Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2008, 03:48 PM   #31
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,876
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Since when did an 8 bit Byte become base 10? Bytes are just 8 bits, that's it. A "Gigabyte" would therefore be 1,000,000,000 8bit sections. Plus, no hard drive in existance uses "bits" as a measurement, they all use bytes.

The hard drive industry has already been sued over this, massive class action style. Somehow, in all that court action, they managed to wiggle out of having to change how they advertise capacity sizes. They paid up a small chunck of change and went on doing exactly what they got sued for in the first place.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2008, 03:51 PM   #32
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 49,000
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

No, they added a disclaimer in the small print on the price of paper you throw away 'advertised capacity may not be accurately reflected in formatted size' or some such.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2008, 04:18 PM   #33
Ryoko
Excessively retarded
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: United States Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 7,697
Ryoko is still being judged by the masses


Default

that's funny... i see a full TB here. actually a bit more...



just because MS thinks they can redefine words doesn't mean they're right.

Last edited by Ryoko : Feb 19, 2008 at 04:21 PM.
Ryoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 19, 2008, 04:25 PM   #34
seeker010
chaotic evil
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7,734
seeker010 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XSBagage View Post
Obviously I do not.

I do not bring up the kibi, mebi etc stuff because that only confuses people more. It isn't used by microsoft so try telling people it's that way when their computer tells them otherwise. First you have to establish that the computer is wrong, before you bring up the kibis and mebis
We already have Ryoko on board, he brought up M$.
I didn't mean to direct that response to you, but I hit quote instead of reply to thread. so sue me. actually, please don't, I'm quite short on cash right now. gimme about 2 weeks.
__________________
Abort, Retry, Fail?
seeker010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2008, 04:59 PM   #35
Nebuchadnezzar
Adriana
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Luxembourg Lat: 49:50:52N (49.8477) Lon: 6:06:21E (6.1059)
Posts: 4,587
Nebuchadnezzar is still being judged by the masses


Default

When in the computer and in the digital world when you speak of SI designiation associated with bytes/bits then the general rule is to use the base 2 system, the kibi/gibi/tebi nomenclature crap has been around for extremly long and almost nobody ever uses it because it simply sounds retarded. Harddrive manufacturers are the only ones who don't follow this "habit".
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryoko View Post
that's funny... i see a full TB here. actually a bit more...
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h1.../diskspace.jpg
just because MS thinks they can redefine words doesn't mean they're right.
Oh quit being a smartass. It's been like that since decades and is way more widespread than the officialized "standard".
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSBagage View Post
There is no added value in using powers of 2 to represent file size or disk sizes, so why use it?
To a normal user it doesn't make sense, but to a programmer / engineer there is no such thing as base 10 in computers.
__________________
[ [email protected] / TRUE | [email protected]| Gigabyte X38-DS5 | 7280GB storage | GTX460 @ 825/2100MHz || Samsung 2232BW 22" ]

Last edited by Nebuchadnezzar : Feb 19, 2008 at 05:04 PM.
Nebuchadnezzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2008, 09:32 PM   #36
Razeus
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United States Houston, TX
Posts: 24,125
Razeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryoko View Post
that's funny... i see a full TB here. actually a bit more...



just because MS thinks they can redefine words doesn't mean they're right.
that's a lot of anime. surprised you haven't filled it up already. how's the 1 tera working out for you?
Razeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2008, 09:35 PM   #37
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 14,482
DaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryoko View Post
that's funny... i see a full TB here. actually a bit more...



just because MS thinks they can redefine words doesn't mean they're right.

731GB of anime?

Not so much an issue of MS redefining words, computers don't use the standard SI prefixes, so MS's definition of Gigabyte is actually correct, resulting in 931 proper GB on what, if sold under the same naming system, would be a 1024GB drive. It's the storage industry which decided to redefine words to make their drives seem bigger, and for years, it's just the way it has been.


The problem with complaining about it.... is that this fact is fairly well known and that you're technically not getting less than a terabyte..... you're just getting a different measure of terabyte than you expected.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 7770k : 16GB EVGA DDR4 2400 : Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Windforce X2 : Gigabyte GA-H270-WIFI : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Samsung 1440p 32" Monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 10 Pro x64
Tablet: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 : Intel Core i5-6300U : 8GB DDR3 : Intel 520 Integrated : 256GB SSD : 12.3" 2736x1824 display : Windows 10 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600 : Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 03:21 AM   #38
magicknight0233
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 6,523
magicknight0233 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razeus View Post
not as big as magicknights.
Hey!
You sir, have insulted my honor! I challenge you to a duel! <glove slap>
No one ever believes me when I say there is absolutely no porn on my computer because I've got less hard drive space on my computer (SCSI=speed, not quantity) than most people have in their MP3 players.
magicknight0233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 05:40 AM   #39
Razeus
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United States Houston, TX
Posts: 24,125
Razeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicknight0233 View Post
Hey!
You sir, have insulted my honor! I challenge you to a duel! <glove slap>
No one ever believes me when I say there is absolutely no porn on my computer because I've got less hard drive space on my computer (SCSI=speed, not quantity) than most people have in their MP3 players.
where the hell do you store all your wonderful pics?
Razeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 12:41 PM   #40
seeker010
chaotic evil
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7,734
seeker010 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I see therein lies the confusion that everyone has. SI prefixes are UNAMBIGUOUSLY defined to be powers of 10. Its use in computer circles for powers of 2 is more of a de facto convention than a ratified standard; binary prefixes on the other hand are a ratified standard. You can use SI prefixes for powers of 2 (not recommended), but only if clearly defined as such; JEDEC advises its members to follow the de facto convention because of marketing reasons, so all JEDEC members (memory manufacturers for the most part), use SI prefixes for powers of 2. But for any other purpose, it means powers of 10 unless specified.
__________________
Abort, Retry, Fail?

Last edited by seeker010 : Feb 20, 2008 at 12:50 PM.
seeker010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 12:58 PM   #41
Djinn
Rage3D Fixture
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Warminster, PA USA
Posts: 31,707
Djinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

You kids* may not remember, but CRT monitors went through similar problems in the early 1990s. Advertisers were listing the diagonal size of the CRT "bottle" - before being mounted in the plastic enclosure.

So your brand-new 17" monitor might only have a usable display size of 15.5". Eventually, all manufacturers were required to include the actual "viewable" size on all advertising.

* Imagine that I'm saying "kids" with a small measure of condescension and disdain.
__________________
"The history of intellectual progress is written in the lives of infidels."

- Robert Ingersoll (1833 - 1899)
Djinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 01:07 PM   #42
seeker010
chaotic evil
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7,734
seeker010 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djinn View Post
You kids* may not remember, but CRT monitors went through similar problems in the early 1990s. Advertisers were listing the diagonal size of the CRT "bottle" - before being mounted in the plastic enclosure.

So your brand-new 17" monitor might only have a usable display size of 15.5". Eventually, all manufacturers were required to include the actual "viewable" size on all advertising.

* Imagine that I'm saying "kids" with a small measure of condescension and disdain.
it's a bit different. in the monitor case, you're not getting all the viewable size you thought you were paying for. In this case, you're getting everything you paid for. Computers care about bits; the larger measuring names are provided for benefit for humans only. 1024 sets of 8 bits will be 1024 sets of 8 bits to a computer, but it's easier to market it as 1 of something to a person. computer couldn't less if you called it a KiB (standard), a kB (nonstandard), a schlong, or fat uncle. Likewise, 1000 sets of 8 bits is just 1000 set of 8 bits to the computer, but you can market it as a kB (standard), a hole, or a little boy.
__________________
Abort, Retry, Fail?

Last edited by seeker010 : Feb 20, 2008 at 01:12 PM.
seeker010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 01:38 PM   #43
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,876
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2008, 03:42 PM   #44
Ryoko
Excessively retarded
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: United States Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 7,697
Ryoko is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razeus View Post
that's a lot of anime. surprised you haven't filled it up already. how's the 1 tera working out for you?
it's actually 2x 500gb, but the 1tb drive is almost exactly the same size.

i just had to move all my data off of my new 320gb (that replaced a dead one) because the new one is dying as well

Ryoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2008, 05:07 PM   #45
SteadVéx
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,177
SteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I feel a simpler solution would be to buy a 7' tft and recode everything to its native res...


but yea, i agree, i feel that if it states 100gb you should have at least that much freespace, can't remember which make but i remember buying 60gb harddrives and actually getting 61.5gb..
SteadVéx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defragment your hard drive to free up storage space? WTF? genci88 Off Topic Lounge 19 Nov 27, 2010 05:53 PM
How much hard drive space do you have? logical General Hardware 56 Jan 10, 2010 01:27 AM
Vista newbie: trying to add a simple storage hard drive nofool Operating Systems 8 Jul 31, 2008 04:49 PM
How much hard drive space is too much hard drive space? _leech_ Off Topic Lounge 55 Jan 28, 2004 10:02 PM
Encoding for Storage On Hard Drive?? windmiller AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 Mar 20, 2003 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink