Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 23, 2005, 09:59 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
jokerjx
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
jokerjx is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies sapphire x800gto agp

hi all, i just ordered this card from newegg for $193.00. i will be using drivercleaner pro and the cabcleaner to clean left over nvidia files. will this be enough to have a stable and good install of ati drivers and control panel without a reformat? also, is there anything i should know about ati drivers and this card? are the drivers installed the same way as nvidia or is it alittle different? this is the first time using ati. i will be replacing this evga 5900se card....thank you...<img>

Last edited by jokerjx : Dec 23, 2005 at 10:01 PM.
jokerjx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2005, 12:22 AM   #2
lukilla
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,282
lukilla is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have two problems with ati drivers...

The "uninstall all ati files" executable has never worked for me...and I have to reload my custom brightness and gamma settings from time to time...

After that, its all fun pal
lukilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2005, 12:38 PM   #3
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,237
Kombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationKombatant has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Subscriber
Default

Welcome to the forums jokerjx I think you'll be good to go, just uninstall the nvidia drivers, reboot, login to safe mode and run drivercleaner to clean up the remainings; then power down your system, install the ati card and, after loading windows and pressing cancel to the install new hardware wizard windows, install the catalyst suite.
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 25, 2005, 02:02 PM   #4
jokerjx
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
jokerjx is still being judged by the masses


Default

about this sapphire x800gto agp, the pic of the card on newegg is different than the review sites. why is the appearence of this card different?...thanks...
jokerjx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2005, 04:58 PM   #5
-=Antimatter=-
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Massachusetts
Posts: 3,041
-=Antimatter=- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Assuming this is the one that you bought

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102608

The picture is different in this review

http://www.tech-mods.net/modules.php...wreview&id=158

but I wouldn't worry about it. As long as the clockspeeds are up to spec, what does the color matter?
-=Antimatter=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2005, 12:08 PM   #6
jokerjx
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
jokerjx is still being judged by the masses


Default

the fan is different on my card....
jokerjx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2005, 03:23 PM   #7
lukilla
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,282
lukilla is still being judged by the masses


Default

its memory is gddr3?

I´ve seen a gto listed with 256mb of ddr memory, could be a typo tough.

Also, is the fan as big as the reference one?
lukilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2005, 11:38 AM   #8
Jabuka
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Croatia Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 613
Jabuka is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukilla
its memory is gddr3?

I´ve seen a gto listed with 256mb of ddr memory, could be a typo tough.

Also, is the fan as big as the reference one?
It's mem clock is 980MHz, can't be DDR running that fast, now, can it?

Definately a typo.

As for the fan, I think it's an older board (the red one at newegg) picture as opposed to the one in the review which is sth that Sapphire has been making in the last few months.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 w Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3 GHz
2x1Gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
Sapphire HD4870x2 @ stock
Creative X-Fi Extreme music
Samsung SyncMaster 245B+, 24"@1920x1200
PC P&C 750W PSU
Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit Retail

Last edited by Jabuka : Dec 30, 2005 at 11:46 AM.
Jabuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2005, 06:52 PM   #9
jokerjx
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
jokerjx is still being judged by the masses


Default

well,i installed my sapphire x800gto agp after i uninstalled my evga 5900se, used drivercleaner pro with cabcleaner. i installed ngo standard ati .513 drivers with cp. my sapphire x800gto agp card is listed as unknown device in device manager. i disabled x800gto secondary. i can't launch 3d mark03 or aquamark. there is a grey error message. do i have to uninstall and reinstall these apps to run on x800gto. shouldn't my card be listed as gfx adapter?...what should i do without reformat??? thats probably my best bet?....thank you..
jokerjx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2005, 02:19 AM   #10
lukilla
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,282
lukilla is still being judged by the masses


Default

One thing I´ve done before, is to create a new small partition on the hardrive, and install winxp pro on it (without touching the previous windows installation), it can be done in 15 minutes, if it works correctly on the second windows, then you know something is busted on your previous windows installation...pretty stupid if you ask me, but works
lukilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2005, 08:12 AM   #11
jokerjx
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
jokerjx is still being judged by the masses


Default

well,i reformated,installed drivers. device manager is correct now, saying display adapter. but windows media player videos are still bright rainbow images. it was like that before. and i know 3d mark and aquamark won't work either. i tried different drivers ex:ati,ngo, with and without ati tray tools....this card must be junk!!..thanks..
jokerjx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2005, 11:19 PM   #12
Moevan1
X800XL
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: vancity
Posts: 388
Moevan1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabuka
It's mem clock is 980MHz, can't be DDR running that fast, now, can it?

Definately a typo.

As for the fan, I think it's an older board (the red one at newegg) picture as opposed to the one in the review which is sth that Sapphire has been making in the last few months.
uh, memory would be 490mhz its DDR. Its effective speed is 980Mhz is it not
__________________
AMD X2 3800+ Manchester
ASROCK dual SATA 2
DiamondMax 10 250gigs 16mb cache 7200rpm
1024MB Corsair PC3200 Dual Channel DDR 400Mhz running

ATI X800XL 256DDR3 radeon
Moevan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2006, 12:26 AM   #13
micron
arb_fragment_asshat
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,675
micron is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just got the same card from Newegg. It's great. It has an R480 core, and I instantly overclocked it beyond X850Pro speeds.

It's a pretty sweet deal if you ask me..

micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2006, 07:57 AM   #14
GravY
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 29,876
GravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsGravY glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jokerjx
well,i reformated,installed drivers. device manager is correct now, saying display adapter. but windows media player videos are still bright rainbow images. it was like that before. and i know 3d mark and aquamark won't work either. i tried different drivers ex:ati,ngo, with and without ati tray tools....this card must be junk!!..thanks..
are you trying to watch something encoded with divix ect without having the codecs installed?
__________________
"Yes, but God has the right to get away with anything. Shoot animals, make ugly women, allow the existence of religious nuts, and watch liederhosen-wearing midget poodle-licking pornography. God's a sick bastard." - OzzieBloke



(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
GravY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2006, 11:05 AM   #15
spike700
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,366
spike700 is still being judged by the masses


Default

to fix the problem with Windows media player open it and go 'options -> performance tab -> advanced and untick "use video mixing renderer"

Should cure the rainbow video
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
Aoccdrnig to rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.
****nig amzanig huh?
------------------------------------------------------
spike700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2006, 12:53 PM   #16
Jabuka
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Croatia Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 613
Jabuka is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moevan1
uh, memory would be 490mhz its DDR. Its effective speed is 980Mhz is it not
Yes, but ordinary DDR doesn't ordinarily work on frequencies ~500MHz, not AFAIK anyway. Anything with such a mem clock is bound to be GDDR.

Keep in mind that we're not talking about some "golden sample" max overclock speed, but rather stock settings for the memory.

It would be hard finding large quantities of <2ns DDR, and it is cheaper to go with GDDR3.

Of course, when we're speaking of any kind of DDR (DDR1 or DDR3) the displayed MHz on the box is always effective clock x 2 (490MHz x 2 = 980 MHz -> for X800GTO, 750 MHz x 2 = 1500 MHz for X1800XT)
__________________
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 w Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3 GHz
2x1Gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
Sapphire HD4870x2 @ stock
Creative X-Fi Extreme music
Samsung SyncMaster 245B+, 24"@1920x1200
PC P&C 750W PSU
Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit Retail
Jabuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire X800GTO getting too hot? coolcps Radeon Technical Support 0 Oct 31, 2006 08:23 PM
Barely Able To Overlock Sapphire x800GTO KakTheInfected Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 9 Feb 3, 2006 11:05 PM
Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade = buzzzzzzzz cvearl Radeon Technical Support 29 Jan 31, 2006 12:31 AM
Cooling for a Sapphire x800GTO? Adanu Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 2 Nov 1, 2005 01:39 PM
Few questions about Sapphire Radeon x800gto... DerAlte Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 6 Oct 19, 2005 07:24 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink