skull" Chasis
ASUS A8V Deluxe Rev. 1016 // VIA KT8T800PRO AGP Board
PLEXTOR PX130-A Black
Western Digital Raptor WD360 SATA 36.6gb 10,000 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA 200gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA 300gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracude 7200.9 SATA II 400gb 7200 RPM 16mb Cache
Creative Labs Soundblaster X-fi Fatal1ty
ASUS AX850XT HTVD 256mb ATI Radeon X850XT Platinum Edition
Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Ultra With Upgraded Satalittes (RSX-5) and Upgraded Center (RCX-4)

56,000 MP3's, album format. 200gb of Lossless music.
Cide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2004, 09:48 PM   #14
PamG
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 677
PamG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by skyguy
Solved it!

It was FFDShow, disable any programs running mpeg2 acceleration.

It was a conflict of resources.
Nice job!
PamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2004, 10:21 PM   #15
PamG
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 677
PamG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cide
What the heck is that? (FDD show) or what are the mpeg2 applications using acceleration that you refer to? /shrugs.

I do not know where to start.

-cide

FFDShow is what decompresses the video for DVDs, mpeg2 is the codec it uses ( or rather one of the codecs it uses ).
So what are you running on the compter that's using the codec at start up and interfering with your DVD viewing ?
Any new/updated media players since MMC 8.8 ?
PamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2004, 12:25 AM   #16
Cide
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB. Canada
Posts: 123
Cide is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yes alot,

Winamp 5.03a
latest windows media player
...

Embarassing to list the rest.

Which uses this codec decompresser? commonly? So then I can just delete the ones that use it :P or is there any way to find out?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 Venice 3000+ (S939) @ 2700MHz (300 FSB) @1.500v
1024MB of Corsair TWINX1024-3200XLPRO XMS [email protected]
Enermax Noisetaker 475W PSU // ThermalTake Xaser IV "Skull" Chasis
ASUS A8V Deluxe Rev. 1016 // VIA KT8T800PRO AGP Board
PLEXTOR PX130-A Black
Western Digital Raptor WD360 SATA 36.6gb 10,000 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA 200gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA 300gb 7200 RPM 8mb Cache
Seagate Barracude 7200.9 SATA II 400gb 7200 RPM 16mb Cache
Creative Labs Soundblaster X-fi Fatal1ty
ASUS AX850XT HTVD 256mb ATI Radeon X850XT Platinum Edition
Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Ultra With Upgraded Satalittes (RSX-5) and Upgraded Center (RCX-4)

56,000 MP3's, album format. 200gb of Lossless music.
Cide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2004, 01:11 AM   #17
PamG
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 677
PamG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cide
Yes alot,

Winamp 5.03a
latest windows media player
...

Embarassing to list the rest.

Which uses this codec decompresser? commonly? So then I can just delete the ones that use it :P or is there any way to find out?

You don't have to delete them ( well maybe you want to do a few uninstalls if you really went crazy ). You just want to close them when you run DVDs.
You CTRL ALT Delete on the desktop to go through the whole lot, one at a time please, till you find the culprit(s).
All of the media players use the codec but not all of them will be giving you grief.
PamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2004, 09:26 PM   #18
skyguy
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 687
skyguy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok, it's much easier than you think.

For those with this problem, a reverse fix works by actually installing FFDShow. After that, disable mpeg1, mpeg2 in the codec screen of the FFDShow configuration. I think it defaults to ilbvdacodec for both.

Two actions will occur because of this:
1. Any codec that was forced to mpeg2 will be disabled.
2. The filter or registry settings of the conflicting program will be overwritten.

This should give ATi DVD player to run uninhibited.

Last edited by skyguy : Apr 21, 2004 at 09:32 PM.
skyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2004, 12:44 AM   #19
backWERD
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 139
backWERD is still being judged by the masses


Default dude me too

i have the same problem with almost all dvd players

the only thing when its playing not in full screen i can see the left and right borders of it

looks like a huge black square covering my video

ive had ffdshow for a while and i check to see if it was disabled for mpeg1 and mpeg2 and it was

im running catalyst 4.7 drivers
i dont use mmc

i have powerdvd5 and mediaplayer 9 both have same problem


funny thing media player classic works fine just jerky
cums with klite mega codec pak
backWERD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blank Screen w/ windows miedia player retarp Radeon Technical Support 0 Jun 24, 2003 01:21 AM
Reboot when maximizing DVD player 7.1 redspawn General Software 3 Jun 20, 2002 01:40 AM
Canada mulls blank CDR, MP3 player tax _Kosh_ Off Topic Lounge 15 Mar 24, 2002 03:27 AM
choppy dvd playback with ati player. hduong AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 Mar 4, 2002 01:23 AM
choppy DVD playback in ATI DVD player? dustinyo Radeon Technical Support 7 Mar 28, 2001 09:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink