Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Front Page News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Front Page News News and Rage3D articles as it appears on the frontpage.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2011, 05:52 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
ATI Technologies Sapphire Radeon HD 6670 Ultimate Video Card Review

Our resident review monkey, James, has whipped up another review for your viewing pleasure. This time it's Sapphire's 6670 Ultimate offering, sporting passive cooling for those of you who want to use it in an HTPC. How does it fare against the more powerful HD6770? And how about when we pair it with the new APU from AMD, the A8-3850? Here's an small part to get you started:
Sapphire has released a new version of the AMD Radeon HD 6670, the Sapphire Radeon HD 6670 Ultimate. I hear you ask; what makes this card "Ultimate"? It's the cooler; a dual direct contact heatpipe based aluminum fin array that wraps around the card. All this means passive cooling, which also means silent card. We last looked at a Sapphire Ultimate offering a little over a year ago, with the Sapphire Radeon HD 5550 Ultimate and the new HD 6670 Ultimate cooler is very similar to that, with some improvements.

Read more about it here: http://www.rage3d.com/reviews/video/...6670_ultimate/
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 11:08 AM   #2
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,691
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Very nice review! Too bad my Redwood can't be upgraded with an APU. Basically it would mean new mobo, APU and graphics card in my case. Now if only Sapphire or anyone sold those half-height HD 6670 which where passed around and reviewed when the Turks came out, I would buy it. Passive is nice, full height (while probably pretty much needed for being passive) makes it less usable for a HTPC.

I do recommend 720p testing as a note in the future, from a distance it is virtually the same as 1080p in quality. Very applicable for a HTPC setup. Of course up close 1080p looks better.

OCing? (I don't think is a big deal though for this range of cards)
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 11:18 AM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noko View Post
I do recommend 720p testing as a note in the future, from a distance it is virtually the same as 1080p in quality. Very applicable for a HTPC setup. Of course up close 1080p looks better.
I tested 720p in the Lynx platform article.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 30, 2011, 02:51 AM   #4
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,691
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Yes you did and much appreciated. Many folks do have 720p HDTV sets as a note. Plus at 720p one can turn up the quality features, for my 5570 I rather game Dirt 2 with high settings, 4xaa at 720 then go higher in resolution and med settings with worst frame rates at a lower AA setting. At a distance the 720p and extra rendering features turns out better.
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 06:16 PM   #5
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Thanks for your feedback
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 10:42 AM   #6
infotree
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
infotree is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

I just purchased this Sapphire Radeon HD 6670 Ultimate card to go along with my ASUS F1A75-M Pro/AMD A8-3850 and noticed a few issues with a HDTV video connection.

I have to use the motherboard HDMI jack in order to have sound. Using the Sapphire Radeon HD6670 HDMI jack results in no sound.

Would the Sapphire Audio on card be better than the motherboard onboard audio of ALC892?

In checking the Windows Experience Index, I see my graphics/gaming graphics score drops by 0.1 with crossfire with motherboard HDMI jack, increased by 0.4 using crossfire/no crossfire with Sapphire HDMI jack (but with no sound).

I'm guessing WEI only utilizes the primary video output, not combined.

Last edited by infotree : Aug 9, 2011 at 10:45 AM. Reason: additional text
infotree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 02:04 PM   #7
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

WEI isn't really a good indicator of actual performance, you can safely ignore that.

ALC892 is at least comparable to the integrated HDMI audio inside the card, both are provided by Realtek and I think the ALC892 is actually better (higher SNR, better bitrate support).

If you plug into the mainboard HDMI port, you're still using the HD audio built into the APU in your A8-3850 - same chip as in the Sappihre 6670. To use the ALC892 you'd need to use the analog outputs, or the S/PDIF or optical outputs.

To use the HDMI port on the Sappihre 6670, you'd need to follow the instructions in the mainboard manual for configuring Dual Graphics to use the discrete card as the primary device. This won't gain you anything in terms of audio, as the APU and GPU have the same audio capabilities. It would let you use the improved Render Back End's (RBE's) in the GPU core instead of the older ones in the APU, however I don't think you'll ever notice a difference and you'll use more power.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 11:42 AM   #8
infotree
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
infotree is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up

Thanks alot, caveman-jim!!

My brain neglected to note that HD audio is utilized as you pointed out.

Back into bios, changed primary video output and then crossfire in AMD Vision panel and viola....

Now using the Sapphire HDMI port with HD audio (working now! ) to our HDTV.

Your knowledge and help is appreciated!!

infotree

Last edited by infotree : Aug 10, 2011 at 11:42 AM. Reason: add text
infotree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 07:44 PM   #9
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

glad to help, enjoy it!
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 03:57 PM   #10
infotree
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
infotree is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'm wondering if you noticed dual graphics activity in crossfire using the AMDSystem Monitor software in your testing/review?

For me while using 6670 HDMI output port it shows the AMD Radeon HD 6690D2 dual graphics processing but only activity for the HD 6600, zero activity for the 6550D. In the APU Resource Distribution bar it shows only CPU use, zero activity for GPU cores.

However, if I use 6690D2 crossfire with the motherboard HDMI outport port, it shows simultaneous activity for both the HD 6600 and the 6550D. Now in the APU Resource Distribution bar it shows activity for both CPU and GPU cores.

Would it be correct to assume that optimal use in 6690D2 crossfire one would be better to use the 6670 DVI-D/HDMI output ports over the motherboard DVI-D-HDMI output ports?
infotree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 04:05 PM   #11
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Yes, it showed dual GPU usage for me in both configurations. Depends on the application for desktop use, though.

Depends what you call optimal for which one you want to use, lower power by using the motherboard outputs, but you get the improved RBE's, AF for the dGPU.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2011, 12:35 AM   #12
L4dd
Trollable
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States Katy, Texas
Posts: 839
L4dd is still being judged by the masses


Default

I found this review to be insightful, so thanks!
However, I would spring for a 6770, as it looks as though it is close to a 5770, and 5770s were no slouches.
__________________
Hey, Gr33nGecko! Where are you?
http://www.sapphireforum.com/member.php?12-Gr33nGecko
L4dd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2011, 06:46 AM   #13
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2011, 01:46 PM   #14
infotree
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
infotree is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thank you.
infotree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 05:54 AM   #15
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,691
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

There is a wealth of information in this review, particulary the power draw. 85w APU and 135w with Dual Graphics Mode 6790D2 running 3dMark11 .

This is way with in power requirements I need for custom build and C64x rig. I will be using less power needing ram, hard drive too, simplier motherboard. Also impressed with the performance gained with Dual Graphics mode, when it works it really does increase performance .

My next question since Dual Graphics Mode works in Linux is how well with OpenGL games and programs? Reason why I ask is it appears that DX9 is not supported for Dual Graphics Mode in windows not sure about OpenGL in windows either?

Last edited by noko : Apr 17, 2012 at 05:57 AM.
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Radeon HD 6570 & HD 6670 Launch Review, Featuring Sapphire's HD 6670 @ Rage3D.com Lupine AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Jun 10, 2011 10:21 AM
Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 Vapor-X 1GB video card review Hanners Front Page News 0 May 26, 2009 03:00 AM
Sapphire Radeon HD 4850 512MB video card review Hanners Submit News 0 Jul 7, 2008 03:03 AM
Sapphire Radeon X1950 GT video card review Hanners Front Page News 0 Apr 12, 2007 03:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink